Antigua and Barbuda, Market Friday Style

in Market Fridaylast year (edited)


20230118_093213 cruise ships.jpg


Park your ship and meet me at the end of the dock. It is official! We have crossed over the path of Antique and Barbuda, Commonweath Islands that are located where the Atlantic and Caribbena Sea meet. I was there last year visiting their Yacht Club, and surprisingly, it is a mecca for Yachts. There was no shortage of them on this beautiful day either. I will only show off part of the island to you today. It is such a diverse island to rush throught it. Sit down, relax and enjoy as I wander through the shopping district of St. John, the port city we parked at.


IMG_3197 MF today.JPG


This beautiful Caribbean island nation consists of two distinct islands, Antigua and Barbuda. These islands are home to colorful buildings, stunning beaches, and busy ports. But they’re also more prone to crime than other Caribbean islands. Drug dealing and corruption are significant problems in this country, and some areas can be dangerous for travelers.Petty crime levels are moderate, and visitors are encouraged to keep their valuables locked in a hotel safe. It’s also wise to avoid wearing jewelry and luxurious accessories, and you’ll likely want to minimize the amount of cash you keep on you.source


IMG_3133 MF.JPG


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.


IMG_3150 MF.JPG


The town is busy, with cars driving haphazardly, making their place in the pack. It is easy to see why there is petty crime here with so many people wandering the streets, looking for a way to make money. I have to admit, I feel bad for many of the locals. There are no jobs, there is no money, and there isn't a way to make any. Look around, the jobs are few and many have made their way into the drug trade to live. Sadly.


IMG_3152 MF.JPG


There are markets on every corner of the streets and plenty of them in between. The prices are ridiculously cheap for most things and even then, most tourists will try to bargain them down. Not because they need it but, because they can. Call me stupid, but, I normally pay what they ask, sometimes even giving a little extra. The one or two dollars that I will save won't even buy me a cup of coffee. Unless you are doing it for sport, I feel like it might be helping them out.


IMG_3153 MF.JPG


Some only have a few items, enough bought from a wholesaler... hopefully making enough to make ends meet. I feel like they are trying. There are tourists that almost take over the towns. I have to wonder if tourists are good for the economy or not. Do they add enough to the community to be an asset? Or do you think they spoil the town, leaving it in much worse shape than when they came.


IMG_3149 MF2.JPG


He is a self-taught artist, replicating a steel drum and painting them in beautiful Caribbean colors and pictures. He was gracious enough to allow me to photograph him while he was painting and I love watching his skilled hands working rapidly. See that hat? He had enough hair to make that hat blow up into a hot air balloon!


IMG_3144 MF.JPG


I know!!! Interesting, yes?? I will still take a hard pass on that. I may forget about it and dress for it. I wasn't tempted by any means, but, I did wonder if there was a separate entire for Indian dinners and Chinese dinners? I would guess so, the two don't seem like a nice mix of flavors.


IMG_3174 MF.JPG


It is much handier to have a bike here, especially when you are parking. No jockeying for parking space or for trying to find a piece of road to drive on Bikes fit everywhere. You can park them pretty much everywhere.


IMG_3202.JPG


I forgot to mention anything about the dogs! Everywhere downtown, dogs are laying in the shade, under cars, and on the road if there is a shady spot. They are daytime sleepers, getting something small to take in the sun. They are always friendly and always on the lookout for a snack, just as things the dog is doing. The guy reached down and gave him a good scratch.

Definitely not what he was looking for.


IMG_3233.JPG


There was a scam going on downtown by some dog rescue group. They wanted you to pay for the dog to be fed for so many days, then donate money to them, for adoption. They would mail the dog to you when you got home. Yes? What, are you crazy? Nobody is doing to ship a dog that far? How insane do you think I am? Mail me the dog? Does that sound as ridiculous to you as it does to me?

Gradient - Green.png

It was not a typical shopping day, but, I managed to go to the downtown open market and buy two baseball hats for $5.00 each. One Antigua t-shirt for one of my girls. That was $7.00 and two waters for $1.00 each. I met such wonderful people, rich in character and I am humbled by their generosity. The little girl was fascinated by my hair and kept touching it as I sat on a bench. She was with her dad and they were a cheerful little family group. He asked me if I could take their picture. So cute, yes?


IMG_3130.JPG

Center Crest.png

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


IMG_3121.JPG


Typical for the local architecture. Caribbean style and British feeling for the government buildings. Have you ever been to the little island that is located in the Caribbean? If you have, you are sure to remember its beautiful sandy beaches and the people themselves. And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, and just remember, #MarketFriday loves you! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a fabulous day! Cheers!!


IMG_3126.JPG


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower Do you go out of your way to make life easier for another? It doesn't have to cost money, it is rarely about the money, but, mostly about giving your time. I hope that everyone has a splendid day.


457351_10151205515403832_41036727_o - Copy.jpg


W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFNKkiqbuqY2w8xt5o9p.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram





Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!


  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost? Was it expensive? Did it go up or down? I need something other than 50 pictures of the market.
  3. Post the pictures. Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post, it is too difficult to guess on some
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post (#hive-196308) This is not required but appreciated.
    PLEASE Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it!!
  5. Following me and reblogging the post would be appreciated, but not a rule, more vision for more views on the #MarketFriday posts!
  6. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.
As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg



IMG_3112.JPG


The End!


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Your post made me think of Bette Midler, "From A Distance". From a distance, all looks well and beautiful, until you have a closer look...

Are tourists good for the economy? I think that can be a difficult one to answer. Tourism should be good for any economy...but sometimes some people think it is funny to manipulate or even belittle someone else who is in need. It's like going on a power trip.

Nonetheless. I love your photos. So colorful! And I love the photo of the dad with his little girl!

You can find my post here.

From a distance, everything looks more... you can fill in the blank. Almost anything fits.

Tourism should be good for the economy or shouldn't be promoted in my opinion. Many of the islands purposely attract cruise ships, along with many upscale hotels for that experience... but do they really? I think the people have been manipulated by politicians, telling them it will pull them up financially and this will be good for their economy. I believe that the only people who gain anything are politicians/government. The people turn their life upside down to accommodate tours, cruise ships, and tours from the hotels. While I am sure that there is gain in tip money, I don't believe they gain enough, but, this is only my opinion.

They are displaced out of their homes sometimes because they have a coveted location that is snatched up by a savvy builder/developer... so many other things. I believe they are manipulated into giving up so many things that formerly gave them pleasure.

I can honestly say I try to enjoy them as they are, and do not exploit them for the sake of making a good post, so, perhaps my posts are not as exciting, but, I like to show them as they are, in the comfort of their own skin.

I am pretty sure I have gone on and on, so I will end it here. I have to agree though... about tourism, and this is coming from someone who loves to travel, but, not the tourist traps they have made these places into.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Tourism should be good for the economy or shouldn't be promoted in my opinion.

That is well said! That is so true!!

Politicians...? Let's rather not even go there. When I get going about politicians, my wife often tells me I'm going to get myself into trouble...

What I will say though is, as you say...

I think the people have been manipulated by politicians, telling them it will pull them up financially and this will be good for their economy. I believe that the only people who gain anything are politicians/government.

I agree with you 100% and I believe that to be true not only for the area you covered in your post but in many countries!

Things can be deteriorating and falling apart in a country, but when you listen to politicians they will try to convince you that they are creating a land of milk and honey...

I can honestly say I try to enjoy them as they are, and do not exploit them for the sake of making a good post, so, perhaps my posts are not as exciting, but, I like to show them as they are, in the comfort of their own skin.

I would much rather read your post, which is based on facts and where I can sense your sincerity, getting true facts, instead of reading something just for the excitement and still being none the wiser.

If I may say one last thing...

I tend to get irritated by people who are quick to raise their voices and share their opinions about situations and countries where they have never been...in other words, things they know nothing about. They often become opinionated and even quite vocal, based on things they've heard and read, thinking that that information makes them an expert on the topic.

What I appreciate about your content is the fact that you've been there...on the ground. You've seen it with your own eyes. To me, that is valuable information. I'm not really all that concerned about the excitement so much.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts too. I get the impression that we think alike on this topic...

I feel like we are on the same page also. Nice to see. :) I loved traveling when I was just out of school with no cares or responsibilities. I realize now that those were the best moments in my life, talking with people wherever I went. Trying different food in every place I went to. Living like a local. When I had children, the entire family traveled extensively, and they loved traveling and living like a local.

We settled when the kids were in high school and readjusted them to the American lifestyle. :) They all are in college and some beyond. It has been an interesting growing up for them and I imagine that when school is done, they will keep on moving about the world, keeping in touch with their roots. I think actually less travel as the world is not as cool a place as when they were growing up.

Your children were very privileged to be exposed to traveling while they were growing up. I think it gives children a great advantage to have that kind of experience.

Yes, sadly the world is not as cool a place anymore. But once again, I think this is where it is a good thing that your children got exposed to traveling at a young age and they are well-rooted now. I believe that because of this, you can have more peace of mind as a parent, knowing that they are experienced and will not easily fall into some traps due to ignorance. That's just my opinion...

You write so beautifully, Denise! Especially when you don't want it to be ultra-poetic or overly charged with love... Here, in the text below, you give an example of normal love but so warm, beautiful, and moving. This a call and a message to those who, perhaps only out of ignorance and carelessness, do not think of the one in front of him, who sells his work and his life so cheaply.

