Market Friday - A Secondhand Book Store By The Beach

in Market Friday3 years ago

Bookstore_01.jpg


I don't know about you, but one of my favourite holiday activities is to curl up with a good book. Even better if that good book was found while fossicking through a book store at my holiday destination.

There is a secondhand bookstore in Caloundra that I've always been curious to visit, but have never really had the change to go in and have a good look. This holiday was different. I dragged the reluctant kid up the hill to the shop and had a good rummage through the shelves.


Bookstore_02.jpg


There was a fantastic range of books to choose from, all neatly organised to make browsing easy. I spent some time in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section.


Bookstore_03.jpg


It has that great secondhand bookstore feel, with narrow aisles and overstacked shelves.


Bookstore_04.jpg


A comfy ottoman beckons you to sit and peruse some pages.


Bookstore_06.jpg


So much to choose from!


Bookstore_07.jpg


I ended up with two books - only two because that is all that would fit in my suitcase, and even that was a bit dicey as one of the books is quite large.

The large book is Sibella Court's Nomad.

Bookstore_08_Nomad.jpg

I've borrowed this book from the library a number of times and just love the imagery. Each page is a treat for the eyes. To stumble across a copy in the bookstore was wonderful and despite having to work out how to fit it in my suitcase, I was determined to get it.

The second book was Stephanie Dowrick's Forgiveness & Other Acts of Love.

Bookstore_09_Dowrick.jpg

I love her book Creative Journal Writing and like the way she writes, so was interested to see what this one was about. I haven't started it just yet, but it's on the TBR pile.

There were so many other books I could have easily come away with, but maybe next time. I'll remember to bring a larger suitcase next holiday!

( Market Friday is hosted by @dswigle - you can find out more about it and read other's posts here).

Until next time,
@Sammie


teamaustraliahivebadgeslimbirdpeakd.comsammie.png

Original content created by @Sammie.

Sort:  

Sounds like the second hand book store was greatly entertaining, finding two books to take home always a treat.

One never loses the enjoyment of sitting with a book to read @sammie