You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday Phoned Home

in Market Friday2 years ago

Wow, what a lovely trip, @dswigle. I have never hike the AT, though I’ve walked parts of the Pacific Crest Trail. This is such a gorgeous time of year to spend time in the woods!

The phone in the woods is a new one. How amazing is that? I once read an article about a pay phone that was installed for people to speak to those they had lost. It was not actually connected. It was placed in Japan in an area where many people had lost loved ones in the big tsunami. Many people found it to be a source of comfort to envision calling their lost loved ones to speak with them one more time. I thought that was so sweet.

Thank you as always for hosting Market Friday! Here’s my link: https://peakd.com/hive-196308/@jayna/market-friday-jack-o-lantern-festival-at-the-minnesota-zoo

Sort:  

The Pacific Crest Trail in a thru-hike is definitely out of my wheelhouse, especially at the beginning of the hike on the Mexican border and in Washington State. As amazing as it would be, I no longer have that need to do everything I think is awesome. :)

Isn't that phone in the woods hilarious? I can imagine that in Japan where the mindset is very different than here, where Shinto ruled for a while and Buddism took over, the teachings of impermanence, where nothing lasts forever, and emptiness (that nothing really has its own substance) became ingrained in Japanese thought. I have to believe it shaped philosophy, art, and literature. They are able to accept this in a way that most Americans cannot.

I think that is truly heart warming.

Thank you so much for being part of the challenge! It is always fun to hear your view on life. :)

Hey! You know #MarketFriday loves you!

Very interesting thoughts about the teachings of impermanence and how that affects culture and thought, @dswigle. I will admit to not having solid knowledge on the topic. But my son has become fascinated with Japanese culture and wants to travel there, so maybe this will be my opportunity to learn!