The prices are ridiculously cheap for most things and even then, most tourists will try to bargain them down. Not because they need it but, because they can. Call me stupid, but, I normally pay what they ask, sometimes even giving a little extra. The one or two dollars that I will save won't even buy me a cup of coffee. Unless you are doing it for sport, I feel like it might be helping them out.

I would like to say that we too, especially Magda, don't bargain in such situations, we always pay the asking price, and leave something extra.

I've always loved children, but since Ilinca came along, even more. Gorgeous photo of dad and daughter! I love children's eyes, they don't lie. You look at their eyes, their look and try to guess or understand what they are thinking, you wonder what is there.... curiosity, dreams, desires? I understand why she was impressed by you, why she liked your hair, so different from her mother's... You can think and wonder what she doesn't think and wonder now. I mean what the future will be like for her?

You have released so much of my nostalgia with this post, Denise.
Wishing you a wonderful vacation and journey ahead!

Thank you so much, Dan @bluemoon I think you are right, it is ignorance on their part to think that living is so cheap where they live. Food is not cheap unless you grow your own. There are no huge farms on these islands, there is no room anyway.

Tourism is the main source of employment and income in Antigua and Barbuda. The other source is government services. I think it is tough when you are dependent on a service-based income, especially during covid. If there are no people to service, there is no income. I believe some people believe they are doing people a favor by buying their wares, but, when they try to score a buy with a low value attached to it, I am insulted for them. That could be me or my mother trying to sell something to earn a living. How would I feel? Probably hurt, and maybe a little insulted that they value my work so little and worse, making me believe that is all it is worth.

Wherever I have gone, I only see hard-working people making the best they can with what little they have. Are there some out there that take advantage? I am sure, but, I would rather err on the side of pure-hearted than make a mistake.

I have always loved children too! They have no hidden agenda, their hearts are pure. They have not learned how to be deceptive yet. Hopefully, they never will. I always wonder what they are thinking! My hair is very different from her mother's, who most likely had gloriously dark waves of hair, long and beautiful. That is the majority of what I see in the people. I have no reason to think she is different judging by the daughter. I am not the first blonde person she has ever seen, but, she was sitting next to me on the bench, waiting for the local bus. It was sort of funny because she was petting me like a cat! LOL The father asked if I could take their picture, which delighted me to no end. I asked if he wanted me to take a picture for him and he decline, so it was an honor to walk away with two pictures of them. I do wonder what the future holds for this generation. Good things, I can only hope;

Nostalgia is not a bad thing. It gives me a feeling of warmth. allowing me to remember things that I enjoyed from a different time. Thank you so much, Dan! I hope you and Magda are well!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Visiting places one enjoys the vibe of the town, people, culture yet always need to be aware of where you are safe as a visitor.

Countries all offer something unique which in itself is an asset, beneficial if visitors found out more before arriving, possibly certain items extremely difficult to source that could be donated or bartered with.

We found before going to Zimbabwe some years ago, school stationery was desperately needed. Clothing especially poncho raincoats, caps for sun two, a few items with pencils, easily accessible here, not too heavy to take along on the flight.

Some insisted on barter system with carved wood animals, some received gift with a smile that stole your heart. Knowingly visiting poor regions look a little ahead it is rewarding one way or the other.

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dswigle and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you for the tip!

@dswigle, @joanstewart(2/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Made with by crrdlx

Thank you for the LUV!

That is an awesome tip to write here and exactly what I like to do. I did that to the Soviet Bloc countries that I visited too. Any place that had limited availability.

Clothing is available, but, there is the little thing called money. They are proud people and like to barter, it always amazes me how they manage to make it all work out. I need to take a page out of their book for myself.

I feel like I am the winner on these visits. I learn so much about the country and about myself along the way.

Thanks always, Joan. You are such a great support of the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

When booking I normally phone ahead to find out from someone who lives in the area, receptionists are a great source of information. Zimbabwe the receptionist advised to work with three currencies ZIM $, USD $, ZAR to make the most on what was on offer, worked like a charm.

Live, learn and share! Have a wonderful day Denise.

When I lived in Europe, I traveled with a shoebox of envelopes with different currencies. Pre-Euro

It absolutely made a huge difference! You are right. Good idea on calling the receptionist! Thanks!

Coins in all the currencies in small envelopes was what we did as well, on return I stuck a couple in our photo album so still have a few from the late 70's when things were not so complicated.

I almost kissed the guy at reception after realizing how massive his advice had been, without it we would have battled do much at all.

I hope you had a pleasant crossing. What a colorful town, it's so nice to see some sun... here it's freezing :D Enjoy the weekend and thanks you for sharing !

Here, if you wish, you will have a small glimpse of our house visit, maybe the right one, the future will tell us !

I am still gone and it is still very beautiful! The sun is high in the sky (or was earlier) and the palms are waving hello.

