Back To Basics - A Market Friday Contribution

Hello my Hive friends. It's Friday once again. It's one of my most awaited day of the Week! It's time for the popular #MarketFriday tag hosted by @dswigle. This is an initiative I highly recommend you join or at least know more about. Just click on the link here and have a real cool Hive experience you'll always look forward to.

image.png
Source
This week I am featuring an entirely different market, its beginnings caused directly by the Enhanced Community Quarantine enforced in our city in March of this year. The forced quarantine had resulted in a lot of people losing their jobs, experiencing cashflow problems, and having difficulties in buying even the basic necessities. You might ask: So what's the photo above got to do with the quarantine and people losing their jobs? Everything! Because the market I am talking about is the on-line Barter Market which suddenly out of nowhere began popping up notifications in my Facebook and eventually an invite to join the community. The next photo will show you what I am talking about.

image.png

As can be seen from the screenshot above, the necklace which was valued at 2,500 Philippine Pesos was being bartered for any of the following: 1 sack of rice or a Dura Box or any item that can be used inside the bedroom. Cool huh?

Here's another post in the Barter community.

image.png
Source
And here's what was posted:

image.png
Trading for S26 (that's an infant formula milk) and groceries. Estimated value of the studs is 3,700 Philippine Pesos.

Some more posts:

image.png

Someone in need of rice named Ann Marisse offered to trade her Balenciaga Black Sling Bag for one sack of rice and was successful.

Here are a few more:

image.png
Pots for Spam (meat loaf brand) and chocolate drink with brand Chuckie. Place of stay is in Ubalde Street, in R. Castillo area is what it's saying.

image.png

image.png

image.png

You can check on this link for more postings in the Barter Community here.

These remind me of the ancient times when paper money was not yet in existence and the main activity for the exchange of goods and services was through barter. It really is a pleasant realization that people can be so creative and ingenious in their quest for survival. I mean who would have thought that this kind of market will actually thrive and be successful in the face of the pandemic? As of last count there were over 160,000 members. Yep, we are indeed a very resilient and hard to put down breed. And that is why I know we will overcome this pandemic as well.

Oh yes! The Blooper Section. I was getting a screen shot of this post and accidentally pushed the Ring Tone adjustment at the same time.
image.png

Well that ends my post for this week. My apologies for what I think are the very disorderly and cluttered photos I attached here but I wanted to show the actual scenes and experience while bartering on-line with all the pop-ups, notifications and even ringtone adjustments lol. Hope you enjoyed this one. Thanks for dropping by. Please continue to stay safe, wear those face masks, and maintain your social distance from one another. God bless you all and your weekend!

Sort:  

Wow great blog! I just submitted my #marketfriday post also, my first while already in the Philippines.

Just finished reading it. Good one too my friend. Hopefully, this is just the beginning of many posts to come.

I'm doing my best sir although I cant promise to myself that I still can do it consistently coz I will be very busy in the coming days. Na addict lang gyod ko ug post karon kay gusto nako mosaka ug balik ako voting power in fact nag buy gyod kog worth 1000 pesos na hp delegation para magamit nako pagstart ug balik.

Loading...

🎁 Hi @gems.and.cookies! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.