Tropical fruits at El Valle market

in Market Fridaylast year

Hello to everyone in the Marker Friday community! This is my first post and I want to show you what I observed on my tour of a small market that is located in the parish of El Valle, in the city of Caracas.

This is a very popular parish where my mom and my sisters live and that I visit frequently. For this I travel from the city of Maracay, where I live, which is two hours away.

20221022_095858.jpg

That day I went shopping with my two sisters, and we wanted to buy some vegetables and fruits to prepare a meal. This market, which is located in an area in the shopping mall El Valley, has become a favorite place to shop because the vegetables are very fresh and fruits are economically priced plus there is a great variety. And this is what I want to tell you about because I found some tropical fruits that are not very common in the markets and that people in the city consume very little.

20221022_095822.jpg

In the fruit aisle was in first place the kidney or anon, a tree of the guanabana family. It is very tasty, but I noticed that some people did not know it and asked what it was called.

20221022_095816.jpg

Next to the kidneys were some fruits that in Venezuela we call Chinese tamarind, they are a bit acidic and aromatic and are usually eaten in juice.

20221022_095922.jpg

At another counter there were oranges, tangerines, maracuyas and peachs and a purple and green fruit that at first glance I could not identify, but a little girl who was with her mother told me that they were zapotes and that in her house there was a tree and she like them a lot...... it is a sweet fruit.

20221022_095843.jpg

In this market they also sell ready-made packages with different fruits: apples, kiwi and pear, and also pineapple cut in slices for people's ease, since they don't have to peel them. These packages are very inexpensive and that day they were 15 bolivars each, which at the exchange rate corresponds to approximately one and a half dollars.

20221022_100051.jpg

I really enjoyed this food shopping outing, and we walked back home because the place is very close to our house.

Diseño sin título (11).jpg

Thank you very much for reading. Have a happy and blessed day

Decidimos nuestra propia libertad.jpg

The pictures were taken with a Samsung S6 edge phone.

Sort:  

Hola :) Me encantan todas las frutas que publicastes, tenia tiempo que no veia zapote, asi le llaman ustedes?

untitled.gif

Hola @malomi. Que gusto en saludarte. Por aca la llaman asi, aunque creo que también en algunos lugares le dicen mamey.
Un abrazo 😊⚘

I am very interested with those fruits.. i see very familiar ones which are also available in our country like mangoes, the star fruit which we call balimbing and there's atis or the sweetsop fruit..

Hello @junebride. Mango is also a very popular fruit in Venezuela and although the tree is not native to Venezuela, it has adapted very well and is found everywhere. I like it very much.
Thank you for you comment 😊

Loading...

Also: Please drop your post link on my #MarketFriday post, in the comment section.

Ready, I've placed it 😊