Of course, I am interested! You have the most interesting of tastes, and I hope this is the one! I took a peek, but, will go back tomorrow when I have better internet. Thank you for posting in the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Nice ! It seems, and surely is, the perfect landscape for some successful holidays ;-)

Yeah, this one looks quite close to the maximum of our criteria..! Second visit this Wednesday, we’ll see !

Have a good day as the following ones 😘 Take care ‘

Loading...

That was too enjoyable. I didn't want it to end, like I was having an actual vacay in paradise. I thought people only went there in the movies.

I'm on your page about bargaining, for more reasons then the stuff is already cheap. I just feel strange and a little embarrassed at the idea of doing something like that. We didn't grow up that way.

I did do some bargaining in Egypt after I realized I was charged fifty dollars for something that I found later for eight dollars. The swindling was the worst there then any place I've been to, and on going for the whole trip. I was budget backpacking so that was a sting.

I wish I could have a bunch of those dogs!

Enjoy the rest of your time😊

You are so awesome. You have such a way about you that makes everyone you come in contact with feel good. It is a gift. Thank you.

Bargaining an already inexpensive price seems so wrong, yes? It is like taking away some of their planned-for income. We absolutely were not brought up that way.

Okay, to be fair, bargaining in Egypt is totally different and I believe they saw you coming to be so bold in their swindling. I have learned many lessons along the way, for sure. I wish I could have put some of those pups in my suitcase! They are well treated by all the locals and tourists alike. 💗

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Again the COLORS of this journey are amazing! @dswigle

I agree about haggling as well, tho I always haggle locally at antique shops and such, when one is in a spot where the last penny seems to count, I usually leave haggling for another location.

The colors are amazing! I love the Caribbean and how they embrace color and the joy of life.

Haggling at our local shops is so different, they aren't living in poverty, just trying to make a few more dollars.

I want to thank you for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Oh my word Denise! You had me rolling. Park my ship next to yours? If only!! What an amazing place. This is my type of holiday destination. And yes, such a cute family photo. She's adorable! Was she fascinated by your straight blonde hair?

I have always liked the different islands in the Caribbean and off the coast of South America. Each and every one of them are colorful, full of life, and unique. That is what makes them such a joy.

There is poverty, you cannot ignore that, but, they don't sink into it. I like to support the economy when and where I can when visiting. One of the islands gave up its last sugar cane plantation and embraced tourism as sugar cane was no longer a flourishing business there - A sign of the times.

The little girl and her father were sitting on a bench with us, quietly touching my hair, and petting me like a cat. LOL Her father asked if we could take a picture of them (I have found that to be common, a picture to take home with us) The Japanese people (usually the older generation) always asked for their picture to be taken.

Humans are interesting and quite fascinating.

I hope all is well with you. I see you have made your way back here! Yay. I know how busy you are, so I hope things have quieted down for you, which means life is becoming almost manageable, yes?

Thanks for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

All the visuals are very appealing, but the 1st two mnore than others! I'd rally love to explore this place myself, ehehe
!PIZZA

Hello! Hello! It is always good to see you and thank you for the kind words. It is always fun to explore the islands. Each one is a unique and wonderful sight.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

what you wrote is really sad. such a beautiful place and crime thrives. Alas! I don't like bargaining either. I just decide whether I want to pay that amount for this product or not. I either pay or leave. it depends on the price the seller asks. I think tourists are different. The economy of our country is highly dependent on tourists and the tourism business is a significant injection into the economy. provided of course if at least part of these funds reaches the population and not settle in the pockets of local officials. I wonder if bikes don't get stolen? 😃 mail a dog? does anyone actually believe them? 🤔 I wouldn't believe it!
https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@tali72/a-walk-among-beauty

Bikes don't normally get stolen. I have ridden a bike there and left it outside a store or restaurant and it has always been there, patiently waiting for me. I am sure there is crime, although I have never seen it, nor even heard of it, but, read it online. I am sure I could find some, but, normally I don't look for trouble, but I carefully watch.

Tourism could be great, and you are right, if it makes it into the economy, great. But, many times it does not, so, it really is more of a pain for the local people to not see the improvements for all of their hard work.

Mailing the dog made me laugh, but, I hope nobody believed them. LOL I know I didn't!

It would be easier if prices were put on things so that you don't have to ask the price. If they had one price for everyone, they could put a tag on the products. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Quite complete the story of your trip,very beautiful and nice atmosphere of a place with a beach. High prices of course go on a tour boat,can see cars made on japan that are worldwide. The culture characters of cooking will different in taste in each country. Thank you.

Oh, yes! The taste of each country is truly different. It is funny to see all the Japanese cars there. :)

I want to thank you for stopping by and leaving your words and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Thank you are welcome,

This is one of the things that is so difficult to understand - why are countries with such a beautiful climate so poor? It would almost be paradise if the inhabitants had a little more money. But nevertheless, the walk is wonderful and very interesting, lots of light and bright colours!

