You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: St. Kitts and Brimstone Hill Fortress: Market Friday

in Market Friday2 years ago

I've been to Basseterre, St. Kitts before as a stop on a carribean cruise we took but I didn't know that there was a fort there. It looks really cool in your photos and the history sounds interesting. I agree that those types of stairs are really awkward to walk on. I never really thought of the reasoning behind them but what you said about accommodating crowds makes a lot of sense. Interesting.

Sort:  

Of course, I am only guessing on the stairs. I could see everyone crowding together and one granny slipping and falling. The rest would fall like dominoes. This gives more space and keeps the feet level for longer periods of time. Small steps and awkward as heck when you are just a twosome or threesome.

The first time I went there was island hopping and you could see it from the air. I went by ship to it also on one of the popular St. Kitts/St. Thomas/etc. etc... I actually loved cruising when it was a relaxing kind of thing, after living in Europe and doing the Continent there... but, I have to admit, my favorite is 30 days here and 30 days there. I am thinking that is a life for the rich and famous, but, someday. :)

St. Kitts has a pretty cool rainforest also. The country surprised me as I didn't know it was so poor, but, things were improving with money being invested in their people (precovid) We will see how it fared.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

#MarketFriday loves you!