Market Friday - Bird Food and Where's Mrs Happy?

in Market Friday2 years ago

The temperature has really dropped these past few days. Snow is forecast this weekend, so I decided to go into town and buy some bird food for my little chirpy friends.

I went into my favourite shop, Poundland! I'm glad the covid restrictions have eased (for now) as there's a shop assistant in Poundland who insists on tapping the shop counter with her nails, instructing you to place your money on the counter because she doesn't want to take it from your hand. Sadly, over the past year our shopping relationship has deteriorated, purely because of her curt manner. At times, I ended up practically throwing my money on the counter secretly hoping she'd miss it and it would end up on the floor!

Thankfully, I've not seen "Mrs Happy" for a week or two. I'm hoping they've sent her off to do some customer relations training, (unless they've sacked her for vandalising the shop counter, of course) Bizarrely, for some strange reason, I left Poundland a bit disappointed that I hadn’t had yet another battle over the shop counter with "Mrs Happy". I do miss those heady, halcyon days.

Anyway, after settling on sunflower seeds and peanuts I headed back home. I then popped over to the park to sprinkle some bird seed on the picnic tables. Now winter is approaching, the tables aren't used as much, but just my luck, two chaps were sat there in the freezing cold. Oh well ... I don't suppose they will mind a few birds dive bombing them!

I stuck around for a short while until a little robin appeared. I only took a couple of shots and then I left it to tuck in.

#marketfriday by @@@dswigle.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Now winter is approaching, the tables aren't used as much, but just my luck, two chaps were sat there in the freezing cold. Oh well ... I don't suppose they will mind a few birds dive bombing them!

Maybe sometimes they are also feeding the birds. Who knows.
Either way, I am also a bird lover, but (at least nowadays) I feed only my bird, which is a female Harris's hawk. I feed her mostly pigeon and chicken meat, and calcium tablets (in a crushed form on the meat).

They were definitely just having a chat. I shouldn't have used the picnic tables but couldn’t find a more suitable place. 🙂

How fun!! You do live on the edge! I hope Mrs. Happy comes back soon! I would have put see on the table too. :) We are pure evil!
You really put the post together nicely and it has been a pleasure to have you! I always put the suggestions in each response, so don't feel like you did anything wrong. Thank you so much for being a part of #MarketFriday! I am so happy to see such an awesome response to the challenge. The response was overwhelming this week, so I apologize for the brevity, It is a holiday weekend and I have had family from out of town since Wednesday, so time is not mine. I promise you, I am never this short! :)

#MarketFriday has evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact of what is normal for where you live? These are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I can only hope this to be true.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative!Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you postUse the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)

  1. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find itFollowing me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
  2. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. If you don't and someone reads it, there is nothing to tie #MarketFriday to that post.Please only one post each week. Believe it not, I run out of voting power if you put in many more than that.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

Thank you Denise - @dswigle. I keep forgetting the link though, so I need to be reminded. I will try better next time. 😇🥰

I tracked you down!! You can't get away that easy!