Market Friday at Agona.

in Market Friday2 years ago

IMG_20220603_093353.jpg

photos by @mcsamm

Agona is a town in Ghana's Ashanti region. It is one of the few communities in the region that has active farming. It is the primary and most important occupation for everyone in this community. People produce and cultivate crops in vast numbers. Several others are also engaged in agricultural operations to support themselves and their families.

I've recently made multiple trips to this location as part of the continuing hive project in Bedomase, a suburb of the Agona municipality. Agona has a long history as one of the most important settlements in the Ashanti empire. I stumbled discovered this adventure while walking across the township today to monitor the hive project. It was just at the overall community's central station.

IMG_20220603_093526.jpg

IMG_20220603_093538.jpg

IMG_20220603_093559.jpg

 vegetables for sale

As I got closer, I realized that this is merely the gateway to the big Agona market. Women had organized and sold a variety of food products in the doorway I observed. People were also spotted purchasing food from the numerous food products exhibited here. I was unable to join the main market, but what I observed was enjoyable.

Outside the market, I saw nothing but yams organized for sale. In addition, several additional food products were made accessible to everyone for purchase. It is a lovely sight to share with my readers today on #marketfriday, an initiative of @dswigle. Indeed, the yams visible here now are a strong indication that farming is the primary activity of the majority of the people here.

IMG_20220603_093440.jpg

IMG_20220603_093331.jpg

IMG_20220603_093345.jpg

IMG_20220603_093352.jpg

 yams for sale.

Other foods such as tomatoes, peppers, garden eggs, and other veggies are also available at the Agona market's entrance. I really loved my stay here at Agona with the merchants. This is certainly my contribution to today's market experience. Thank you very much.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your market Friday 😁
So many yams. I can hardly find any here… sometimes they have a few but in a bad shape.
Enjoy your weekend,

We are fortunate to grow lots of different fiid crops here. Thanks dear.

Yes, enjoy them (a little for me 😉)
You are welcome, enjoy your day 👋🏻☀️💃🏻

I always see those "yams" in Ghanaian movies but they look different from the yams I know..Our yams here in uganda don't look like that, they're abit smaller in size..Anyone's I'm happy to learn about how things are in other countries.

You know I am enamored with the giant yams, Sam! @mcsamm They are the largest yams I have ever seen, the ones that come from Ghana! I should shock you and post my yams in my #MarketFriday post one day! :)

These are outside of the big market, is that what you are saying, sort of like the sidewalk to the market? Do they have to pay a fee to be inside markets or is there just no room? I also want to know if the prices were good? Of course, I am curious what the average price of the yams? Thanks so much for introducing us to another part of beautiful Ghana!

MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through by their markets, especially local markets and farmers markets and eventually branching out and evolving over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact of what is these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted