You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday Phoned Home

Wow! What a great outing...and that for $3.00! And then also $3.00 per vehicle and not even per person! That's awesome!!

Yes, the ground must be very fertile there!

I have always preferred summer when we lived in Johannesburg, but since we moved down to the coast, I think spring is becoming my favorite season...lol!

You will find my post for this week here...

Enjoy your weekend👍!

Sort:  

I can see why that is. I have a house on the coast and one close to the city here. The coast is more humid, so I love the spring and summer there. But here I Love spring and fall and even winter.

Who am I kidding? Spring has always been special as it allows you to begin again.

The ground is super fertile there! And what a deal that is, right? Many of the parks are free, which allows them to keep track of how many people may be up in the backcountry, so it helps account for them.

Thanks for reading and for your participation!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Who am I kidding? Spring has always been special as it allows you to begin again.

Hahaha...that is so true. Everything feels fresh and as you say, it feels as if you can begin again...with renewed energy!

Yes, that is a great deal indeed! And maybe I can add what else impressed me...the fact that you can camp there and spend the night under the stars...and be safe.

Sad to say, I would not feel safe doing that in South Africa. Yes, we have beautiful places, but to spend the night...you need the safety of a proper camping site, where there is safety and security.

Many years ago, we could enjoy that kind of freedom here as well, but I doubt if that will ever happen again...

Enjoy your weekend, @dswigle👍!

There is safety among campers, hikers, and people that enjoy nature in general. I did have a tent, but, chose to sleep under the stars, as did another friend. Two others slept in their tents, which is fine. They were colder. :) It is sad that our world has become like this.

The Appalachian Trail, is a hiking trail in the Eastern United States, extending almost 2,200 miles between Springer Mountain in Georgia and Mount Katahdin in Maine, and passing through 14 states. The Appalachian Trail Conservancy claims the Appalachian Trail to be the longest hiking-only trail in the world. Wikipedia

You can camp on it too as it passes through other places and another before it meets up with the trail again. People do a thru-hike, meaning they hike the whole thing, which takes about 6 months. People hike it alone, most go with a parnter.

That sounds amazing...so wonderful!

Wow! 2200 Miles! That is a long trail. That is some serious hiking to do that whole trail!

I checked the Wikipedia article you mentioned and found it very interesting. Some of those obstacles seem to be serious obstacles, from animals, snakes, and rodents, to weather conditions.

Thanks for sharing this information, @dswigle, that also made for some very interesting reading...learning more about your side of the world!

For the most part, it is a fun place to hike... until it is not! LOL

Of course, 99% of people, myself included, stop and start, hiking only small sections at a time. Some will never finish it and others try their best. But, it really doesn't matter I have come to realize, It is all about the journey, not the destination. ;)

There is another one in California that is a real challenge also, it runs the entire length of the state and is called the Pacific Crest Trail. Talk about another challenge!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Crest_Trail

Of course, Africa has some really amazing hikes!!

The fun part for me is important. If you're not having fun, why are you doing it?

But, it really doesn't matter I have come to realize, It is all about the journey, not the destination. ;)

I agree with you 100%! I believe that is even true for living your life in general too! I love that approach!

Thanks for the link to the Pacific Crest Trail. That also seems like a great trail. Wow, and another long one!

We don't have trails stretching over these distances. But one of the most popular trails here in South Africa is the Otter Trail. I haven't done the Otter myself, but my youngest daughter and her husband have done and they really enjoyed it. They actually want to go back and do it again.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Otter_Trail

Have a great day, @dswigle👍!