Mother Mary Shrine

in Market Friday11 months ago

IMG_20230511_144954.jpg

There is always a place to find if you just want to. Money is indeed required to be in a certain place but sometimes you don't need to spend a penny. Just like this place I visited a few weeks ago. It was built because of religion but everyone is welcome to be here. I don't need to explain about religion because each one of us has different faiths and beliefs. What I'm trying to let you all understand is that you can be in this place despite religious differences.

IMG_20230511_145134.jpg

The Shrine was built on a mountain. It is located where the view of the sea feels reachable. Just by reaching out your hand, the view will make you show it's touchable. It's a good spot for wondering if you are not feeling well. But well, it always depends on the person. Also, when you don't feel like going to crowded places. You know it's #marketfriday today by @dswigle (Denise- hello), one of the generous hivers in hive. She hosted this specific tag and it's pretty obvious the kind of topic you'll state with.

IMG_20230511_145154.jpg

In the city of Maasin where the shrine is located, approximately 15 km from home, located in the next town. Actually, there are a lot of popular shrines and statues but this one is built the highest, and it is popular because of it. Some stories are told that this shrine grows bigger. I'm not saying it is true or not but from what I observed, it definitely is. I don't know why but it looks like it from the time I randomly visited it sometimes.

IMG_20230511_144334.jpg

I'm not good at measurement but I think the stairs you need to climb to reach the shrine are approximately 2 km from the bottom. It is not far but due to its inclination that it feels like your knees can reach your jaw when you walk, it makes you tired for sure. But you will not be bored just by walking because you'll pass flowers beside the stairs.

IMG_20230511_145258.jpg

IMG_20230511_145235.jpg

IMG_20230511_144922.jpg

IMG_20230511_144222.jpg

Oh, I suddenly remember #allaboutflowers by the way. Upon seeing these different colors of bougainvillea with a bunch of flowers in a single plant, I felt amazed. I always love this flower even though it looks simple and very common. I found it very common because, in our small village, almost every house has this flower. Though it was planted in the plant, it never became as big as this. Even so, I never get tired of loving its beauty.

IMG_20230511_145909.jpg

IMG_20230511_145434.jpg

IMG_20230511_145352.jpg

IMG_20230511_144155.jpg

Just the images of this flower for you to understand why I was stunned when I saw this big flower plant of bougainvillea.

IMG_20230511_145220.jpg

Anyway, it's not bad to visit this shrine once in a while. You can witness all the things you need if you want to be yourself alone or maybe with some but not too many companions. Let the wind blow your worries and boredom. Let the quiet place reclaim the "you" that might get tired.

What about you? What's the story of your Friday market today?

Thank you for reading

All content is my own unless otherwise noted
If images are being recycled, I just found it fit in my article.

ABOUT ME

received_2460592767407624.jpeg

Paul is the name but prefers to be called mrnightmare that feels like living in the dream. A country boy and a dreamboy (dreamer) who likes to stay in a small village even though it means abandoning the future to become a seaman. The passion is writing but not sailing in the vast ocean. Don't wonder if the face will not be shown, this is better where the words can flow smoothly. Come, you can tell me your stories and I'll tell you mine. Together, let's explore the world by broadening our thoughts. If you need a shoulder I can lean you mine and I hope I can lean yours. The world is fun when living is not being alone but with someone.

You can find me here:

Medium
discord - mrnightmare89#2161
twitter
instagram

youtube

Sort:  

Been here. Indeed it's tiring o climb the shrine but the view and the tranquility of thw place is worth it.

Hi, Paul! @mrnightmare89 What a vantage point that shrine has! Mother Mary has all the views! The overlooking view is one of peace and tranquility - not to mention the beauty of the Beauganvillia flowers! They are one of my favorites and I love growing them. They grow in many places here in the US and are also very popular.

I can see why you brought us here and I have to agree with you on all your points. BTW, it is #alwaysaflower instead of allaboutflowers. :) The sentiment is appreciated. I want to thank you so much for being a great supporter of #MarketFriday!

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday