You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday: The Bid

in Market Friday2 years ago

Structural damage, quite an old homestead with road repairs required sounds like a pretty penny needs to be dropped into this to make it totally acceptable.

Perhaps buy large tract of land in area you desire, build with latest technology to go off grid avoiding later expenses, closer to amenities you mentioned are lacking in this location.

Would be a challenge you may find exceptionally rewarding.

!LUV

Sort:  

It actually was built in 1994, so not very old! The road is compacted of dirt with gravel. I don't like gravel roads if you have snow to plow. However, they got as much snow as I usually do, so the gravel would have been fine. It almost looks like asphalt, but, it wasn't.

I have been looking for a tract of land! For about two years. We are going the way you are it feels like and the more independent of utilities, the more appealing it is. (This house had solar) I am not needing huge amenities, but they need to be a tiny bit closer.

I can find land in the boondocks, far and away from life, but, I will find something in between the two. Too much traffic and people are moving closer and closer with more buildings going on. I remember loving the city and now I just want to run away from it, although I still like visiting it. I guess when I don't have to go there every day, the fun wore off. :)

I agree with you and I am up for the challenge! I am waiting for real estate to fall a little bit more. Thanks for stopping by and as always, the words of wisdom!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!LUV

House is not all that old, road would be an issue along with distance to medical facilities.

One has to weigh up options as to how happy you will be, especially considering you can see the development encroaching where you are now.

Decisions, decisions and loads of gut feel! 😅

We had a summer home up in the upper Peninsula of Michigan almost on the Canadian border. It was far and away from all but the sturdiest of people. :) I loved it and didn't mind the 30+ miles to town. Nothing was an emergency, there was nothing to get in a rush about. Just life and living. (that was short-lived!)

I can do it, for sure, but, there are comforts that I have grown accustomed to. You are right, I need to pick the options that I need and the rest will be fine. Thanks, Joan! @joanstewart

We really have to think carefully about where we settle as we grow older, some creature comforts necessary, people not so much.

Place up near Canadian border sounds like must have been an amazing place to spend some time living there.

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.