Awesome Friday Food and Flee Markets in Paris - After Years, I finally found my Blade !

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Hivers !

I've found the chopper I've been missing for a long time... Of course, I could have gone to the first kitchen utensil shop and found my happiness... But then I would have found an illusion, a band-aid of happiness. Indeed, I have a more intimate relationship with objects than that.

For me, each thing can have a soul, sometimes it's only the intention and the interest that we have in it that produces this feeling, this effect and I'm sure that you all have at least one or more fetish objects, the pen of your childhood, the necklace of your grandmother, the bow of your father...

That's why even though daily events make me meet new specific needs... Like chopping herbs more efficiently for example ^^ I've been looking for a chopper for years, I've been going to yard sales and flea markets but I couldn't find the one I wanted and that was actually waiting for me... All of them were either too expensive, too rusty and in bad condition, or all three at the same time !

And today I finally found what I was looking for. For ten euros, I could get this rusty chopper.

All rusty ?

Yes, because I didn't have the presence of mind to take a picture of the state I found it in: stupid haha! Indeed, after my visit to the Aligre market, which I'll describe to you just a bit further on, I went to have lunch with some friends who live not far away. One of them is a good handyman and he directly gave me some stuff to remove any trace of corrosion from my find. Oil, WD40, several metal brushes and sandpaper. And as the meal was still being prepared, I got straight down to work.

I worked so hard on it that when I finally thought of taking a picture, it was too late and the tool was already renovated haha! It's hard to imagine how it looked before...

But let's go back to the origin...

To take advantage of not being at work anymore, I went for a walk in a district where I lived a few years ago. The 12th arrondissement of Paris. It's certainly a central area but still full of popular artisans and shopkeepers, of course, with gentrification the poorer classes have been gradually pushed further away from the centre, but there's still quite a lot of diversity.

I love this market for several reasons :

  • It's open every day of the week, except Monday.
  • It's one of the cheapest in Paris.
  • Every day, next to the food market, there is a flea market.

I might add that I know quite a few of the regulars and have friends living next door, which makes the visit even more enjoyable!

Below, you will find some pictures I took on the fly... Indeed, it's not very practical to do your shopping and take pictures at the same time. Of course, with a shopping cart, you can do better than with bags in your arms !

IMG_1813.JPG

IMG_1810.JPG

IMG_1805.JPG

Here, I still wanted you to have a more global and clear vision of the place by means of images of better aesthetic qualities ^^ (framing, lights, crowds, etc :)


P1010871_Paris_XII_Place_Aligre_Marché_Beauvau_reductwk.jpeg
The Beauvau Market Hall


marche-aligre-75012-paris-east-village-4.jpeg
The Aligre flea market


Capture d’écran 2022-09-16 à 19.18.22.png
The Aligre food market


But let's go back to my own images, this time from today's flea market. Where, as you may have guessed, I found my cleaver...

IMG_1793.JPG

In the book corner, the first thing that caught my eye was this very... colorful book. But no thanks, enough propaganda ! There's no need to go on about the history of television. lol

IMG_1792.jpg

On the other hand, I found this, as new and at half price (10 euros) :

IMG_1819.JPG

A permaculture book as you will have understood, quite simple and complete at the same time and which talks about all the associated subjects, water, the philosophy of this practice, the alliances of plants, the sun, etc.

This is followed by some more shots of the stalls of the merchants...

IMG_1795.jpg

IMG_1797.JPG

IMG_1794.jpg

Here, it's a stand of African antiques, but as I work in the art world, I still have certain concerns about possible fakes. This is not aimed at one group or culture more than another, it is rather that there are things that are more or less easy to imitate than others...


IMG_1799.JPG

But what caught my eye was this skull and crossbones of good fortune as the seller pointed out to me. I didn't ask the price but I asked him if he had one... he didn't answer me other than a big laugh that meant everything :)

IMG_1800.JPG

Before meeting my friends, I bought a bottle of natural red wine, without chemical treatment and filtration.

In the end, it was the second bottle that I chose...
Very good wine, light, not too tannic, to be enjoyed chilled ^^

IMG_1802.JPG

IMG_1803.JPG

Much further on, back in the north of Paris, I came across this wonder... @riverflows, @hindavi and the other gardeners on the platform, I immediately thought of you :

IMG_1827.JPG

A squash plane coming down from a balcony more than six meters high and I could almost touch the end of it! I don't know if you'll be able to see the squash, but there were some !

