Market Friday

in Market Friday3 years ago (edited)

Market Friday

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and daily challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post,I continue of the same theme as my last couple of Market Friday Posts in the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, with a few of my favorite pieces on display.
But first lets start with a shot of the property from the gardens


Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum,.jpg

Sony A7iii 19mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


A little bit about the property
The William Rotch Jr. House, now the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, is a National Historic Landmark at 396 County Street in New Bedford, Massachusetts, in the United States. The three families whose names are attached to it were all closely tied to the city's nineteenth-century dominance of the whaling industry. Because of this, the house is part of the New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park.
Richard Upjohn built the house in the Greek Revival architectural style for William Rotch Jr. in 1834, on a New Bedford plot Rotch had inherited from his father. It was Upjohn's first house, near the beginning of a long career. Rotch also commissioned a garden in the rear, which later owners would significantly expand. The property remained private until 1981, when it was bought by local preservationists and reopened as a historic house museum. It was declared a National Historic Landmark and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Today the museum educates visitors not only about whaling but, through its gardens and associated programs for local schools, about the environment as well.

They gave a printout which described what was in each room, and they also had descriptions by many of the pieces

Now these are the favorite pieces I saw while in the museum, and are just in the order I came across them,

Starting with these cool pieces on a cards table, for keeping track of the score


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger



Being a Telecom Tech back in the day I do love seeing old Phones and such, by the way when I started as a tech phones were more advances than this one, so I am not that old lOL


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-2.jpg




Being in the army for 12 years I became pretty good at ironing, but again fortunately the irons I used were more modern than this one


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-3.jpg



This is some sort of Drink container i gather, but for me it was a cool find


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-4.jpg



So much so I got shots of it from a couple of angles


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-5.jpg




An old Sewing Machine I have seen Singer sewing machines of this era, the name Bradbury was new to me


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-6.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-7.jpg




A very early elevator, Having been in two incidents with faulty elevators, including dropping two and a half floors once, I am kind of glad this ne was not running.
PS I still ride elevators even after the two incidents but always stand in the corner holding the rail and with my knees bent lOL

Lulu smiles every time she sees me do that, I think partly because it looks kind of funny and partly because if the incidents had happened to her she would probably not ride an elevator


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-8.jpg




A Medicine case complete with Whiskey and Brandy


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-9.jpg



And the last Piece a Globe


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-10.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favs-11.jpg




Oops I missed a couple adding them now


Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favorites.jpg




Rotch Jones Duff Housesome favorites-2.jpg



And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

We haven't started Team USA on Hive yet but no doubt it will come shortly

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 61 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.

Nowadays any real human comment is a ray of sunshine, and not just/only on my posts, but on most of the people's posts. I see that there are a lot of people with posts without real human comments. Most of the comments are from bots.

There are so many treasures in this house and one is cooler than the other.
I often wonder how people, especially women, could live back then without a phone which they could take everywhere 🤣


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (11/20)

👍🙂👍!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow.
The is quite a large house,
full of treasures of the past.
Do you think that era is much more
than this one, @tattoodjay?

Ohh yeah it’s impressive perhaps back then was simply times but I guess there pros and cons to both eras
Seeing all the craziness on social media these days conspiracy theories anti conspiracy theories etc etc I am not sure today’s technology makes things better or worse

I am not sure if I would ride the elevator, especially if it dropped two and a half floors! However, walking up the high rise in NYC would cure me quickly! Oh, the sign of a good medicine chest, and many would say the best part! :))

I really like this house/museum and I like the way they have everything explained so you know what you are looking at. The sewing machine is a British model, that is the one that was popular over there, or at least the first of them, but the company is no more. All traces of its existence were taken away. I almost bought an old one, but, when I found out it would be almost impossible to find pieces, I went for the old Singer.

Excelsior was a huge bottling company in NYC that did water and I think seltzer water. I bet it held water at one time. They have some really cool-looking bottles on eBay frequently. Nice to look at, but, I don't need any more trinkets.

As always you give me such a wonderful post to wander through. I never tell you have humbled I am for your words about me in your post. Every time I read them, my heart grows larger. Thank you so much. That is truly sweet. I appreciate all the work you put into making #MarketFriday a success! It is heartwarming to have the love and support given to a tag you are trying to grow into something. You have made it fun to visit your post and each different person adds a unique touch to their posts. Your little piece of this world, and, people are interested in expanding their culture. This challenge opens up my world, and, I hope yours too. to me and so many others. Thank you again. I hope you have a most wonderful day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and to restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.

Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! You must use #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post and then drop the link to your post on my #MarketFriday post, so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted

Your depth of knowledge is amazing thanks for all that info so interesting

People that worked with me never understood how I kept riding the elevator
One colleague who was with me for one of the drops insisted to be moved to another building as he vowed never to go in that one again

Thank YOU for always providing interesting subjects!!

👍🙂👍
If one engages he gets !ENGAGE 25 from me

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1235.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @tattoodjay, it is fabulous to be able to walk around in these lovely old worldly places that are so far away from Australia. i really enjoyed the walk and am always in awe at the way people lived from long ago. We have it so easy these days with all our mod cons, but I bet they will not look as good as the odds and ends in the old home of long ago. 🌈

Very interesting. I love that old sewing machine!!! 🙂

Isn’t it so cool