Floor Center | Tiles and Styles!

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Happy Friday! In this blog, let me take you around to a tile shop. Thanks to #MarketFriday of @dswigle, I am able to share this shopping experience.

Collage_20220924_114104.jpg

As I mentioned before, my aunt is currently building her home, and so she is on the hunt for the best tile deals in town. One of the shops that she was eyeing is called Floor Center. It is not far away from where she lived, so it is an extra convenience. We accompanied her to help in choosing tiles. Maybe she trusts my taste when it comes to designing, lol.

Facade of Floor Tile

SNOW_20220924_112142_217.jpg

The shop is not that big at all but sufficient enough for the reason why we were in the shop. I noticed that it is an open-air building with no air conditioning installed.

In the Philippines, it feels like Summer all the time. So perhaps, installing a few air conditioners might attract more buyers.

I was drenched in sweat and my cheeks were blushy as apples. Good thing that I have a refreshment on hand. The shop is along the Highway so it is easily potted for the consumers.

SNOW_20220924_112246_844.jpg

On the right side, there were tiles displayed. I think these displayed tiles are their best ones. Of course, you will show your best ones to attract buyers, right? Some unboxed tiles were also in front of the facade probably freshly delivered.

Tiles and Tiles

There was so much to see! I cannot decide where to start actually. I can see some good designs, and some are just so-so. I believe they were stacked based on the make, style, and use of the tile.

SNOW_20220924_111544_216.jpg

SNOW_20220924_111715_793.jpg

I find this design sleek and minimalist. I really love a design that is simple and neutral. For example, these tiles have a marble pattern and rough texture. The gray color is almost universal and complements all colors since it belongs to the shade of black. For these tiles, the price is $3.07 a piece.

SNOW_20220924_111610_958.jpg

Another tile that I find fitting in my preferences. The price for this neutral-colored tile is $1.03.

SNOW_20220924_111848_298.jpg

Aside from tiles, Floor Center also sells sinks and toilets. These are just displays and they have to call their warehouse to order new pieces. The visual displays are beneficial for buyers too.

SNOW_20220924_111929_771.jpg

Look how big these pieces of tiles are. I bet these are for mansions or offices. Aside from breakable tiles, they also offer vinyl floorings. Basically, these are planks with a tongue and grove linkage. When I touched it, it feels like it is made of hard plastic. The price per piece is $4.98.

SNOW_20220924_112002_191.jpg

On this side were the smaller tiles about 30x30 cm or 12x12 inches. These are best for residential and outdoor flooring. The abstract rock design is perfect for your patio or walkway. A piece is $1.14.

SNOW_20220924_112030_376.jpg

This design is fitting for farmhouses or costal homes. Rustic design is the opposite of modern and contemporary design. Not really my taste so I will pass for this for now. Colors for rustic design is mostly found in nature such as brown, beige, green, and orange. A piece is $2.64.

SNOW_20220924_112054_020.jpg

More tiles were displayed in the cashier. A small television was playing for promotions. The video just played over and over.

It was getting late and the store is about to close. In the end, we did not get any tiles because we might visit some tile shops to compare other deals. My aunt had a few picks in mind so we might visit again this shop.

What did I learn from the shopping trip?

Our helper Hans was so kind enough to part us some knowledge about tiles. There are few kinds of tiles, but commonly, households in the Philippines use either ceramic or porcelain. You can say right away if the tile is porcelain when the bottom is color dirty white or beige. On the other hand, the ceramic bottom is orange or reddish.

Porcelain is tougher and has a distinct sound. It is advisable to use these in earthquake-prone places. It does that crack easily. On the downside, it is more expensive compared to ceramic. Hence, ceramic is cheaper but not that durable.

I am happy that I accompanied my old aunt on this shopping trip. I learned something new and was able to share my experience.


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jijisaurart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hwo beautiful but expensive they are sis specially kung granite nuhh po, how I wish makapag pa tiles din kmi pero matagal pa Yun hehehe

Ang cute ng kulay ng shop.. Btw, sa abroad knb nkatira?

I'm living in the Philippines. But sometimes how I wish we have a winter season just like in other countries, hehe. 😊

I thought nsa abroad kpa.. Vacation lang ba yung dati mong post? Or maling taong tinutukoy ko 🤣

Yeah, probably yung Singapore trip? Hehehe.

It’s also my first time to learn about tiles. This is a good information to know. I thought you can just buy whatever is available. 😅
Hope your aunt can get the perfect tiles soon!!

Yes, witty-sama. You cannot just buy a tile. There are tiles that are only specific to certain spaces.

I also love the neutral or minimalist style of tiles compared to tiles with patterns or designs. Simple yet elegant tiles will surely emphasize the simplicity of the residence. If I'm going to choose tiles, I will probably choose the plain ones. White, cream, beige, and gray will do.

We are the same, Khai. I am more on neutral colors and design. If I have a house, I would design it in a minimalist way. I do not hoard too many things because I feel like the dust is attracted to them,LOL. But yeah, minimalist all the way!

I don't know if it's an adulting thing but I like exploring shops like this haha
I'm a fan of black, white, and gray but when it comes to flooring, I'd definitely go for wooden designs. Parang muji feels~

It got me excited whenever I visit a hardware store haha! Yeah, wood/zen feels is also my bet. Speaking of Muji, have you seen the Muji tabo? 😆 It is freaking expensive haha! All for the astetik!

Ooh I love this type of construction stores, it always allows you to fantasize about beautiful environments with decorated floors and walls. I wish we could have a loose budget to buy everything we like 😅.

I agree, Lau! Only if I am rich, I can just pick the best tiles. Oh, well probably one day. Let's claim it!😌

I just love going to places like this, it is as if giving me a hint of what I will do in the future as an adult wanting to create a home for himself. One thing that I would advice when buying tiles is to consider the place where you will put it. e.g. you want bathroom tiles, make sure to buy tiles that are not slippery when wet to avoid future accidents. Also, it is good that your Aunt decided not to buy immediately, maybe you can find more affordable tiles in different stores!

when buying tiles is to consider the place where you will put it. e.g. you want bathroom tiles

100%! We do not like accidents to happen. We have to visit a few more stores before buying hehe! Have a pizza, med! Thanks for dropping!

!PIZZA

Takes note about the ceramic and porcelain.. Very very informative blog madam ji.. 😍😍

You are always welcome, my dearest! 🥰

This is something new I learned today. Thanks for sharing! 😊

Ang ganda naman ng shop, dito samin puro alikabok mga shops ng tiles. haha

It is really a pretty shop except that it has no AC, haha! Knowing that Philippines is a big oven, probably they will attract more customers to check their shop if they installed ACs.

Congratulations @jijisaurart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jijisaurart(1/5) tipped @themedwhowrites (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

If you can wait may time na nagsesale yung mga tiles. As in sa lugar namin sabay sabay sila 😅 tas sa grout wag kayo gagamit ng white madumihin hoho

I just finished tile shopping myself! So many colors and styles! Ceramics is not what you want, so I am glad the man told you. The porcelain is definitely stronger and more durable. I took pictures of the tiles and the prices so that I could compare them. They usually didn't mind that I did that.

You did really well getting through the entire thing~ I wish you good luck!
Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! I cannot tell you how pleased I am to see so many participating every week. I have learned so much about the different cultures of the world, especially the small things that go unnoticed except by those looking for them. Life is interesting, wherever you are, whatever you are doing. I hope the week has found you healthy and happy, as we all look to prosper in our way of life.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that is these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!