Market Friday: DOUGHNUTS!!

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Hubs and I don't get out much, but we used to (before the pandemic) take a few day trips. A few years ago, well more than a few as it was 2017! Lord, where has the time gone!?
Let's get to today's #marketfriday hosted by @dswigle even if it was 5 years ago!

It was my birthday month!
I had been involved in this scheme with a couple friends to start a doughnut shop. It all fell apart as they lost interest with each step that led to a roadblock. Long story, short: it never happened.
BUT, in the meantime, I had to do some research!

Off to Providence, RI we went, Hubs and I.
We booked a weekend in this cute hotel I can't remember the name of and made plans to visit a couple of Providence's most popular doughnut shops: Knead and PVDonuts.

The hotel lobby served Knead doughnuts, as well.

IMG_9778.JPG

First stop: Knead.
IMG_5706.JPG
At the time we went, they had one shop. They currently have at least one other location.
This one is in a building that used to be an old bank.
Later, my friend and I would book a meeting with the owner, as a sort of 'insiders scoop' research trip.

Knead has classic doughnuts with great flavor. Soft and fluffy yeast doughnuts and 'crispy on the outside' cake doughnuts. All fried to perfection. I apologize if you like baked 'doughnuts' but to me...that's just an oddly shaped cake and does not actually count as a doughnut.
IMG_4775.JPG

We picked out a couple. I honestly don't remember the actual nut on the nutty one (I'm pretty sure it was pecan) but the chocolate drizzled was the most amazing espresso doughnut, and the chocolate is obviously a chocolate sea salt.
IMG_5710.JPG

Next up was PVDonuts

IMG_9777.JPG
There (back in the day) was ALWAYS a line. We knew to expect it, and after about 45 minutes mostly just hoped it was worth the wait.
We did finally get close enough to look in the window, so we just kept waiting.
IMG_5705.JPG
(Obviously a pre-pandemic line!)

Once we got in, we were completely overwhelmed by the selection!
IMG_4771.JPG
These weren't classic pretty doughnuts. These were over-the-top crazy doughnuts! And after standing in line for an hour, I really hoped they'd be the best I ever had!

IMG_4772.JPG

IMG_5711.JPG
We didn't get the rice crispie one that basically came with it's own dessert. Instead, the now classic maple bacon, chocolate brownie kind of thing (I think fashioned after the Little Debbie cosmic brownie?, the oatmeal cream sandwich, and I think the chocolate swirly one was chocolate milk?
They were all very yummy. Again, you can just tell a freshly made doughnut compared to the places that buy, thaw and bake off the pre-made ones.

Their flavors tend to be modeled after other pastries and desserts, which I think is clever. But they are also basically a doughnut with another dessert on top. Some people love the novelty, but you can see by our choices, we just wanted a good tasting doughnut!
IMG_5704.JPG

If you can't tell, I love doughnuts and still make them at home on occasion. But it's so much better going out and getting one fresh from the frier that someone else has to clean up!!

Sort:  

donuts are a very insidious thing for my figure 😁 And to be honest, I'm not a big fan of donuts. but i'm glad you enjoyed it 😃

haha. We have a relationship where I hate that I love them! haha

Oh, donuts! I used to love them and could eat them for dessert three times a day, and then one with coffee. I have sworn off them because I haven't eaten sugar in years and years. But, I like to look at them and even the smell of a fresh donut is tantalizing. But, if I just look at it, it lasts longer.

I am sorry your friends and you didn't get into business and maybe that was a blessing. So many businesses are going OUT OF BUSINESS with the pandemic. You just saved yourself a boatload of heartache. Still, I can see that it is something that you are really passionate about! Maybe someday. I loved your post!!! Thank you for being a part of the #MarketFriday Challenge! I have personally found there is always so much to learn about people, where they live, and how things are done in different parts of the world and I love hearing from you! For me, reaching out across the globe and learning about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, has been such a rewarding experience. You know how much I love gardens and even our gardens are different from place to place. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the rituals, festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... and what is normal for us? There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. We do differ in many ways, which makes us interesting and unique, but, there are many ways in which are so much alike.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!
Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative!
Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)

Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. If you don't and someone reads it, there is nothing to tie #MarketFriday to that post.
Please only one post each week. Believe it not, I run out of voting power if you put in many more than that.
As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Reposted!