You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Irish Eyes are Smiling: Market Friday

in Market Fridaylast year

Isn't it crazy? I have been tracking the food prices here and many have gone up on a weekly/biweekly basis. Eating out is even worse on the pockets.

Given the fact that everything is trucked/flown or other means of transport, the gas alone would kill a mere mortal.

Average annual food-at-home prices were 11.4 percent higher in 2022 than in 2021. For context, the 20-year historical level of retail food price inflation is 2.0 percent per year. In 2022, prices for all food categories increased faster than their historical averages from 2002–21.

Right? It is crazy. Of course, leading the pack is one of the most noticeable. The egg prices. Thank God for brothers who raise chickens, yes? 😊 They have gone up 32% last year. Avian influenza, you know. Everything in between was pricey too. The thing that remained the closest to the historical prices was beef and veal at 5.3%. Come to find out, nothing in this world is free. Except maybe my fruit and nut trees. We need to plant more fruit and nuts.

You know #MarketFriday loves you!

Sort:  

It's nice to see that the prices of beef and other meats have come down since the pandemic. I am still kicking around the idea of just buying part of a cow. My wife doesn't eat beef though and I eat far less than I used to, so I am not sure if it is worth it. It's just ridiculous how expensive it is to try and eat healthy these days.

I remember you saying she doesn't eat beef. You can always get 1/4 cow and split it with a friend or relative.

It is truly ridiculous! I do get all my corn on the cob when it is being picked and cheap, parboil it, and seal it in a vacuum-sealed bag. I open it up all winter and it tastes just like fresh picked.

It just takes a lot more effort to make it all work now. As if we need more things to take up our time. :)

We do that with our corn too. I started using the cooler method a couple of years ago and that has worked out really well. We do a lot of vacuum sealing. We try to hit the farmers market in the summer for better prices, but that only helps us part of the year since you know how winters are in MI.

Exactly. Picking season is when it is cheapest here, with the overabundance of crops, it needs to get pushed out.

What is the cooler method?

I vacuum seal enough (or can the produce) and it will last all through the winter, right up until the next good season.

Winters in Michigan are unforgiving! :) But, some of the time, it really is pretty fun! Ice fishing! skating! snowshoeing! tobogganing!

Basically you just put the corn in a cooler and fill it with boiling water. Cover it and leave it for a fixed amount of time. You have to shuck it all first though. I do enjoy Michigan winters for the first couple of storms. After that I am ready for summer.

I actually didn't know you could do that! I use a lobster pot, but this sounds like you have a huge cooler. :)