IMG_1832.JPG

Let's end this somewhat disjointed article - no ? - with this famous chopper which, after a fourth rinse, went to join its future kitchen tool friends.

IMG_1841.JPG

IMG_1857.JPG


I added a little blue string loop to hang it up nicely :)

IMG_1861.JPG

Now you know almost everything about my day and my useful purchases this Friday :D

Thank you @dswigle for the initiative of this #MarketFriday community! I'm looking forward to visiting your items and shopping !

Have a great weekend everyone, take good care of yourself and your loved ones, see you soon <3

@anttn






Salut chers Hivers !

Ça y est, j'ai trouvé le hachoir qui me manquait depuis longtemps... Bien-sûr, j'aurais pu aller dans le premier magasin d'ustensiles de cuisine et trouver mon bonheur... Mais j'aurai alors trouvé une illusion, un pansement de bonheur. En effet, j'ai avec les objets, une relation plus intime que cela.

Pour moi, chaque chose peut avoir une âme, parfois, c'est seulement l'intention et l'interêt que l'on y porte qui produit ce sentiment, cet effet et je suis sûr que vous avez tous au moins un ou plusieurs objets fétiches, le stylo de votre enfance, le collier de votre grand-mère, l'arc de votre père...

C'est pourquoi même si les événements quotidiens font que je rencontre de nouveaux besoins spécifiques... Comme hacher des herbes plus efficacement par exemple ^^ Cela faisait des années que je cherchais un hachoir, je faisais des vides greniers et des brocantes mais je ne trouvais pas celui que je voulais et qui au fond m'attendais... Tous étaient soit trop cher, soit trop rouillés et en mauvais état, soit les trois à la fois !

Et aujourd'hui, j'ai finalement trouvé ce que je cherchais. Pour dix euros, j'ai pu avoir ce hachoir tout rouillé.

Tout rouillé ?

Oui, car je n'ai pas eu la présence d'esprit de prendre une photo de l'état dans lequel je l'ai trouvé : stupide haha ! En effet, après mon tour au marché d'Aligre que je vous décrirais juste un peu plus loin, je suis allé déjeuner chez des amis qui habitent pas très loin. L'un d'eux est un bon bricoleur et il m'a directement sorti de quoi éliminer toute trace de corrosion de ma trouvaille. De l'huile, du WD40, plusieurs brosses en métal et du papier abrasif. Et comme le repas était encore en cours de préparation, je me suis directement attelé à la tâche.

Je m'y suis mis avec tant d'ardeur que lorsque j'ai enfin pensé à prendre une image, il était trop tard et l'outil était déjà rénové haha ! Difficile du coup d'imaginer l'état précédent...

Mais revenons un peu à l'origine...

Pour profiter de ne plus être au travail, je suis parti me promener dans un quartier ou je vivais il y a quelques années. Le XIIème arrondissement de Paris. Un quartier certes central mais encore plein d'artisans et de commerçants populaires, bien sûr, avec la gentrification les classes les plus pauvres ont été peu à peu repoussées plus loin du centre, mais il y a toujours pas mal de diversité.

J'adore ce marché pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Il est ouvert tous les jours de la semaine, sauf le lundi.
  • C'est un des moins chers de Paris.
  • Tous les jours, accolé au marché alimentaire, il y a un marché aux puces.

Je pourrais rajouter que je connais pas mal des habitués et que des amis habitent à côté, ce qui rend la visite encore plus agréable !

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez quelques images que j'ai prise à la volée... En effet, ce n'est pas bien pratique de faire ses courses et de prendre des photos en même temps. C'est sûr qu'avec un caddie, on s'en sort mieux qu'avec des sacs pleins les bras !

IMG_1813.JPG

IMG_1805.JPG

IMG_1810.JPG

Ici, j'ai quand même voulu que vous ayez une vision plus globale et dégagée de l'endroit au moyen d'images de meilleure qualités esthétiques ^^ (cadrage, lumières, foules, etc :)


P1010871_Paris_XII_Place_Aligre_Marché_Beauvau_reductwk.jpeg
La halle du Marché Beauvau


marche-aligre-75012-paris-east-village-4.jpeg
Le marché aux puces d'Aligre


Capture d’écran 2022-09-16 à 19.18.22.png
Le marché alimentaire d'Aligre


Mais reprenons avec mes propres images, cette fois-ci du marché au puces d'aujourd'hui. Là où comme vous l'aurez compris, j'ai trouvé mon hachoir...

