One my Way to Prepare some Original Christmas Gifts

in Market Fridaylast year

If I am to be completely honest, I am not a great fan of the hyper-commercial turn that the holidays can take, and particularly Christmas in this case.

On the other hand, I love to please and surprise the people I love with gifts, even simple ones, but which show that I am listening, at least when I am... ^^

Another thing I really like is to have a shopping tour, more for the discovery aspect than the commercial one, and I have to admit that for that, the #MarketFriday community initiated by @dswigle is a perfect fit ! Thank you for this :)

IMG_0208.JPG

Today I went to Montmartre to look for fabric. I plan to make a backgammon board that can be easily transported. I already made one a few years ago with a piece of denim and 30 chips found in a flea market...

IMG_0207.JPG

IMG_0210.JPG

Above are two of the most famous shops in this area, which is oriented towards all kinds of fabrics. It's really a place and an atmosphere in which I like to lose myself and spend time.

IMG_0204.JPG

IMG_0205.JPG

IMG_0206.JPG

Indeed, part of my training is as a textile designer, so I particularly enjoy taking the time to observe things, fibres and wefts, patterns and thicknesses. In short, every little detail... But I don't have as much time as I would like. Indeed, I've set myself quite a few steps in the afternoon !

IMG_0193.jpg

IMG_0198.JPG

On top of that, I can't find what I'm looking for in terms of fabric, that's for another time !

IMG_0203.JPG

On the other hand, I'm already buying 30 buttons - fifteen black ones and as many white ones to make the chips. It will always be that much and I like to make games with simple and accessible means, without missing any aesthetic aspect :)

I'll surely write a detailed article when I start making them !

IMG_0272.JPG

IMG_0270.JPG

After a half-hour walk, we are in the centre of Paris, in the 10th arrondissement. I'm in the passage Brady, one of the many covered and commercial passages of the centre. In this one, there are a lot of Indian restaurants, as well as a grocery shop that I love and that I highly recommend you to go and see if you have the opportunity !

IMG_0266.JPG

IMG_0267.JPG

It's really an Ali Baba's cave where you can find everything you would need, from cooking to incense, rituals, health, hygiene and even some kitchen utensils. I haven't taken pictures of what I bought there, but I took six small cloth bags that they sell with their products. I have a whole bunch of them at home and I use them to partition my bags so that they are well organized when I travel.

This time I used them as gift wrapping, each to their own !

IMG_0273.JPG

I'm having lunch with a friend, we're keeping with the Asian theme if I may say so, as we're having our meal in a Japanese restaurant. I give you the address if you ask me ;-)

I have a bowl of rice with vinegar and chicken katsu, that is to say breaded with egg yolk.

IMG_0281.JPG

A little further on in my walk and arriving at the Rue Ste Anne, I buy a doriyaki in a bakery. The name is on this Japanese cake :)

In this street near the Louvre and the Palais Royal, there are a lot of Japanese and Korean restaurants, as well as some supermarkets, a bit like my Indian grocery shop...

IMG_0290.JPG

The supermarket in question today is called K Mart and it has everything you need, whether you want to make tempura, sushi or a "simple" miso broth.

IMG_0282.JPG

IMG_0283.JPG

IMG_0286.JPG

Sauces, teas galore, dozens of different types of rice for as many specific recipes, instant noodles, colorful sweets known or unknown... But that's not what I came for !

IMG_0285.JPG

No, what I wanted was some gochugaru, Korean red pepper flakes that are used to make traditional Korean kimchi. It's part of my Christmas present for one of my brothers and my mother as they both recently started making kimchi.

IMG_0428.JPG

Above you will find a photo of my purchases, some of which I did not document, including instant beef noodles, Japanese tea from Mariage Frère, one of the oldest French tea shops, an Ayurvedic chocolate tea and a pair of colorful socks and that's about it !

And you, how do you prepare your gifts ?

I guess this is not the last of the Friday markets related to the Christmas festivities ! Thank you for your visit and in advance, for your comments :)

Have a great evening and weekend,

<3

@anttn






Si je dois être tout à fait honnête, je ne suis pas un très grand amateur de la tournure hyper-commerciale que peuvent prendre les fêtes et particulièrement celles de Noël en l'occurence.

En revanche, j'adore faire plaisir et surprendre les gens que j'aime par des cadeaux, même simples mais qui témoignent que l'on est à l'écoute, en tout cas lorsque c'est le cas... ^^

Une autre des choses que j'aime beaucoup, c'est d'avoir un parcours de courses, plus pour l'aspect découverte que commercial, et il faut reconnaître que pour cela, la communauté du #MarketFriday initiée par @dswigle s'y prête à merveille ! Merci pour cela :)

IMG_0208.JPG

Aujourd'hui, je suis parti fouiner à Montmartre afin de trouver du tissu. Je compte fabriquer un plateau de backgammon facilement transportable. J'en ai déjà fait il y a quelques avec un morceau de jean et 30 jetons trouvés en brocante...

IMG_0207.JPG

IMG_0210.JPG

Ci-dessus, deux des magasins parmi les plus connus de ce quartier orienté vers tout ce qui concerne les tissus, quelles que soient leurs sortes. C'est vraiment un endroit et un atmosphère dans laquelle j'aime me perdre et passer du temps.

IMG_0204.JPG

IMG_0205.JPG

IMG_0206.JPG

En effet, une partie de ma formation est celle d'un designer textile et j'apprécie donc particulièrement de prendre le temps d'observer les choses, les fibres et les trames, les motifs et les épaisseurs. Bref, chaque petit détail... Mais je n'ai pas autant de disponibilités que je le souhaiterais. En effet, je me suis fixé pas mal d'étapes dans l'après-midi !