My entry for this week:
https://ecency.com/hive-196308/@tatdt/market-friday-shopping-at-the-city-supermarket

I agree with you!!! I have often wondered the same! In the Caribbean, it is a paradise, each island unique and beautiful. It seems like it was meant to be and yet, the corruption is there, filling the pockets of a few.

It breaks my heart to see such poverty in some of the places. I try to leave a little behind. Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your thoughts and dropping your link!

#MarketFriday loves you!

There are no jobs, there is no money, and there isn't a way to make any. Look around, the jobs are few and many have made their way into the drug trade to live. Sadly

Sad indeed, especially such a beautiful place. Reminds me of Suriname (where I'm originally from), where living could be idyllic, but corruption making life more and more intolerable.

Call me stupid, but, I normally pay what they ask, sometimes even giving a little extra.

I haven't traveled much (yet), but when I watch videos of people bargaining on YT in poorer countries, I can't imagine myself doing that. The only thing is, I don't like markets where they put a price on their items and goods. I want to know what you ask and I'll compare the prices to the other stalls.

Here's the link to my MarketFriday post:
https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@tanjakolader/want-to-feel-the-tourist-experience-visit-the-albert-cuyp-market-marketfriday

The only thing is, I don't like markets where they put a price on their items and goods.

I know you meant to say you want the prices posted. I want the prices posted also, I don't want to keep asking what the price is. If they aren't changing the price for different people, why are they not posting the prices? It allows me to believe that I can compare prices from vendor to vendor without having to ask each one.

Thank you for dropping by and leaving your link.

#MarketFriday loves you.

Yeah, forgot to put "...don't post the prices".

It allows me to believe that I can compare prices from vendor to vendor without having to ask each one.

That's my same reasoning and I know that in certain countries they expect you to haggle for a price that both party's can agree on, but it's not what I'm used to and wouldn't know how.

Hey, I was partly away from Hive for some time, which is why I'm now getting on track with comments.
Hope you and yours are doing well.

Even the stuff they display in the market is so colorful. I don't wear any jewelry or expensive stuff even in Singapore. Now, for my deal. Who doesn't have at least one fast food meal on the first two day of Chinese New Year in Singapore? I think not many here.
https://hive.blog/hive-105017/@ace108/marketfriday-dinner-on-chinese-new-year-day-1-video-or-by-ace108

I don't wear it anywhere, usually. It doesn't make sense to be like a billboard, does it?

Haha!! I like Chinese takeout food on New Year! We are all alike, I think!

Hi, Ace! @ace108 Hope all is well with you! Thanks for being part of the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Yes, not inviting trouble is a wise thing.

Exactly. :))

I love how colorful bright and fun it looks there

I also seldom ever tried bartering in places like this I was happy with the prices and honestly am terrible are bartering

Here is my post for this week https://peakd.com/hive-194913/@tattoodjay/market-friday-american-museum-of-natural-history

I do love the Caribbean colors! They are always so happy, aren't they?

I don't barter much, but, I can. There are a few places that mark you, but, they don't force me to buy. I am usually pretty satisfied with what I am buying. I do love the islands, different cultures, and personalities with each one, no matter how close they are to each other. That is the beauty of it!

I want to thank you for always being such a great supporter of me and #MarketFriday!

#MarketFriday loves you!

That looks like an interesting stop on your life journey. Very colourful place.

You know, I think it's true that people turn to crime in large part because there is no other choice for them. Why waste your time wearing a silly hat and flipping burgers for minimum wage and for the contempt of those you serve when you can get much more dealing drugs or stealing cars? There's a bigger thrill involved, and it's easier to earn the respect of your customers, so to speak.

But.. I shant spam your post with social issues. I'm glad you didn't buy a dog to be shipped to you. It might arrive less than alive.

Ha! That is not spamming. I enjoy the banter, you little thrill seeker. 🤣

As long as it came with 101 ways to wok your dog I would probably be okay. Yikes! See what you started?

Anywhere in the Caribbean is usually a fun adventure, especially on the smaller vessels that find little places to tie down.

I will be swapping out two siblings for three more (and various spouses, kids, etc this week. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

101 ways to wok your dog

😂 I did not expect that from you, but that was the best way to start the day.

I did not expect that either. This place is corrupting me. Next thing you know, I will be collecting bottle caps and swilling bad beer.

!BEER


Hey @wwwiebe, here is a little bit of BEER from @dswigle for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hi friends, this is my entry for this round:



Street market in my city - Called golden autumn

Street market in my city - Called golden autumn


Good luck to all participants in this challenge.

Thank you for dropping the link @obsesija. Please make sure to visit other #MarketFriday posts in the community! Thank you!