IMG_1793.JPG

Dans le coin des livres, la première chose qui a attiré mon regard, c'est ce livre très... coloré. Mais non merci, la propagande, ça suffit ! Pas besoin d'en rajouter sur l'histoire de la télévision.

IMG_1792.jpg

En revanche, j'ai trouvé ça, comme neuf et à moitié prix (10 euros) :

IMG_1819.JPG

Un livre de permaculture comme bous l'aurez compris, assez simple et complet à la fois et qui parle de tous les sujets associés, l'eau, la philosophie de cette pratique, les alliances de plantes, le soleil, etc.

Suivent quelques autres prises de vues des étals des marchands...

IMG_1795.jpg

IMG_1797.JPG

IMG_1794.jpg

Ici, c'est un stand d'antiquités africaines, après comme je travaille dans le monde de l'art, j'ai quand même certaines réserves quant aux possibles faux ! Cela ne vise d'ailleurs pas un groupe ou une culture plus qu'une autre, c'est plutôt qu'il y a des choses plus ou moins faciles à imiter que d'autres...


IMG_1799.JPG

Mais ce qui a attiré mon regard c'est cette tête de mort de bonne fortune comme me l'a indiqué le vendeur. Je n'ai pas demandé le prix mais je lui ai demandé s'il en avait une... il ne m'a pas répondu autrement que par un grand rire qui voulait tout dire :)

IMG_1800.JPG

Avant de retrouver mes amis, j'ai acheté une bouteille de vin rouge naturel, sans traitement chimique et filtration.

Finalement, c'est la seconde bouteille qui aura fait l'objet de mon choix...
très bon vin, léger, pas trop tanique, à déguster frais ^^

IMG_1802.JPG

IMG_1803.JPG

Beaucoup plus loin, de retour dans le nord de Paris, je tombe sur cette merveille... @riverflows, @hindavi et les autres jardiniers, j'ai immédiatement pensé à vous :

IMG_1827.JPG

Un plan de courge qui descend d'un balcon à plus de six mètres de hauteur et dont je pouvais presque toucher le bout ! Je ne sais pas si vous réussirez à voir les courges, mais il y en avait !

IMG_1832.JPG

Terminons cet article un peu décousu - non ? - par ce ce fameux hachoir qui est allé, après un quatrième rinçage, rejoindre ses futurs amis outils de cuisine.

IMG_1841.JPG

IMG_1857.JPG


Je lui ai ajouté une petite boucle en ficelle bleue afin de le suspendre agréablement :)

IMG_1861.JPG

Voilà, vous savez presque tout de ma journée et de mes achats utiles de ce vendredi :D

Je remercie @dswigle pour l'initiative de cette communauté du #MarketFriday ! Hâte d'aller un peu visiter vos articles et vos emplettes !

Bon weekend à tous, prenez bien soin de vous et de vos proches, à très bientôt <3

@anttn

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh that squash is so long @anttn . I can only see the flowers of squash.

Impressive isn’t ?
Zoom in hehe 😉

Enjoy your weekend !

That’s such a cool little story… you waited till you found the right one… or let’s say the right one found you. Sometimes you just know. 😉🤓😎
You did a great job cleaning it. And they are so handy… chopping.
The markets look great to visit.
Have a lovely evening my friend 👋🏻😊
It’s weekend 🤩

Nice post anttn, I was thinking you are in Amsterdam for hivefest. Anyway, good shopping I had one laying in the storeroom it is very sharp so my husband kept it away to protect my fingers. Thank you for mentioning me. yes, I was looking carefully and found the squash one in the top gallery and 2nd on top of ELIE where the red color meets close to the balcony. Have a nice weekend don't work hard take care 😊🌞

I was thinking you are in Amsterdam for hivefest.

Not this time :) I’m really curious to go one year, but it’ll be another time

so my husband kept it away to protect my fingers.

Haha ! this is very nice of him !!

I’m glad you enjoyed this Friday shopping ;) and I hope it’s the same for this weekend 🤞🏼 Take care !

✒️ Pour cette longue visite découverte marchés (Paris - France), nous vous offrons 💝50 points-fr💝
🎁 Recevez en plus un bonus de 5 points-fr pour votre sélection et ce pourboire : !LUV
💰 Plus de Tokens de 2eme couches vous attendent dans les posts de sélections et de récompenses

Cumulez facilement les points-fr
Récompense Multi-engagements des Francophones

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!