Weekend shopping in my local market

in Market Friday2 years ago

Hello hivers, feels so good to be making my first post here in this amazing community. I was very much elated when I found out that such a community like this exists. A big thanks to @dswigle for all the amazing works he's been doing here.

CollageFrame_1647029640771.png

​Fridays are for shopping! yea! that's true. No one would love to run out of foodstuffs or other important groceries during the weekend so going for the shopping of the items we will need either in a local or modern market is really necessary.

I do my shopping activities on Fridays. I normally go to my local market to buy the things I need and this is because I get things cheaper and in a big quantity too.
I made my shopping list with my notebook app on my phone so as to keep track of all the things I needed to buy and the budget as well
Screenshot_20220311-211430_1.png

So today, I bought some food items that I could use to make my local soup and stew for rice. I love cooking a pot of soup and stew that can serve me the whole week during the weekend. Still single though!☺️ So any meal I make for the weekend is all eaten by me except when I have some friends around.

I went to my local market today, a bit far from where I live. So I had to go with a motorcycle cus it was very sunny. The market has a few lock up shops and more roadside sellers inside the area.

IMG_20220311_131527_574.jpg

The road leading to the inside area of the market has been under reconstruction for a few months now. All thanks to the government for embarking on such project because the road to the market was very very bad before especially during rainy seasons.

IMG_20220311_122701_178.jpg
The first food items I bought was dry fish and stockfish. I buy my fish from a particular woman each I visit my local market and that is because of how clean and organized her shop is. She also sells at a cheaper rate than others I guess. As a Nigerian, you can relate with me that any soup made without dry fish or stockfish is learning work😄 So it must not be left out while shopping soup items.

IMG_20220311_123030_387.jpg

The next items I bought was Egusi or grounded melon, Achi( soup thickner) and Ukazi leaf. And these are the necessary ingredients needed for making my local soup called "UKAZI SOUP" It's a kind of soup that is common in the Eastern part of Nigeria precisely, in Ngwa.

IMG_20220311_124510_153.jpg

I also bought onions in big quantity from the abokinas and that is because they sell well both in price and in quantity. I love enough onions in my meals so each time I get the opportunity to buy at a cheap price, I buy it in big quantity.


IMG_20220311_124327_652.jpg

Another food item that I don't miss out in buying for my soup is Kpomo meat or cow skin meat. Each time I use it to make my soup, I cut it into small small pieces and it really does make sense😋
IMG_20220311_125338_172.jpg

IMG_20220311_125348_429.jpg

Then I bought the Eba/garri that will serve as swallow for my Ukazi soup. I bought one paint of it and this can serve for three weeks. I also buy from this particular shop cus theirs is properly handmade and at the same time cheap.

IMG_20220311_124211_752.jpg

IMG_20220311_124121_755.jpg

I stopped by to get some fresh tomatoes and pepper that I could use to make stew for white rice. This particular seller sells fresh ones so I buy from her most of the times. Fresh tomatoes is really getting costly by the way probably because we are in the dry seasons. A bowl of it is sold for N200 you can imagine how little and costly.

IMG_20220311_130036_730.jpg

Buying fresh fish was the next thing. The type I usually use just suddenly became too expensive "Mackerel fish" so for few months now I've been using a different kind of fish "Shawa fish" because it's cheaper.

IMG_20220311_124824_598.jpg

I also stopped by at a grocery shop and bought some Milk and sugar for my early morning tea. I love sweet things!

So while going home, the reconstruction that was ongoing at the road out everyone on a hold up.

IMG_20220311_131505_469.jpg

We had to wait for the tractor to do it's work and while I was waiting, I spotted these sweet oranges from an abokina.
IMG_20220311_131458_996.jpg

I bought them and by the time I was done, the road was free for everyone again. I got into a motorcycle and headed home.

Friends, that was how my market experience was. And I'm glad to be sharing it here in #marketfriday by @dswigle. I hope you enjoy reading through❤️

20220308_191316.png

Sort:  

What a wonderful market you brought us to. I like the list that you use. I do that same thing and this way, we always have it on us. Who leaves home without their phone anymore? You did very thorough shopping and if I was the only one at home, I would do the same as you. One or two pots of food and alternate them daily. :) It is cheaper and more efficient.

I find that if you go to the same seller, you develop a relationship and you are able to get better buys or better produce. It pays to be loyal. I am glad to see the road is fixed. Over there, when it rains, it is a huge flooded road! The downpour is so torrential. I think you did well and it was fun tagging along with you! This was a great post! Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! I cannot tell you how pleased I am to see so many participating every week. I have learned so much about the different cultures of the world, especially the small things that go unnoticed except by those looking for it. Life is interesting, wherever you are, whatever you are doing.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers markets and eventually branching out and evolving over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact of what is these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative!
Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.

As always, please remember!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Yea! Shopping from the same seller each time you visit the market shows customer loyalty. The way sellers present their selves really matters a great deal.
Thank you reading through Ma'am and thanks for the update too!

Please don't forget to drop your #MarketFriday link on my post. Thank you.

Done ma!

Congratulations @niglys! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome to this amazing community. Enjoy your stay here!

Thank you!