Curaçao, Market Friday Style

in Market Friday4 years ago (edited)


This is one of my favorite destinations. The beautiful island of Curacao, a Dutch Caribbean island, with its pastel-colored colonial architecture and crystal clear beaches that are scattered all along their southwestern coastline. The view is of Willemstad, its capital.


0P2A2295.JPG


Handelskade, the multi-colored buildings on the waterfront that is Curaçao’s most characteristic image. When I think of Curacao, this is what I see.


On 10th October 2010, the island of Curaçao became a separate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Curacao is only 40 miles (64 km) long with a population of 130,000 people, most of them living in or around the capital of Willemstad. The town is truly charming and in many ways, a hidden gem. Although there is a definite tourist trade going on, I find it less crowded than most of the islands. Of course, I walked through the Old Town, where there are fewer crowds and more colorful scenery. People chat with me all along the way and are always extremely helpful, some even walking me to my destination so I wouldn't get lost. They have no idea that I am perpetually lost! It's my thing. I should have a GPS implanted.


0P2A2526.JPG


if you can close your eyes and imagine that in the bigger scheme of things, where logic stands clear, the streets can be appreciated fully if given a half a chance. They are not new, many are being rehabbed and some are for sale, piles of rubble just waiting to be put back together again. The city is filled with history and is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Historical meets modern influences, but, somehow, it works nicely.


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.


IMG_4645.JPG


The Queen Emma pontoon bridge is a quirkily swing bridge that opens up to boat traffic. It also allows pedestrian traffic to enter the downtown area of the city. If you don't get across the bridge when the signal warns you it is opening, you are stuck until the water traffic clears. They put flags up, a small boat and the operator puts up a yellow flag, a long one for ocean-going traffic, and a red one is put up. The red-flagged ships can take long, so during this time a free ferry operates to carry you to the other side. It can be five minutes or a half-hour- take the ferry! I got stuck out there the first time I went across and, just because I am a slow learner, the last time I was there.


IMG_4311.JPG


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


Question: What has a face, but, no body?


source


Answer! Can you guess??? A Dice has 6 faces since it is a cuboid. It does not have a body. The numbers on each face sums up to 21 and are referred to as eyes, but, you cannot see through them. !!

Center Crest.png

IMG_4355.JPG


There is love in the splash of color in an otherwise lonely alley. I walk through the back alleys, enjoying the view that has been offered to me. The artist is Nena Sanchez and you will find her 3D work outside her store and in between the alleyways. She is well-known locally for her sunflowers, birds, and some amazing butterflies. I think it adds life to an otherwise empty alleyway This is such a scenic little town to walk through. Who could resist the colors and the wild plants painted on the building? There is happiness all around, the people treat you with kindness and there is always a smile. How can you not love it? One of the gathering places, where everyone comes to see and be seen.


0P2A2374.JPG


By Caribbean standards, Curacao has had the highest per capita income in the Caribbean every year since 1920. That is impressive! It is very evident with few if any street people beggars and peddlers in sight.


IMG_4537.JPG


In the old section of town, the barbershop is a favorite gathering place, even if you don't need a haircut. You will find it down the alley, off the main street, its telltale barber pole outside the door. I am really a fan of the distinctive European architectural style found in this part of town. At one time, they had a white limestone finish, and eventually it was banned as it was making glare for the eyes. The turned to the happy colors of today, predominantly red, blue, greens of different shades, yellow, and okra. Such a vibrant little place.


0P2A2544.JPG


You can do the beautiful waterfront and shopping, but, don't forget to check out their historical section. It is picturesque, and being revitalized every day. The people are friendly and helpful and a part of me wants to buy one of those little places and call it home.


Rules of the Road

Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative (or not, we don't judge!)
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture(s)
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308
Or drop the link into the MarketFriday post so I can find it
Have fun!


Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


IMG_4306.JPG


The yellow building is a very distinctive Curaçao Baroque style of architecture. Most have the curved Dutch gable. This building is called the Penha building which was built in 1708 and is considered one of the best examples of this architecture.


IMG_4319.JPG


The historic townscape has changed little, although each time I go back, more and more renovations are being made, taking the broken buildings and making them usable and beautifying the historic little town once again.


0P2A2538.JPG


Some like this were almost rubble, but, it was for sale - and I am excited to see what it looks like when it is sold and renovated. I walked around it and it has nice lines. Yes, I would buy it. Don't judge.


IMG_4504.JPG


I thought I recognized some words, but, really, I didn't. I was expecting Dutch the first time I came. They officially speak Papiamento, but most, if not all understand English. I never take that for granted though.


Papiamento or Papiamentu is a Portuguese-based creole language spoken in the Dutch Caribbean. It is the most widely spoken language on the Caribbean ABC islands, having official status in Aruba and Curaçao. Papiamento is also a recognized language in the Dutch public bodies of Bonaire, Sint-Eustatius, and Saba. source


Crash course in Papiamento:

Welcome: Bon Bini
Good morning: Bon dia
Goodbye: Ayo
Thank you very much: Masha danki
You're welcome: Na bo ordo
Yes/No Si/No
Please: Por fabor
Have a nice day: Pasa un bon dia
How are you doing?: Kon ta bai? source


We are through with Curacao for this #MarketFriday. Thank you for joining me as I perused around the island! And just like that, this show is over. Come back tomorrow and we will do it again. The market? Oh, yes! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Just remember! #MarketFriday loves you!


IMG_8115.JPG



I have been discovering new places, every day! I love to share and be shared with! I am intrigued by different cultures. It is exciting and yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace, or even an art gallery, a kite festival! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market!


Even though many places have been cleared to carry on as normal, please wear a mask when you go out and use proper social distancing.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Sort:  

I love the happy colors they use. That is such a lovely locale. I would love to get there one day.

Here is my Market Friday post.

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@old-guy-photos/starting-to-get-chilly

They really are such happy colors. The brightly colored hues add such charm to the locale. I cannot even begin to tell you how kind and helpful the people were. Such happy people. Pride in ownership and respect for Mother Earth.

How can you go wrong with that? Thank you for stopping by and saying hello, leaving your link behind. I hope you are doing well, as well as your family.

Have a great night! Off to work I go!

!tip

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hola guapa casi sin tiempo
Pero ahora tengo un poco y vengo a visitarte
El domingo hice fotos para el mercado que el viernes te pondré.
Intento estar al día con todo esto, pero algunos días me resulta imposible.
Los ánimos tampoco están altos ya que todo está triste y raro
Yo gracias a dios no he tenido desgracias por ahora, pero mi madre cumplirá el mes que viene 93 y siempre estoy con miedo por ella
Cuídate bellísima que como aquí se dice eres la alegría de la huerta jaja
Te quiero

Hello pretty almost no time
But now I have a little and I come to visit you
On Sunday I took photos for the market that I will post for you on Friday.
I try to keep up with all this, but some days I find it impossible.
The spirits are not high either since everything is sad and weird
Thank God I have not had misfortunes for now, but my mother will be 93 next month and I am always afraid for her
Take care of yourself beautifully, as it is said here, you are the joy of the garden haha
I love u

Te amo por tomarte el tiempo para hacérmelo saber. Sé que todos están tristes por el estado del mundo. Dios bendiga a tu madre. Espero que ella esté bien. No te preocupes en el mercado, amigo. Las cosas están tan locas que estoy feliz de verte en cualquier momento. Ama siempre.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @txatxy! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

This Island of Curacao is so vibrant this is where we should all be right now to brighten us up if these colors don't do it i don't know what will really is fascinating the way they have done it really is beautiful 😁

Temple of Dawn - Bangkok , Thailand.

dsc04762.jpg

Thank you @bigsambucca! It really is quite a pretty island, peaceful, and just the place for Denise to go when she is looking for a wave of calm. Thanks so much for stopping by to say hello and leaving your (amazing) link behind!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Sounds like the perfect place for Denise enjoy my friend have a lovely weekend 🙂

You too! But, I have more of mine left! Yours is gone, gone, gone! :))

🎁 Hi @bigsambucca! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you @dswigle much appreciated 🙂

My pleasure!

This is very amazing place, the architectural view of this house and colourful, the colour they used is unique as the color is not use same nearby others. May be they respect each other not to copy their colour in a certain range!! That all are beautiful and we know from your post.

https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@sheikh27/4osebj-marketfriday-at-locally-different-places-by-sheikh27

I am not sure how they decide what color to paint, but, I am sure you are probably right. If you are painting your house, I would imagine you have to paint it in one of the colors of the island. It makes it so pretty there!

It is the people that make it so nice. They are kind and thoughtful and make you feel welcome.

Thank you for stopping by and for leaving your link! Have a wonderful weekend.

!tip

🎁 Hi @sheikh27! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You certainly have seen a lot of the world @dswigle 😊

I have, yet there is still so much out there for me to see! Hi, Mike! @manorvillemike! I hope all is well with you!

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words! They are always welcome! Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @manorvillemike! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a lovely village walk, old architecture one is always thrilled to see renovations being done, breathing new life into the old structures.

Love the bright paints used, the painted alley what a treat to sit and enjoy a quiet snack there.

When people take pride in their surroundings wonderful things happen Denise.

@tipu curate

The alleys are the best parts, Joan! Almost every one of them has a mural or a local artist displaying their work, it is pure eye candy to walk around there. The old architecture is fabulous, many being from the 1700's...

People do take pride in their surroundings. It is always wonderful to see. It doesn't hurt that it is a UNESCO site. ;)

Thanks for stopping by and for the curation! Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @joanstewart! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so much for the awesome upvote~!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @diyhub! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a beautiful area. This is amazing. You used the word "vibrant" which is so perfect! I love all the colors! And yes, I would buy that crumbling building too, if I had the money to renovate. Can you imagine once it is restored to its former splendor? I've never heard of the Papiamento language. The things we can see and experience and learn in a Market Friday post!

I would love to live along a river or canal, like in this place or in Venice, and sit at little back alley cafes for coffee. That artist is amazing!

Love the brain teaser. I did not come up with the answer! I was thinking of a clock!

!tip

Hi @jayna! It is truly is such a vibrant place and I agree!!! I can only imagine how amazing that house would be, given the opportunity to renovate and make it beautiful again once more.

I never heard of the Papiamento language until I went there about ten years ago for the first time and I had to ask because I could understand some words, but it was few and far between. To my surprise, it was a language I never heard of! I was in awe.

#MarketFriday has been a real cultural experience for me!

I love Venice, but, it is so crowded and kind of dirty. (although, I still found it romantic!) But, yes. The water calls out to me. Haha! I always think about discontinuing the brain teaser. Some love it, some dislike it. So I put it in to break up the post and other weeks skip it.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind and thoughtful comment! Have a great day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Just the beauty of all the colors around the island would put you in a instant holiday comer 😁

Hanoi , Vietnam Street Foods & Military Museum.

hanoi_1.jpg

That is the absolute truth! I want to thank you for taking the time to peruse the post and for stopping by and dropping your link.

You know how much I love Vietnam! Thank you! :)) Have a great day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

You are welcome @dswigle have a great day 🙂

🎁 Hi @kohsamui99! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you @dswigle very kind of you 🙂

So many colours! Love it!

Thank you @gabrieltravels! I think the palette is soothing to the soul. I am pretty sure you have seen it in your travels, but, wherever I go that has it, instant tranquility descends upon my soul.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your words!Have a great day!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

I actually live in a city which is pretty colorful and that gives a different mood.

Makes me happier and feel more relaxed! Have a great weekend and stay safe!

That is so nice to hear! I am sure it is very beautiful! It is a very happy thing to be surrounded by beauty! Thanks so much for stopping by!

🎁 Hi @gabrielatravels! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hi dear @dswigle, nice to see pastel-colored colonial architecture scattered buildings along coastline. I'm enjoy reading your post. Keep it up! 😊👍🏻👍🏻

Thank you so much for stopping by to say hello, leaving your words behind.

Have a nice weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @cherryng! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hi! This is my link to this week post.

https://ecency.com/marketfriday/@kaminchan/market-friday-buying-turmeric-at-the-indian-market

Have a wonderful weekend.

Hello @kamichan! Thank you so much for taking the time to drop the link! Have a nice weekend also!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kaminchan! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

wow so colorful and festive every thing .

Thank you so much @theia! I really enjoyed posting this piece! I am glad you liked it and I thank you for taking the time to stop in and leave your words!

Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @theia7! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Nice and colorful decorated Curacao, a Dutch Caribbean island photography. And here is my entry : https://hive.blog/gems/@kamrunnahar/market-friday-goes-to-international-trade-fair.

Thank you for stopping by with your words and leaving your link behind! Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kamrunnahar! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I like this colorful village Curaco, with his beautiful architecture, sculptures and artworks, unfortunately I was never there.
https://beta.peakd.com/hive-174578/@almi/interesting-exciting-exotic-colorful-energizing-market

I'm shocked!! You have been everywhere! :))

It is such a beautiful island, the entire thing, but, the capital is my favorite. Tiny by our standards, but, quaint and quite beautiful. They have everything you need and many things that are just a joy to behold.

Thank you for stopping by to say hello and dropping your link. Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @almi! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Sadly i have not made it there yet but the boss @millycf1976 has and had nothing but good things to say about it. She loved the mix of ditch and caribbean styles

They even have good scuba diving, although Bonaire (part of the ABC group there) has better.

It is such a sweet place to spend some time. The mixture of Dutch and Caribbean makes it really interesting as they use the best of both. You will have to make your way there sometime. Bonaire is just a hop away!

You could probably swim there, :))

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your wonderful words.

!tip

always a pleasure, never a chore :)

Thank you!

🎁 Hi @scubahead! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What wonderful buildings! They make me think of cake! :)

I love market Friday! Looking forward to taking a stroll around the world's markets! Here is what ours looked like this morning: https://peakd.com/hive-114105/@felt.buzz/-45u3623610v374667217161771128720

Have a great weekend! :)

They do, don't they?? :))

Oh, thank you for being such a good sport and marketing along every Friday! I am so pleased when we get to stroll through the little French village.

Appreciate your stopping by and leaving your words and dropping your link here!

!tip

🎁 Hi @felt.buzz! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you for the curation @steemflow and @indiaunited! It is much appreciated! I hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead!

!tip

🎁 Hi @indiaunited! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

It was the 3-D Sunflowers! Always a flower!

I'm glad I got to your market Friday first thing today. I was way late last week :)

I have a GPS that lives on whatever motorcycle I'm riding. It's a nicely battered 20 year old unit that I can change from bike to bike in seconds. It mostly works too, but I seldom use it because I've found some of my favorite places when I was just hopelessly lost. I use it to find my way out of that predicament from time to time...

Curacao is just lovely and you have presented it so well! I'd give that barber shop a try in a second. I'm still wearing my 'covid cut' so I could really use it.

Thanks Denise. I just love it!

Haha! You and me both, Tom! @bigtom13 I haven't been to the hairdressers since the outbreak. I really need to just do it! That barbershop was so old school! I loved all the men that went there to socialize and get four hairs trimmed off. Just like going to Petticoat Junction! :))

I have an old GPS that I will loan to people when they are visiting if their car doesn't have one. Getting lost is where I have found my best places to explore too! Ha! I am totally hopeless, but, it has never bothered me. I have just accepted it as part of my life.

