You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday: The Bid

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Hell to the no-no !... .I would never have foregone the inspection ! I wouldn't even do that on any house in any price range, but for something this large, that would be truly crazy. I have read and heard that some folks were doing that in order to get a house faster before someone else could take it and I truly believe there will some value regrets later for a lot of folks. You get enough of those surprises when it all looks good, who would want to invite more??

I'm sorry it has not turned out like you were hoping. On the surface, it truly looks like a dream home and maybe it is, but the gamble is too large for taking chances. What a let down !

Is there garden type art all over? I notice a little sundial in the flag field and something else on a post beyond.... a bluebird house maybe?

I saw something crazy here. A little "mill house" I use to live in was sold, fixed up and is online with a price of $200,000.00 ! Believe me when I tell you that it is a very small house with all rooms being small except a dining room off the very small kitchen AND... 1 very small bathroom. Now you may wonder if it's in a fancy neighborhood??? Oh no ! Not even close. It is on a busy 4 way stop intersection and the front yard is tiny. Folks that lived around there long after I was gone told me years later that the neighborhood had eventually become very sketchy with wandering addicts and etc. They did work on the inside and outside and it looks nicer than when I lived there, although it wasn't bad back then, but you could tell they painted over the cheap paneling in the 2nd bedroom, so most of it you can guess was just a quickly added facade. I will be curious to see what it ends up going for. Even though I have heard some crazy price stories, that asking price for this tiny house in a questionable neighborhood is absolutely ludicrous.

Sort:  

Exactly! You know I didn't. It is ludicrous that they think it is acceptable, that is for sure! I didn't do that while paying little prices, you think I would do it for this one? Can you believe there are people that bid on that house without it? They forgo all inspections. It is not because they are trying to hurry up and get it all in, it is because it is a quick inheritance deal. I think (or heard) one of the kids got disinherited and they want to seal the deal sooner than later. The poor old guy is barely cold. Yikes.

I would rather not have to be sad or regret anything. While it is sad and a little bit of a letdown, I am truly okay with it. There are a lot of good houses out there and it wasn't sitting well with me being so far out of circulation there. There was no real town, it was over ten miles away and no grocery or markets there, they were in a town 22 miles away. So, I think I may have dodged that bullet. I am a baby and I don't like feeling like that.

Everyone wanted that house, but, truly they were getting emotional about it. I want no regrets and guess what? I am sitting here tonight, not regretting the lack of the house in my repertoire. There will be another. There always is.

That story about the house is crazy!!! I do believe you after what I have heard. That sounds exactly right! Thanks so much for the fun, El! I hope you have a great weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!PIZZA

Mother doesn't live as far as that from the town & markets, but they are not convenient to her location. WHen they moved there, they just learned to stock a big pantry (and deep freeze) and other items and keep lists of things they needed and places they needed to go, to make sure they got everything done while in town. It took a while, but eventually it just became second nature and didn't seem like a chore.

Although I can imagine it being that way of a sorts about fast inheritance, that doesn't sound smart either, I mean, why be in a hurry? Why not give it proper time and get more money? ... well... unless you have something to hide. I would think all that inheritance mess would have to be settled and final before anything major could be done. I am certainly not the expert on that though. Somehow sounds a little fishy, doesn't it?

It was a trust which makes it irrevocable. I am not sure why they wanted to get it settled immediately. There was a week from when ir was offered to the pending offer. It is the price they wanted. Mine was more. I am at peace with withdrawing. Our summer house in Michigan was 25 miles from town. I was okay with it.

I am not a huge fan of it, but it is ok. Im more social than that though. 😀

A trust.... I see. That is what my Mom has for her home and children.

Social ?...That just means you have to throw a lot of parties and let the people come to you ! Pot Luck of course....LOL

A trust is more expensive to set up but has many great features. If you have a trust, it is invisible to the IRS. That is important in many states. They won't even blink your way, as long as the assets are sold at fair market value there will be no reportable gain, loss, or gift tax assessed on the sale. Hello? That is a win!!! There will also be no income tax on any payments paid to the grantor from a sale. Best case scenario! As an aside, you must put your property in a trust before you get ill or need care. Anyone who has had a long-term illness in the family will understand these reasons. The illness can suck the life out of your assets. When you put your property in trust before going into any type of care, it is not considered to be owned by you and is not used to fund your care.

That is why your mom did it. It was a smart move on her part.

That is also why this man did it. It can be sold asap, no waiting on anything.

I of course have never studied all the features of a trust, even though I have heard the word now and then through my life and had a shallow understanding of it. Mom put the house and property in trust for her children when she remarried, so it has been that way a long time now.

We do understand about some of the things that should be in place long before illness, but understandably, it is hard for some elderly to do it as they don't understand and think it is giving their things away where they will have no control. My Grandmother did that. She went along with some things and others she did not.

Illness sucks away many people's assets unfortunately.

You are right. Depending on when parents/grandparents make out their wills or change them, they often feel like they will lose control of their assets. I am sure it has happened in some way, otherwise, how would that rumor have started?

Illness does suck away the assets nowadays. Have you seen what the cost is for a private duty nurse if you have no insurance?

There are so many different trusts it is confusing.

Many people who remarry put their assets in a trust to protect their children. It sounds ugly when I say it, but, the intent is to keep your father's assets for his children, as was just an extension of what he had been doing.

I think it is a very good thing. One of the reasons that people with big money almost always have a trust of some kind.

Oh, yeah... I love pot luck! :)