#MarketFriday loves you!

 last year (edited) 

Do I bargain, guilty sometimes I do but only if I know I can still can or they offer quite a high price..yet, if I saw that the seller seemed having a hard time to make ends, I won't dare.
My mother used to sell , she raised us through it! So my heart is kinda soft when it comes to this people.

Sad reality that sometimes people were force to do something not supposed too because of poverty

By the way here is my entry for these week: https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@lhes/purchased-keyboard-mouse-and-keyholder-got-a-great-finds-at-miniso
Happy weekend Denise!

I agree with you, but, not having been in the position of being forced, I can say I am not sure I would. But, I realize that is arrogant sounding as I have never been dealt that hand.

By all that is in my vision, these islands should be thriving instead of struggling. They have much $$ being poured into the islands, so there should be enough to make everyone have a better life, yet few do. So there is something wrong with the picture.

I hope for the best for these islands. They are such a joy to visit and I enjoy the people. Thanks so much for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Looks like you are enjoying your trip. That's excellent. The islands are so colorful and always have great markets to wander - touristy but fun nonetheless

I am enjoying the time away, especially with different siblings joining on different legs of it. It has been pretty awesome that way.

The islands are colorful and always such a happy place to be. The attitude is one of peace, love, and contentment. Everyone should be that happy. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

That sounds very nice. Enjoy the rest of the trip!

This looks like a pretty cool place. Are each of the islands unique in their own right or are there a lot of them that are really similar? I'd probably get all my money stolen if I came to a place like this. I suck at haggling, so I would likely just pay what they ask too. With two cruise ships there, I have to imagine the total population of the island tripled in a matter of hours!

All of the Caribbean is pretty cool, to me anyway. Each island is unique and so are the people, the architecture, the history, and where their roots started. That is what I love best about each one.

I pay what they ask because many of the island people are poor, living well below the poverty line. There are some that do well, or at least maintain a living, but, they it few and far between. These islands are incredibly beautiful and there should be no poverty, to be honest. There are high-end shopping and spas, hotels built on these islands, and the only ones who benefit from them are the companies and maybe a few local politicians. If they put all the earned money back into the economy or the island itself, I would be happy to see the growth, but, they don't.

The islands that are wealthy are not from the local people. They allow rich people to build/buy these mansions and live in seclusion. The islands are not rich, but, the people that live there are.

This particular island had two ships, but, when we were in St. Croix, there were 6 cruise ships and about 10 yachts on that tiny island. Thank goodness it was a national holiday, so everything was closed except the beaches. :)

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Wow, that is really interesting. Thanks for sharing. Ten cruise ships sounds nuts!

Six cruise ships and 10 yachts.

Oh right. Sorry. I did read it, I promise. I had just woken up! 😃

:) I was just joshing with you. :)

that's quaint and welcoming, love the rasta making his wares to sell. I always think it is dodgy when a restaurant can't make up its mind what the cuisine is being cooked. I avoid like the plague!

Yes!! Dodgy! That is exactly what it is. I gave it a hard pass! It didn't even sound good!

The islands are so lovely and the people are so very kind. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

I love seeing the photos of the places you go.

It's a shame about the crime. Obviously if there are not enough jobs, the tourist industry should be a great source of income, but then because of the crime, they have to encourage tourists not to keep much money on them ! You would think you would need to encourage them to carry more and spend it while there ! I understand about paying the already cheap prices when you know their incomes are so low. Being nice makes for good karma.

Thank you! I don't post many of the photos that I take or even many of the trips I take, so I am glad you enjoy them. It encourages me to post more of them. :) The crime sounds worse when they write it, I think. Of course, that doesn't sound right either! Many times I take the words the State Department uses when we are traveling to a certain part of the world. They recommend to go or not go/what to look for regarding safety and other information. To me, one can find crime almost anywhere if one looks in the right places. I just don't go to sketchy-looking places. Of course, it does happen in nice places too, but, just like getting hit by a car walking down the street.

The cost of living is not that cheap compared to the money made, so I don't like to sit and try to bargain lower on something that is already very cheap. It is a beautiful little island and I didn't really do it justice as I only showed the downtown little area of street shopping.

I have been there five or six times and I have never seen a crime, felt uneasy walking through an area, or been manipulated or cheated in what I bought. The people are happy from what I can see and the atmosphere is gentle and calm. It is always ab enjoyable time.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Looks beautiful… we are snowed under up here in Narnia 🇨🇦… so I am looking forward to travelling back to the Caribbean soon.

594D207D-EB07-47EB-84ED-60AA6F6647CF.jpeg

258560A4-9913-434A-B428-9A4E0BD65DC2.jpeg

Lola says Woof.

