HORSE AND HOUND

IMG_3512 (1).JPG

We needed to see a man - about a horse. And a woman - about a dog. So we packed a picnic for the three hour drive - to the city. Not my favourite type of outing. But life involves sometimes doing what you don't want to do. We have the horse. We needed the dog. We hoped to dip our toes in the sea. So everyone bundled into the car and we set the GPS. The miles didn't exactly fly by. A lot of the journey is on not great dirt roads. Then there are endless roadworks on the not great tar road. As the country gets crowded out by the city you see casualties. Beautiful wildlife lying dead. Hit by inconsiderate fast drivers. Barren farmlands still struggling with lack of water and minimal prices for their produce. However we eventually saw the distant shimmer of water across the horizon. The ocean! Almost there!

IMG_3729.JPG

We had adopted a tiny wire hair terrier rescue. She needed to be collected from the shelter. We also needed kiddies helmets for the BuckarooBabies horseriding. We steered the bakkie towards the equestrian area on the outskirts of the city. Along the coast there is a lot more rainfall and the farms look lush. Magnificent horses and fat cows graze lazily. Opposite one of South Africa's top golf estates, Fancourt, we finally stopped at the Cornerstone Lifestyle Centre.

IMG_3508 (1).JPG

In my country bumpkin brain a shop needs to be quaint and comfortable and pretty. I hate huge and commercial and impersonal. The Cornerstone Lifestyle Centre is tucked away like a hidden gem. Perfect for the country heart as well as the requirements of a weary traveller or adventurous spirit.

IMG_3509 (1).JPG

Bee and Boutique. Tack and Tuck. Salt and Stone. Protea and Paint. The names of each tiny little shop delighted my imagination. The pastel painted stable doors and artistically decorated entrance beckoned me in. Oh and the gardens! Complete with a colourful family of chickens free ranging through the herbs and garden furniture.

IMG_3493 (1).JPG

The pretty courtyard invited squeals of delight as the children tumbled out of the bakkie with boundless energy. Strangers smiled and nodded. Something we are used to in the country. But not the city.

IMG_3486 (1).JPG

We quickly found the equestrian corner and perused the superior quality but preloved goods. We chose what we needed, ignored the exorbitant prices on the beautiful saddles and then wandered around the Centre.

IMG_3487 (1).JPG

The variety is impressive contained in so many small shops. Gift shops. Clothing boutiques. A gallery. A nursery. Many food options - from a family bar to takeaway pizza and seafood or something for the sweet tooth. We, of course, spent most of our time in the garden in the shade of the huge trees.

IMG_3510 (1).JPG

Being in the heart of the farmlands it is deliciously quiet and open. There is no noise of traffic and only the smell of farmlands. Occasionally the roar of an aeroplane taking off at the nearby airport breaks the mood. Once we had done exploring we hopped across the way to the Dog Shelter. Despite the great distance we had to travel to the city both horse and hound stops were opposite each other. So convenient.

IMG_3492 (1).JPG

After bidding farewell to over 200 enthusiastic rescues, we bundled up our chosen girl and left. The smell of the flowering herbs and the sound of the buzzing bees still fresh in my memory as we headed home. This time the three hours flew by. It had certainly not been our average city trip but exactly my kind of shop. And a lovely #marketfriday for our very own @dswigle who does my kind of outing; the Appalachian Trail

IMG_3495 (1).JPG

Sort:  

Tearing oneself of the farmland to go shopping most find a tedious task, yours more so with great distance and bad roads.

Look forward to introduction of new member to family, within a week she will be settled with children to play with.

Shops are my style of shopping destination the quiet relaxed atmosphere hands down beats noisy Malls of today.

!LUV
!LADY

Exactly! I love my home despite so much hard work. But a break is always nice, even if it is far. We actually collected her last week. But were home so late that I was too exhausted to post on the previous #marketfriday

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @buckaroobaby and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/9 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

What a gorgeous place! I see horses, but where is the photo of a hound? 😃
Thanks for sharing your trip! I enjoyed it!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Thank you so much for the feature. And the reminder - I totally forgot the hound photo. I was so caught up in the horse part. As perfectly as our new little hound fits in on the homestead I felt terrible not adopting all of them. It is terrible that so many dogs are abandoned or abused. Although this shelter really cares for them beautifully. Here's our little lady

IMG_3622.JPG

Awwww... She is so cute!!! 😍

Indeed, those little shops, with those charming names can't be compared to a big shopping centre. The entrance to Bee Botanique looks fabulous 🙂
Good luck with the new girl 🐕

Thank you. She's fitting right in! Such a cutie

As for the Bee and Botanique - it was my absolute favourite

Loading...

It looks like a wonderful day :) ... What is the terrier like???

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

It was very out of the ordinary. Oh she's adorable. I totally forgot the photo

IMG_3819 (1).JPG

She's perfect :) ... And I have a feeling that she will protect those chickens 🐔

!LUV

Well initially she wanted to play with them...but she's learned fast

Excellent :) ... Somehow I don't think chickens would play with her 😂

!LUV

You already bond and interact with so many! That wasn't meant for you!❤️

Thank you Denise, I assumed not. It is sad that so many expect input from others and yet they don't reciprocate. The "hive community" idea is half of the enjoyment

I absolutely believe you with those words. Don't get me wrong, the money is a bonus but it has never been the reason I do it. I am fascinated by linking the world like this. Traveling around the globe is different than keeping yourself linked to it. In times like this, I have taken places off my list for now, but, delighted that I can still reach out and touch them.

I have gotten bad about answering some comments, no GinaBot, and the notifications are too many. I need to clean up my act. :)

Like you, I will continue to enjoy this place we have helped create. I want to thank you for your awesome contributions to the blockchain!

Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday!

You are so much more active than I am and have a far wider personal community. I don't know how you do it!

I just don't sleep because I spend my free time with my family. :) I work on the Metro. Plus I make my secretary do my comments. (OMG! I am kidding!)

Not a bad idea though, yes? :)

Don't joke! That is a BRILLIANT idea. Will she cook and clean and make milk goats too?

I think that is possible! Her family has chickens. :)

the beauty of the environment is very good dear. as well as good equipment to support horses walking and running.

Proper care of horses as well as the correct riding equipment is essential

What a breathtaking atmosphere to be there with the horses my friend. It is indeed a great day. Have a nice time and take care

Thank you. Horses are a very special creature indeed

You are most welcome my friend and the pleasure is mine. I really enjoyed a glimpse of a breathtaking view. Have a nice time and be safe.

Dear @buckaroobaby,
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Those were lovely shops. Did you ride with the horses, too?

No. We have horses at home. Although the horses we saw are really magnificent

Interesting names of shops. I would love to explore every single one of them lol!

Aren't they just?! Half of the attraction into the shops is their cute names