Market Friday : The high price of meat when "Meugang"

Welcome to my marketfriday entry for the this Friday

I will tell the market which is near where I live. The market is called the Lambaro Main Market. The market is a traditional market for buying and selling vegetables, fruits, and meat.

The market is located in the capital of the District of Want Jaya, Aceh Besar District. Near where I live. This market has an area of ​​​​approximately 3.4 hectares and was built in 1986.

In 2007, the development and construction of market infrastructure was carried out and several market facilities were renovated.
This market provides several areas, to the south there is a separate place for selling vegetables and meat.
And this morning I headed to this market to the south to buy some meat, to celebrate the meugang tradition in my city.

Meugang is a tradition of cooking meat and enjoying it with family, relatives and orphans by the people of Aceh, Indonesia. Meugang or Makmeugang is a tradition of slaughtering a sacrifice in the form of a goat or cow and is carried out three times a year, namely Ramadan, Eid al-Adha, and Eid al-Fitr.
Hundreds of cows and goats are slaughtered. In addition to goats and cows, the Acehnese also slaughter chickens and ducks.
Source : https://id.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meugang




Yes, I bought some meat at the lambaro market to celebrate the meugang celebration, this tradition has been passed down from generation to generation in my area.
Usually the price of meat in my area is only 100000 per kilo, but when the meugang arrived, the price of meat soared, this morning I bought 1 kilo of meat for 170000 rupiah, and it was a very expensive price, or about 11.4 US dollars. I was forced to buy it in order to carry out the tradition.




After the tradition ends, usually the price of meat will return to normal, back down to its original price.
The pictures show you the oodles of meat that are available in the market when "meugang", I can't take it part by part but I will show you because I can catch it with my smart device. enjoy your view.



I want to say a big thank you to #marketFriday @dswigle , for the wonderful opportunity to share our market journey and experiences around the world, it's always great to see the support we receive every week in this community, Thanks to all my readers.
Ok that's all I can share with you guys. It's great to be able to share happiness with all of you, happy holidays, and don't forget to always be happy.
Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

Sort:  

So great to hear this tradition is passed down the line for generations. 😁
To bad the price goes up so much while the celebrations take place. But like you said, you needed to buy it to follow up.
Thanks a lot for sharing 👋🏻😁 have a great weekend!

That's right @littlebee4 it's a shame it went up when "meugang", but that's okay I like this tradition, thank you for visiting my post

You are welcome @donirosayandi 👋🏻😁
I understand it is a great tradition and than it is ok. 😎
Enjoy your weekend!

Loading...

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi @donirosayandi, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

It's great that this kind of tradition is still alive. Even though it is pricey but it is only done a few times a year. I have been reading about this kind of practice posted by others here in Hive and I applaud you all for carrying out a great deed.