You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday Phoned Home

in Market Friday2 years ago

That sounds amazing...so wonderful!

Wow! 2200 Miles! That is a long trail. That is some serious hiking to do that whole trail!

I checked the Wikipedia article you mentioned and found it very interesting. Some of those obstacles seem to be serious obstacles, from animals, snakes, and rodents, to weather conditions.

Thanks for sharing this information, @dswigle, that also made for some very interesting reading...learning more about your side of the world!

Sort:  

For the most part, it is a fun place to hike... until it is not! LOL

Of course, 99% of people, myself included, stop and start, hiking only small sections at a time. Some will never finish it and others try their best. But, it really doesn't matter I have come to realize, It is all about the journey, not the destination. ;)

There is another one in California that is a real challenge also, it runs the entire length of the state and is called the Pacific Crest Trail. Talk about another challenge!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Crest_Trail

Of course, Africa has some really amazing hikes!!

The fun part for me is important. If you're not having fun, why are you doing it?

But, it really doesn't matter I have come to realize, It is all about the journey, not the destination. ;)

I agree with you 100%! I believe that is even true for living your life in general too! I love that approach!

Thanks for the link to the Pacific Crest Trail. That also seems like a great trail. Wow, and another long one!

We don't have trails stretching over these distances. But one of the most popular trails here in South Africa is the Otter Trail. I haven't done the Otter myself, but my youngest daughter and her husband have done and they really enjoyed it. They actually want to go back and do it again.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Otter_Trail

Have a great day, @dswigle👍!