Hunting Markdown-Price Food Items while Groceries Looking & Learning

in Market Friday2 years ago

Husband has new hobby recently, which is to hunt markdown food at supermarket. He managed to hunt a real good deal before, like fish and chicken at markdown price, it was worth the buy because the meat was still fresh actually, but it was advised to put into freezer immediately if we were not cooking that day. Hence, the store did not prefer to put back and to sell again the next day.

He wanted to hunt at Village Grocer

I seldom did my groceries here because to me, most items were very expensive, higher than average. Since we were already at the mall called Melawati Mall, might as well went in to see any good deal. We brought the boys along.

We received this at the entrance for free from the salesgirl who was promoting kiwi. But, I wasn't interested with kiwi that day. I was actually tired as the youngest son just recovered from his abdominal complications pain.

The first section when we entered Village Grocer was always the local produce. This would be the section I loved most because the food would be cheaper.

I did not have anything in mind to buy, so I just followed them while capturing photos. Below would be our local produce of 'ciku'. Most of the display for local products would be labelled in our Malay language.

And 'asam jawa' aka fresh tamarind.

And 'buah salak'.

And 'kedondong'.

Such fresh dragonfruits, soursop, custard apples and local mangos. It's been awhile I ate these fruits. I super love all these. But my body was so tired and sleep insufficient that I was literally not in the mood to put anything into the basket.

Look at all the beautiful pineapples and bananas. Another section I love. I can eat bananas and pineapples everyday.

The little boy found huge avocado. The price considered good but he was not really eating a lot and I did not want to waste another round of avocados. Only recently, I threw away the avocados due to him not being able to eat and all spoiled. I was so sad. And none of us remembered to eat the avocados. For your information, avocados are not cheap in our country.

The boys were shocked to see such expensive fruits. That was because this section was for fruits from Japan or Korea or Australia. Indeed, super expensive. One melon and we lost our few meals of lunch and dinner. One box of peach or imported plums, then we needed to save money. That's why we rarely eat peach, plums and those big melons.

Supep expensive grapes and beautiful peach from Japan. Must be very sweet and juicy. Hope one day I got to try.

Mushrooms....I was thinking of authentic mushroom soup.

Somehow, I attention moved to a section full of pots of greens. Everytime when I was exhausted, somehow the greens lifted me up, did it happen to you too? I walked nearer to look at all the pots and plants one by one.

Organic wheatgrass, anyone? Actually, I don't know how should we eat this. Are we suppose to blend into juice since there is wheatgrass juice around.

Another section of imported Japanese daikon, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, corn and Chinese yam.

Ahhhh, then I was so happy to see our local sweet potatoes with affordable prices.

Then, I heard the father and son talking about agriculture and some people saved a lot of money to buy land for farming.

Suddenly all the boys stopped and went, "Wahhhh" while staring intensely — as though something was staring at them too — their favourite cheese. They managed to resist not to buy. Because we remembered we were here today to hunt for markdown price food for saving purpose, NOT used more than what we should to buy cheese. Also, we still had some in the fridge.

The section we wanted to hunt for markdown prices had arrived. The meat section.

Sadly, for this particular supermarket, there was not alot of discount going on. The one with discount was the beef and husband said it was not a good deal. So we skipped.

Chicken feet, anyone? This was superb for making chicken broth but I didn't grab as well. Just felt like going home. However, I also treasure moments like this.

Husband found one good deal. So we grabbed this one. Yayyy. It had been awhile I ate good sausage.

After that, I was about to zone out into my brain-blank world but still diligently taking photos. The boys really had great time with the father. Times like this, I was really grateful that husband could step in to chitchat with the boys while I was just present with my quietness. I needed solitude like this. Being around yet did not need to talk much as my body was yearning for sleep.

Around this time, I was really exhausted, plus I still needed to try to encourage Jansen to eat abit more because at dinner earlier, he only ate 1 mouthful of his meal. I packed into a container so that no wastage.

We found a cafeteria to sit right outside Village Grocer. I immediately sat down with my youngest son while husband and eldest son continued to walk.

Our view from where we sat. We could see them eyeing on the clearing section. I wondered what they would grab. Haha.

Half an hour later after we sat, husband and eldest son came to us. The boss was holding a box labelled sanitary pad??!

I was curious what they hunted so I opened the box.

Ta-da!

Myojo brand instant noodles, Vegemite and the sausage. Hahaha. Luckily not a box of sanitary pad. Lol. Eventhough we did not get to find a good deal for meat and fish, instant noodles worked well too. All these was at discounted price due to going to expire in few months time. Myojo brand is the most delicious instant ramen in our opinion. The noodles do not have those strong chemical smell, and soft yet chewy. A nice bite. We sat here for awhile to let Jansen slowly ate his late dinner and we went home with that box of 'sanitary pad'! The boys really had a great time and they learned alot just by walking at supermarket and listening to their father.



Thank you @dswigle aka Dennis for starting #marketfriday so that we got to experience virtual market from all around the world. And also a space for us to blog our market experience.




.
.
.
.
.
📷📷📷
All images are mine unless stated otherwise, photos are taken using my phone Hua Wei P20.

img_0.8886483932437368
img_0.3064244915296772Hello there, I am the lady behind this little space of my blog in this awesome vast Hive blockchain. Often, when I blog, read, curate and get to know new people, I feel that I am no longer stucked inside the four-wall of my apartment, but rather, I am travelling all across the world, just like a little heaven-on-earth experience. Hope you enjoy reading this snippet of my life as I enjoy exploring yours. Thank you for swinging by.

img_0.6393366722164829

Sort:  

I have been to a market today too, and saw some exotic fruits, as you have some of the photos of them. But for sure, not that variety can be found here at my place.

Yes, here we have a lot of exotic fruits, even some I had not tried yet. Glad that we got to visit some markets. Thank you for swinging by, @mipiano.:)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Loading...