Jumping From Store to Store Around the Downtown Area

in Market Friday2 years ago

Going back to school doesn't only require pens, notebooks, and a bag but also different types of uniforms. I'm a freshman in my university and still doesn't have a uniform since I just got my Certificate of Registration late this last few weeks. I waited to receive it first before buying any school supplies, just to confirm that I'm truly enrolled or else I just have spent for nothing.

jpg_20220909_233758_0000.jpg
Image created in Canva.

Now that it's fine, I have to make it done sooner since we are required to wear it starting in the first week of October. This is just one of my reasons why I have to out this #MarketFriday which is initiated by @dswigle. There are a lot of things also that I have to buy that is required in our National Service Training Program subject.

IMG_20220909_204054.jpg

I went to another mall at the downtown just to buy this because the National Book Store in SM City Malls are out of stocks now in some of their supplies and surely they don't have a blue tickler which is the one I needed.

I took a picture of these and sent it to our group chat in Messenger to inform my classmates that there are a lot available there at this mall. Some responded and went to where I am immediately and some just asked me to buy them. They said that they will just pay me on the next meeting and I agree. It wasn't that much, so I didn't mind it at all.

I found a binder notebook also just beside those ticklers, so I bought one. It is good to use when you have a lot of subjects but not too fond of having lots of notebooks to bring always. It's more organized and convenient to use, all in one place. Also, it's refillable.

IMG_20220909_204239.jpg
IMG_20220909_204346.jpg

After that, I went to another mall across the street to buy fabrics which is needed to make my uniform. I'm just thankful that the seller knows the uniform in our school since a lot of students there had bought fabrics from them, too. She assisted me and suggest that I should buy 1 and ¼ yard of Lime Green fabric for the blouse and the same length of Green fabric for the slacks, because I don't like to wear a pencil skirt. She gave me a ready-made scarf, then referred me to a tailor shop at the back of their location but just in the same building.

IMG_20220909_205410.jpgIMG_20220909_204714.jpg
IMG_20220909_205534.jpg

The seller left me there with the tailors so I can be measured and I can negotiate with their labor's prices. It's expensive for sure! Maybe, they are just taking advantage of the demand since this is the first time ever again after 2 years that there is a face to face classes and students are required to wear their uniforms, but also maybe not. Those are just my speculations.

As I looked at the woven uniform of another student from my school, the quality of their work is neat and good. It made me content of their prices and has assured me that it's worth it. They have something to flaunt from their signature works and quite understable. Since I didn't negotiate anymore and went with their price, they promised me to have mine finished after two weeks.

IMG_20220909_154152.jpg
IMG_20220909_162953.jpg

Gone to another mall again after I settled my order at the tailor shop, this time, it was the SM City Malls again. It was just a few days that has passed when September had started and also the start of the long celebration of Christmas here in the Philippines. The mall has been filled with Christmas songs playing non-stop at every corner and stores selling christmas decors.

I don't need to buy a Christmas decor, though. Christ is always with me. I just need to commemorate His birth and relive the essence of His sacrifices. No need for fancy decorations which is mostly just to flex with the neighbors and guests.

IMG_20220909_154316.jpg
IMG_20220909_154330.jpg

I took a mirror-fie before buying anything. 🙈 Just look at my messy hair over there, I surely need some hair accessories to make a hair bun that is required during the NSTP subject.

IMG_20220909_154354.jpg
IMG_20220909_154820.jpgIMG_20220909_154347.jpg

I was wondering how could I make a neat looking bun out of my short and messy hair as I was looking around the store finding the perfect hair accessories for it. This is the disadvantage of not being fond of learning hair-do's; that's why I just always cut my hair short. In that way, I wouldn't worry about doing my hair styles every day.

Now, things are different. I wanted to try having long hair since I never have that in my years of living. I gues watching Pinterest videos of doing different hairstyles in a longer length have somehow inspired me to grow it longer this time.

After few minutes of walking around the store and contemplating on what to buy, I decided on a hair bun maker, a clip with a hairnet, a hairbrush, and a usual hair clip for every day use.

I moved on to another store after it was all set. I also need to buy a denim pants, a white shirt, a garisson belt, and a pair of black socks, leading me to go to the Mall's department store. Lucky me, they are offering a 50% off with the pants when I shopped. Yet, I only bought a denim pants and a pair of black socks, not the white shirt and the belt. I have to get back to the downtown just for those two.

IMG_20220909_210609.jpg
IMG_20220909_210440.jpg

I stopped by with this small flower shop in the middle of the mall's alley. Seeing these flowers blooming in different and vibrant colors is kinda therapeutic, just perfect to calm my nerves. I'm getting stressed out of jumping from store to store just to get things done and have what I needed.

I guess it's not really my lucky day. It was raining outside as I got out and getting ready to jump in to another building for what was left to be bought. It left me no other option but to ride a jeepney just to get there dry because I left my umbrella at home again. I know there are no stocks left at department stores now, and the only place left to buy, is at the sidewalk vendors. Fortunately, they have the remaining two items that I need.

Maybe, that was how tired I was from all the walks around downtown area that I had vented my frustrations, telling my story to a vendor while paying for the items. They have assured me that I'm not the only one who approached them with this problem. Since the opening of classes, the demand for plain shirts have soared high and the supply plummeted. Even them, they are also problematic to where they could get a supply. The fast exchanges of conversation have somehow calmed me down and I went home after that. Well, it still turns out good that I have got all that I needed in the end.

Anways, all the photos are mine unles stated otherwise. Thanks for reading!!!

Sort:  

Ayane the explorer.

Malapit na maging dora. 😆

I enjoyed reading your write up, so interesting.
It is really a tour round different malls.
Glad you got the things you need.

Wishing you luck on your resumption.

Thank you for dropping by. Yes, it's a round tour for sure and kinda tiring in the end. 😄

It will sure be tiring.
Do enjoy the rest of your day.

Please drop your link onto the #MarketFriday post here

Thank you!

Done. Thank you! 😊

Thank you!

Loading...