IMG_0193.jpg

IMG_0198.JPG

En plus de cela, je ne trouve pas mon bonheur côté tissu, ce sera pour une prochaine fois !

IMG_0203.JPG

En revanche, j'achète déjà 30 boutons - quinze noirs et autant de blancs pour faire les jetons. Ce sera toujours cela de fait et puis j'aime bien faire des jeux avec des moyens simples et accessibles, sans pour autant qu'il n'y manque un aspect esthétique :)

Je vous ferrai sûrement article détaillé lorsque je me mettrai à la confection !

IMG_0272.JPG

IMG_0270.JPG

Après une petite demi-heure de marche, nous sommes dans le centre de Paris, dans le 10ème arrondissement. Je suis dans le passage Brady, un des nombreux passages couverts et commerçants du centre. Dans celui-ci, on retrouve pas mal de restaurants indiens, ainsi qu'une épicerie que j'adore et que je vous recommande vivement d'aller voir si vous en avez l'occasion !

IMG_0266.JPG

IMG_0267.JPG

C'est une véritable caverne d'Ali Baba où l'on peut trouver tout ce dont on aurait besoin, autant pour cuisiner que pour l'encens, les éléments de rituels, de santé, d'hygiène et même quelques ustensiles de cuisine. Je ne vous ai pas pris en images ce que j'ai acheté sur place, mais j'ai pris six petits sacs en tissu qu'ils vendent avec leurs produits. J'en ai toute une quantité à la maison et je m'en sert pour partitioner mes sacs afin qu'ils soient bien organisés lorsque je voyage.

Cette fois, je les ai pris comme emballages de mes cadeaux, chacun son sac !

IMG_0273.JPG

Je déjeune avec un ami, on reste dans le thème asiatique si j'ose dire, car nous prenons notre repas dans un restaurant japonais. Je vous donne l'adresse si vous me la demandez ;-)

Je prends un bol de riz vinaigré avec du poulet katsu, c'est à dire pané au jaune d'oeuf.

IMG_0281.JPG

Un peu plus loin dans ma balade et arrivé vers la rue Ste Anne, j'achète un doriyaki dans une boulangerie. Le nom est sur ce gâteau japonais :)

Dans cette rue proche du musée du Louvre et du Palais Royal, on trouve un grand nombre de restaurants japonais et coréens, ainsi que quelques supermarchés, un peu le pendant de mon épicerie indienne...

IMG_0290.JPG

Le supermarché en question aujourd'hui s'appelle K Mart et on n'y trouve tout ce qu'il faut, que vous souhaitiez préparer des tempura, des sushi ou bien un "simple" bouillon miso.

IMG_0282.JPG

IMG_0283.JPG

IMG_0286.JPG

Des sauces, des thés à foison, des dizaines de types de riz différents pour autant de recettes spécifiques, des pâtes instantanées, des confiseries colorées connues ou inconnues... Mais ce n'est pas cela que je suis venu chercher !

IMG_0285.JPG

Non, ce que je voulais, c'est du gochugaru, des flocons de piments rouges coréens qui sert à faire du kimchi traditionnel coréen. C'est une partie de mes cadeaux de Noël pour un de mes frères et ma mère comme tous deux se sont récemment mis à faire du kimchi.

IMG_0428.JPG

Ci-dessus, vous trouverez la photo récapitulative de mes achats, pour certains que je n'ai pas documentés, notamment des pâtes instantanées au boeuf, du thé japonais chez Mariage Frère, une des plus vieilles enseignes de thé française, une tisane ayurvédique au chocolat et des paires de chaussettes colorées et c'est à peu près tout !

Et vous, comment préparez vous vos cadeaux ?

J'imagine que ce n'est pas le dernier des marchés du vendredi en rapport avec les festivités de Noël ! Je vous remercie pour votre visite et par avance, pour vos commentaires :)

Très bonne soirée et weekend à vous,

<3

@anttn






Sort:  
Loading...

I love textile stores, it has been a long time since I have been in one. I need to go to the city for that. I love your gift ideas. I’m not one for celebrating Christmas, I prefer Solstice, but as my girls got older they became interested. My two eldest like to save up and buy gifts for their friends now. It’s their choice really.
I look forward to seeing your progress with the back gammon board xxxx

Oh, it’s kind of the same for me, it’s more the idea to offer gifts to the loved ones :)

I love the work of textile, and when I imagine my life far from a big city, returning to some similar shops seems a valid reason !

I will surely write about it when I’ll have it finished, take care 😘

Faudra nous montrer ces fameux plateaux de backgammon.

!PGM
!PIZZA


ItharaGaian
Principauté du Bastion (@hive-143869 Community)
Curation Manuelle

BlasonPrincipautéBastionTransparentSmall.png

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @itharagaian

remaining commands 3

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Assurément ! J’ai trouvé le tissu ce week-end, ne reste plus “que” la confection :)

:)

!PIZZA
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @itharagaian

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Oh thank you for this, Montmarte is one of my favourite areas of Paris.
Making our own gifts is the best as far as I am concerned. I tried years ago to make my own gifts, and usually I do too:)

Glad you had a tiny glimpse of it :)

Definitely, I don’t really see any other valuable option about the gifts... not about spending money, but rather about the meaning it brings !

I hope you had a nice weekend ✌️

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
itharagaian tipped anttn (x2)
@dswigle(1/5) tipped @anttn (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @anttn.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more