I love Curacao. The people, the way they live and breathe life into everything they do. Some days, I think our country needs to take a page out of their book.

I want to thank you for stopping by and leaving your words. They are definitely appreciated! Have a great weekend, Tom! @bigtom13

!tip

I love your photos of there such a colorful and vibrant place I would love to visit there one day

!tip

and her is my post for this week https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@tattoodjay/market-friday-back-to-the-heritage-gardens-car-museum

It is definitely a special place, JJ! @tattoodjay The weather is balmy, the people are friendly and helpful and there is beauty down every alley. I love the vibe of the entire city.

The first time I went, it was for the architecture, but, the island now calls me by name. It is one of my favorite Caribbean islands.

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your link! Much appreciated! Have a great weekend!

!tip

Sounds just about perfect yo me

You to have a good weekend

You too! Expect warmer temps later in the week!

I see Warner Rémi’s in the forecast and looking forward to them
If one engages he gets !ENGAGE 25 from me

Yes!!!! Look forward to Wednesday! It is coming at you!

Yeah Wednesday sure looks like being a beautiful day :) will try and make the most of it

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for the engage tokens @tattoodjay!

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I love all those brightly colored buildings!!

20200912-105043.jpg

Here is my post for marketfriday:
Plant Market @ Bus Stop 7

Hope you like it, have a great weekend!!

Aren't they so beautiful? I love them too. Such a beautiful sight when coming upon them!

Oh, you look very succulent today! :)) Thank you for dropping your link! Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @rynow! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Charming architecture! Love the pops of color and impressive murals. Thanks for taking us to this part of the Caribbean.

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@discoveringarni/market-friday-food-trip-cosina-organica-and-cafe-de-metoli-in-alegria-cebu

Thank you for coming!! Those pops of pretty are real eye candy for sure. It is one of my favorite islands for architecture, but, also, the people are so kind and helpful, making you feel instantly welcome.

I want to thank you for stopping by and dropping your link! It is appreciated! Have a nice weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @discoveringarni! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hello @dswigle it’s lovely to meet you. Here is my first ever post to your community xxx This place you are showing us is like fairytale almost . So magical. What an amazing experience to visit this amazing location

https://hive.blog/hive-196308/@the-busy-bee/my-first-ever-marketfriday

Welcome to #MarketFriday! So glad to have you here!

I want to thank you for making your way over here to say hello and leaving your words and your link behind!

Have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @the-busy-bee! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What an amazing tour Denise. The colourful houses and some paintings. Was it expensive to be there? I was amazed that you said this country has a big income when it's just a small country. 130,000 population, that was too small numbers of people. It's nice not to see peddlers or beggars that much. You're not a slow learner by the way. You're just being cautious since it's the first time. By the way, why it was separated?

It really isn't expensive, I would say that the prices were commensurate with the goods. Inexpensive little trinkets were cheap and the Jimmy Choo shoes were expensive, although cheaper than home.

The average income of a country is calculated by dividing the total income of the country by its total population. There are many rich people that live there, adding the boost to the number, and with the low population, it makes it seem higher... but, there really hardly any homeless to speak of. I believe the country is pretty well off, without being called rich.

Ther per capita income is calculated by taking a measure of all sources of income in the aggregate (such as GDP or Gross national income ) and dividing it by the total population.

Oh, it wasn't my first time. I have been there at least a half dozen times. Did I say I love the island? :))

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @mrnightmare89! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Awnn nice flowers in the wall.
Least I forget this is the link to my post👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@glotokens/my-market-friday-challenge-a-visit-to-a-bookshop

You are awesome!! Thank you so much for remembering to drop the link! It makes it so much easier for me, especially when I don't have to hunt them down! :))

Thank you so much @glotokens! Have a wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @glotokens! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Here's my entry by the way, I forgot the drill.lol

https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@mrnightmare89/along-the-colon-st

Tsk! Tsk! You forgot the drill? :)) How could you? LOL Thanks for dropping the link! It saves me searching for it!

