Market Friday at the Taco Pub

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Oh wow, look. It’s time for Market Friday! And for once I’m not writing my Market Friday post on Saturday. Hooray!

Market Friday is hosted by @dswigle, and you must check it out and get to know her if you haven’t already!

So, “What’s a Taco Pub,” you ask? I don’t know, because I just made it up. But when you see the following pictures you will likely come to the conclusion that I am not wrong.

The place is called Lago Tacos and it’s a hopping place in the cute little town of Excelsior Minnesota. A girlfriend and I were heading to a movie at a theater just a few doors down, as I mentioned in my post a couple of days ago, but it was closed that night. So we had a lovely dinner at Lago Tacos, the taco pub!

E6BBD422-33AF-4A4A-AFF8-DB972C293840.jpeg

What a brilliant idea, to combine a fancy taco menu with lots of tap beer choices and a full bar! Plus they have outdoor seating in the summertime and it’s so nice. We grabbed two spots at the bar because there was a long wait for the outside tables.

D775C348-770C-4CDE-B6BC-074A4C559799.jpeg

AE7B564E-E587-40B0-A9A7-B5BE7F098A0F.jpeg

A3A59007-EC28-4FDD-A9FC-FBAB0A0BBB5C.jpeg

6CC1FC2C-B3D5-4CA3-B121-9C29DDEB4EA1.jpeg

My friend ordered a margarita, which is so smart and appropriate for a taco pub, but I was in the mood for a spicy Bloody Mary.

4F7C321B-1CD0-430F-924D-EEF25ED3D293.jpeg

Now don’t judge… (just kidding… go ahead and judge)… but I never remember to take a picture of the meal before I dive in. So this is a slightly disheveled version of what was served.

839F2521-9BF9-412D-9422-B6FC4C1B2555.jpeg

My friend and I both ordered the same thing — a chili lime grilled shrimp salad.

Now here’s what’s crazy to me. Suddenly, about five minutes before the salads were served, a food runner showed up with plates of fried pickles. We declined, saying no, we had not ordered those. She left and then came right back and said that they actually come with the salad. Wait — really?!

Naturally, we ate them because fried pickles are divine, but we believed we were still being somewhat sensible because we ordered salads — the lower calorie option than, say, a plate of cheese-smothered tacos. Right?

So the salads arrive and — I kid you not — each of them includes two deep fried avocado slices! And as we all know, avocados don’t need any assistance in the calorie department.

So, what the heck. Seriously. They are either oblivious to the fact that people who order salads are somewhat calorie conscious, or they have ascertained that salad-orderers secretly want the restaurant to pile fried food onto their order! (I picture the chef saying, “There you go, m’lady! You know you want it!”)

What do you think? Did I eat the fried avocados? I’m not telling.

Back to the venue. Super cute. Nice ambiance, with a neighborhood sports bar feel. If you’re ever in the area, look me up and we’ll go!

F478BE70-61B6-4370-90B2-A8226BB234F0.jpeg

BEC5048B-BA20-405D-BA6B-473DF42D6391.jpeg

Thank you for visiting my market Friday post!


decorative-green-arrow-5293043.png

Photo credits: All of the photos in this post were taken by me with my iphone and belong to me, unless otherwise noted.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Divider image from Pixabay

Sort:  

A Taco & Sports Bar! The place looks busy!

Yes, it is always hopping on pleasant summer nights. Thank you for stopping by, @rebolegi.

I love me some fried pickles! Looks like such a fun spot and generous with the food too!

Yes, they serve WAY too much food. And when you consider that a Bloody Mary is practically a meal in itself, I definitely had more than I could manage. Thanks for stopping by, @old-guy-photos!

You had a lot on your plate. I like the place too. Wanna try tacos since It's been a long when I had one 😅..

They do hit the spot. I hope you find yourself a nice taco place soon, @jane1289!

Fun place to end up at with a friend, never tasted fried pickles nor avo sound very different that is for sure.

Calorie counted busted, shrimp salad sounded good, got more than bargained for all in the days fun!

Nice learning about different lifestyle you enjoy up North.

!LOLZ

Why was it so easy for the scientist to learn how to make glass from lizards?
It was clear from the gecko.

Credit: reddit
@jayna, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(2/6)

Come visit, @joanstewart. You must add fried pickles to your bucket list! And you can't visit more than a couple of restaurants in Minnesota without tripping over some. 😁

Would love to visit, in case I don't, did good old search, wow they sound delicious made in beer batter then air fried, I could really go for those with some beer. Love pickles, who doesn't?

This could become a new addition to our sundowner time 🙂

Loading...