AAAB8E10-78C3-4FB7-9AE6-0A40342C146A.jpeg

The snow is absolutely beautiful! How lucky for you. Does Lola love it? We stopped having real snow several years back, so I do miss it.

What part of the Caribbean do you go to?

All of the pictures are incredibly beautiful, so romantic, and lovely. Thank you for sharing them. Give Lola a nice rubdown for me. 💙

#MarketFriday loves you!

Lola loves loves loves the snow. She can’t wait to wake up each day and run outside and roll around. She’s like a Little kid and every day is the 1st day of snow. It’s awesome…. amazing to see a being so full of joy and awe every single Morning… it’s contagious. I love the snow again too. We usually stay at the Sunrise Beach Club on Paradise Island In the Bahamas…

6263DB28-CED9-41AF-A4AC-202BF2F3DBDB.jpeg

503E9E21-F33E-4D47-AA76-2535EC927545.jpeg

985199CC-4AD1-45BA-BE84-82C3247821BA.jpeg

I'm with Lola! I love snow and ice skating and skiing. Growing up in New England will do that to you. I enjoy the sun and warmth too, it is a nice retreat after a blast of winter.

But, honestly, it is more about the unique cultures here and the sense of joy and peace, intermingled with a love for living.

I hope all is well with you and the family.

Happy belated New Yea!

Happy New Year from Canada 🇨🇦…I can’t believe it’s almost February…where does the time go ???? Everything needs to slow down. The family is doing well. Kids are off to university finally. Everyone is all grown up and they are paying their School Tuition with Hive.

Doesn't that feel good? Mine too. I was happy/sad to see them off to University.

Le sigh.

Life goes on and they all grow up. Then we resume life once again.

I was wowed upon seeing the cruise ships in the first photo... The place look nice to have a walk with interesting items to purchase.. Happy Friday @dswigle

I should have used a better photo for it, but, I was having trouble downloading last night. I have a shot with four ships lined up, it was pretty fun to see that many. :)

It is an interesting walk, I do love to see the different cultures and architecture. The people are always nice it seems. Although some of the articles say the crime is higher, I don't really notice any difference from the last time I was here. I think that if I wanted to, I could find a sketchy section where there is crime, but, I have never seen any, ever.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MareketFriday loves you!

That brought back a few memories. I had my honeymoon in Antigua back in 2000 and then went back 5 times. I loved the place, the history, people, everything my ex wife and I even came close to buying a home at English harbour.

A little sad to see crime has risen, back then, it was not really an issue.

As for dogs, it did sound like a scam but you can send dogs around the world for rehoming. There are two very genuine and successful charities here in Thailand that do exactly that as we have a massive stray problem.

Have a great weekend :-)

Are you from the Caribbean? I see you are in Thailand now.

I read that crime has risen, but, I am wondering if they meant during covid when many places had higher crime with nobody working and no money coming in. I have never seen crime there and I have been back probably 5 or 6 times. I guess I could find crime in a sketchy area, but, you can find that anywhere, yes?

This really seemed pretty sketchy to me, and I hoped was taken advantage of. I will give to charitable donations, but not usually people hawking it on the streets.

I am glad Thailand is taking care of the problem. Poor dogs! That is harsh living on the streets there! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

What a great travel experience! Well, nice and dangerous with all that crime. How is it possible that even in our days someone would fall for something as foolish as the dog they were proposing to buy? I loved the photo of the little girl with her daddy, such tenderness. 🥰

Haha! A lot of crime is relative. It is a lot there and nothing in a regular city. I say nothing because I have never seen or even heard of a crime, I read that on the internet.

They were looking to scam a tourist, that is all. 😮

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

There was a scam going on downtown by some dog rescue group.

Looks like these people are everywhere. A few weeks ago I met a similar group in Szolnok, Hungary. They said that they are from the government, and that they collect donations for the sick children in the hospital. But the government is not doing such a thing. Hopefully not many people fall for these scams.

The world is full of these scammers. Some are more obvious than the others. Asking for an ID and/or for some kind of paper in these cases can be a good idea, but some of the scammers are making fake IDs and/or fake papers. Best to be prepared for these things, and approach them from a critical viewpoint.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

You are right! They do make their own ID so I never give it to people on the street asking for money for a cause. They don't normally do that. I can't remember the last time I saw them do that, so, I will give to a cause, but, not one out there soliciting on the street.

With all the scamming going on, I am sure they no longer do it.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Good day @dswigle 😊. You have nice pictures here. Thank you for always sharing nice places we can't be able to visit personally.

And thank you allowing us to share ours also. Here is my contribution to your #marketfriday. Hope you'll like it. God bless and take care always.

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@mommyjane/getting-ready-for-another-week-to-come

How nice! What was it in the post that you liked?

Thank you for dropping the link you your post.

#MarketFriday loves you!

To be honest, I've never been to another place outside of our province even in the Philippines. Seeing what the Caribbean looks like amazes me, especially the port, it is so clean and peaceful. I wonder if the poverty and corruption you have mentioned are the same as what we had here. But looking at the pictures you had I bet ours is worse. The crimes that happened every day that would make you feel scared and think if you are safe when you are out on the streets alone at night. Not to mention the "War on Drugs" here where the war is gone already but the drugs are still here 🤔.

Again, thank you and to all the people like you for giving us always the privilege to share our story.

There was terrible corruption there and I believe there still is, although hopefully some of it is better than it was.

The Philippines has incredibly beautiful water and scenery. Always so amazing.

I am happy to see all the posts from around the world. It is a wonderful journey to travel through them.

I am happy to see all the posts from around the world. It is a wonderful journey to travel through them.

So true, that's what I am doing, a journey around the world through seeing different posts.

-Hello! @diswigle Ma'am thanks a lot for sharing all those colorful photos of places and activities on that city. The way you shared the post was so lively and so alive!😇 Anything about scamming is bad and should not be tolerated but it's all happening in many places around the world like being part, funny but scaey but happening. But there's always God who sees everything and still there are good people who chooses kindness and sincerity in everything!. In our place here in the Philippines, a lot of street vendors too and good shops🙂. Parking lot is a great problem here too. Hmmm..well here is the link to my post, Sorry, I forgot to share it here🙏

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@aimharryianne/time-with-my-family-in-downtown

May God bless you more! Thank you for this #marketfriday so much fun to post here and seeing admirable places and photos. And the flower you have shared is beautiful.🙏.

Have a blessed day!😇❤️-

Thank you for dropping your link!

Oh man, this was so immersive, I could have sworn I was there with you. Thank you for this amazing piece and telling us about the city.

Quick question about parking your bike, isn't it at risk of getting stolen? In Nigeria, you park your bike carelessly, it's gone!!!!

It is a pretty little island with interesting architecture.

Even though one of the travel sites said that crime has risen, I have never witnessed anything remotely like crime while I was there. Could I find some? Sure, you can anywhere, but, I don't go to the sketchy areas. So, in answer to your question, there are personal modes of transportation left all over and nobody runs off with them.

Thanks for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Those shops are giant ship! I couldn’t imagine myself on one of those; I am afraid I would get lost for days!

My link to this week post:

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@kaminchan/market-friday-more-photos-of-my-boat-trip-and-meeting-two-lovely-tourists

Have a wonderful week!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 140 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer ! Much appreciated!

!PIZZA


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for the beer!

I love these ships .and thanks for sharing these amazing pictures .i love your way of blogging keep it up .

Thank you so much.

#MarketFriday loves you!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
qwerrie tipped dswigle (x1)
@dswigle(1/5) tipped @pixresteemer (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Thank you for dropping the link!

Muchas gracias por ese gran paseo turístico, encantador, me gustaría visitarla algún día, sobre todo conocerla en bicicleta, un abrazo.

Debe usar inglés en este desafío ya que la mayoría no sabe español. ¡Gracias!

They would mail the dog to you when you got home.

👀 It's my first time hearing this and it's really a scam for asking donation after they saying about this. It's cost more for mailing the dog to you home as well. If they only asking for donation without saying any ridiculous word, I think I will donate (within my budget) it as charity regardless they scam me or not.

By the way, here is my post for this week.

It's Time to Buy Affordable Seasonal Fruits

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 82000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 83000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

It's such a shame that while this place is so beautiful, there's also a nasty (dunno what should be the proper term here) side to it. It would have been nicer if this place is crime-free or fewer crimes so they could attract more and more tourists. But then again, couldn't blame the people.
It's just sad though.
It's such a kind gesture though that you give more or the exact amount of what you get but sometimes, people see this as you're rich or something that they can manipulate you or something bad. But you're so kind @dswigle I hope it won't happen to you.

Here's my entry for #MarketFriday https://peakd.com/hive-105425/@wittyzell/retrieving-my-lost-items-in-the-service-area-in-saitama
I didn't post it in the community though, sorry for that.

Indeed I've gained some knowledge reading through your post on marketfriday initiated by you @dswigle. I wil say again, trust me I am in your state just by reading through and viewing pictures you presented. How lovely they look so much following with writings. Hehe, I just wish I can write as you do.
Thanks a million for the initiative to creating this community on hive
#cheers
#hugs

!BEER


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hmm I might have passed up the Chinese food as well, under the circumstances, however it would have been a hard call...

I have to wonder if tourists are good for the economy or not. Do they add enough to the community to be an asset? Or do you think they spoil the town, leaving it in much worse shape than when they came.

If drugs are the only other option, tourism has to be a good thing for the town... I think they just need help to utilize it better.

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Congratulations @dswigle! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @dswigle! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
There are 2 pages
Pages