Have a great weekend!

!tip

Hahaha yeah my bad and I'm so sorry about that.

No problem!

🎁 Hi @mrnightmare89! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I like the multi single color buildings

Thanks, Ace! @ace108 It really makes it look a little bit happier, doesn't it? Or perhaps the eye candy just makes me smile? It is reminiscent of some places in the Netherlands too.

So glad to have you stop by and peruse the post! Fall is in the air! It is warm, but, I can tell it want to change!

Have a great weekend!

!tip

Thank you.
It does look bit like some parts of Amsterdam I've seen but not as brightly colored there as I remember

True! It is not as brightly colored as I remember it! Thanks for stopping by, Ace~

you're welcome

🎁 Hi @ace108! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 23 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! I always appreciate your presence! Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Curacao, what a pleasant place to see, especially the colors of the buildings. Seen from afar they look like models in a museum.
A Friday market as a travel blog. A blog that fits #haveyoubeenhere but to be considered must be posted from the haveyoubeenhere community or I think it works even if it is the first tag, but I'm not sure about that.

I posted late but I see you found me. Thank you!

It doesn't count and I cannot post it from there on #MarketFirday as the rules say. I had to pay to get here, so that is close enough, right? :))

Thank you so much. There are parts of it that remind me of Greece, especially the fishing villages. I always look for you, in case you forget to link. :))

Thanks for stopping by!! Have a wonderful Sunday!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Thank you! I'm glad you look for me because I also look for you. I put it on automatic vote but it often doesn't work properly...

I know!! Mine neither. Some days, yes. Some days, no. So, I look. :))

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank You!

OoooOoOOH lets buy one !

I know, right?? I would love to! :))

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

😘❤️

🎁 Hi @opidia! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for the beer!

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk The Walk That Wasnt Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you so much JJ! @tattoodjay

One of three destinations that Suriname migrant workers wish to reach. The other being Aruba and Brazil. We van't visit there because we have a few Cambodian passports, but I remember there being a special agreement between Aruba and Curacao, that Surinamers can visit without an EU Schengen visa, but I don't know the details.

Aruba was one of the worst experiences of our lives, as we ended up stranded at the airport for around 19 hours, something that I guess doesn't happen very often, and there was a big logistical snafu that caused us to be detained for several hours. They encouraged us to visit the beach, but then realized we weren't eligible for visas, so had to keep is in the airport. It was a little weird to see such a beautiful tropical destination through the glass and then fly off to Mudville, Suriname.

The Surinamers say Aruba and Curacao are more Dutch-minded, and the architecture certainly looks so. Those old colonial buildings have mostly been destroyed by termites here, with little effort to save most of them. Curacao looks like a movie set, things so perfectly painted and preserved. I wonder how the tourism downturn has affected this place...

While they have a nice tourist trade, they also are invested heavily in finance. But, with such a small population and the fact that locals don't pay the same price as the tourists, most hotels had massive layoffs or shut their doors for now.

I don't really like Aruba and if I don't have to, I won't go there again. It doesn't have the beauty that the rest of the Caribbean does. Aruba is an attractive location for people to live. It is very safe, has a high standard of living, So you and I have different needs. I like Eagle Beach there and there are a few cool things, but, overall, I have been there four times, and two times would have been enough. Tourism is the biggest moneymaker in Aruba. The island's poor soil and low rainfall limit its agricultural prospects, aloe cultivation, livestock, and fishing contribute to Aruba's economy.

Curacao had closed their borders to Venezuela and their trade last year I believe. I am not sure where they stand now.

Thanks for stopping by!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

Congratulations @dswigle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 52000 comments. Your next target is to reach 53000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors