From a village to wateringhole

in Market Fridaylast year

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



From Ili-Likha Artists' Village here in Baguio City, it is now being referred to as Ili-Likha Artists' wateringhole.  The last time I was here, this place was not how it used to be now but definitely much better.

This eccentric place is filled with artistry not just from top to bottom, side to side but every nook and cranny.  It's curious how it looks from the outside.  You might wonder what these odds and ends are.

Be warned:  This is a photoblog for there are so much photos that I am sharing about this place, yet so little captured and posted here.

We headed straight to the basement because that was the section that was not opened before the last time we were here.

You have to watch where you are going.  This is like an anthill of shops and cafes.  Like a watering hole, this is a place where people can gather for food, drinks, art etc.  I'm not sure if there are alcoholic beverages sold here though.  So far, from what I have read I saw no shop serving them.

There are shops selling souvenirs but most of the shops here serve food and drinks.  Some shops also display other merchandises aside from food and drinks.

You will notice that wood, metal, glass, fiberglass, concrete are all put together to construct this wateringhole.  It was constructed so that natural light in addition to artificial light can illuminate the interior.

Ili-Likha Artists' wateringhole stands true to its name.  Even though the place was designed and built in a peculiar manner, the creativity and artistry is undeniable. 

Paintings are hang here and there.  There are also woodcarvings and other sculptures.

You can definitely be part of the canvas literally by sitting in one of those chairs and have your photo/s taken.

I particularly like this ceiling in one portion of the place.  This reminds me of stained glass which I also admire especially those in churches.  These are made from fiberglass if my guess is right.

Other feature about this place are the tile mosaic that one can see were part of the floor, stairs, poles and walls.

There place consists of two buildings.  There is a covered bridge that connects these two which I found out while roaming around taking photos.  The smaller building was the more recent construct.  I found out it housed a small theater where everything is made from wood I think.

It was too dark inside for me to explore it more.  I just quickly took some photos before exiting.  The stage, seats, floor, walls were all made of wood that looks like salvaged somewhere and repurposed to create this.

I then took more photos before joining my friends in one of the shops.

This was our last stop for the day that's why we were looking for something light.  We were not in the mood for something heavy to eat.  I only settled for guyabano (soursoup) smoothie which I forgot to take a photo of.  It was served first and by the time the orders of my friends arrived, I already finished it.

They ordered yoghurt topped with bananas and strawberries and was given a cup of honey to complete the mix.  Each bowl of yoghurt costs PHP105.00 (USD1.84).  I think my smoothie costs PHP70.00  (USD 1.22).  I'm not into yoghurt that's why I didn't order one.

This is also my #MarketFriday entry which is hosted by @dswigle.

My friends didn't like their order that much that's why they didn't finish it.  One of them is a yoghurt lover but unfortunately this did not taste great for her.

Once done, we explored the place a bit more before leaving.

Inside and out, Ili-Likha Artists' Wateringhole is oddly interesting because of abstract construct and design of the place.  One can find lots of angles that is instagrammable.

You can also see the signature of the Cordilleran culture in paintings, sculptures and designs.

Ili-Likha Artists' Wateringhole is located along Assumption Road, Baguio City.  It's conveniently located within the city center that's why it is easy to go to.  Not only will you be feasting on food and drinks here but also feasting your eyes to the beauty of the place.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That place looks like so much fun :) Like an old fashioned treehouse or fort!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Dami tlga artistic places jan sa inyo..

Congratulations @leeart! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: Did you know that we recently launched the truvvl app? With truvvl, you can create travel stories on the go from your phone and swipe through nearby stories from other TravelFeed users. It is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Fascinating place. So many shapes and colors, very artistic feel. Thanks for showing us around :) I´m glad that this post was nominated to my latest upvote giveaway, it´s a pleasure to support it.

Greetings from Prague!

@tipu curate

Hi my friend! Cool shots and place!