Matilda builds her stash in Dundee 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Scotland for Market Friday

Hello Hello Hivians

This being a Friday I thought it was an appropriate day to post about the time we were in Dundee and took Matilda shopping.

Some of you may know that Matilda is 82 years young and does love increasing her stash whenever she has the chance!

woolcraft.jpg

This being a Market Friday post, we are going shopping, and not just any old shopping, oh no, we are going to go shopping for something magical.

The day was Friday February 17th 2023, yes the Friday after Valentine's Day.

After much confusion the exact location of the shop that had the magical being was found.


IMG_20230217_130711_599.jpg

Yes the place in question was WOOLCRAFT.

Mrs T and Matilda love going to independent wool shops and had been looking forward to seeing this one.

It used to Betty's wool shop of Dundee, and they bought another shop in the posh village of Broughty Ferry and the two shops are called Woolcraft, so this is the shop on Reform Street in Dundee.

IMG_20230217_130812_407.jpg

Of course the shop was wee and really was an Aladins Treasure Trove.

IMG_20230217_131834_622.jpg

Everywhere you turned there was wool wool and more wool.

image.png

image.png

And the colours!

image.png

There was a wonderful variety of skeins. hanks and balls, truly something for everyone, I am sure @shanibeer would have been licking her lips!

Skein there is your word of the day @deraaa!


image.png

That chunky wool was ... well ... seriously fluffy CHUNKY

image.png

Then I saw what I presumed was what we were here for .... The Magical thing

image.png

"Oi Matilda, are these your Magical things?" says I.

image.png

"Naw ya eejit" shrieks Matilda

"Those are fluffing hedgehogs!"

If it had been Wednesday, then I would have said I took the hump!

image.png

Are those ... threads ...

image.png

What with the new UI interface threads, I thought it might have been that!

But nope, not them...

Then all of a sudden,a double yes comes hurriedly to my ears!

IMG_20230217_131209_528.jpg

This was the magical thing?

Apparantly yes.

So Woolcraft are a UK stockist for [King Cole] yarns and this particular wool or yarn is Fjord DK made from super soft 100% antipilling acrylic.

The DK stands for Double Knit (there is a wee knitting lesson for you)!

Yes I was baffled too....

However as per Matilda!

Can you not read " fair isle effect self patterning yarn that to quote from their site

Even a novice knitter can create a stunning fair isle effect garment or home accessory.

The ever so helpful shop assistant held up knitting and said oh the magic wool! Look this is what I am using, and she held up her knitting to show a half finished garment and pointed to the window.


image.png

However for me the real magic ,,, do you know what it was?

image.png

Look at the price tags ... The one on the left is £4.99 whilst the one on the right is $3.99!

The same lot number, it turns out the £3.99 was old stock and should have been repriced to £4.99!

I was not complaining and we bought some...

I actually bought a whopping 400 g giant ball of something chunky.

Well there you friends, a fun little trip for Matilda to build up her stash of wool.

The biggest laugh, we had to order more of that magic wool, as we had not bought enough!

This is my contribution to #marketfriday from our Market Queen Denise @dswigle

Thanks for visiting and enjoy the rest of your day and your weekend 🧶🧶🧶

image.png


SB_theMenu_Banner.png

image.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo and pictures taken with my Smartphone.
@tengolotodo March 17th 2023

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

image.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tengolotodo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow fluffy wools are very good in making hair, I can't have access to those beautiful colors of wool over here I love making my hair with wool presently I made my hair with a will known as yeye wool and is fluffy too
Nice Friday market.

Oh yeye, now I am googling that! Yeah they are beautiful wools.

Yes yeye wool it has so many colors and there are very beautiful, it can still be used for some creative arts like making hand bags and shoes.

hahaha what a colorful and fluffy post :)

Hehe brightens up the day, thank you :)

!ALIVE

@nanixxx! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

You guys are so quaint over there, like friendly little Hobbits (without the big feet. Except meesterboom, whom I'm sure has big ol' fluffy footers! Clad in fancy, flouncy footware full of frogs!). Somebody get me a British slang dictionary quick! :)

Do frogs flounce I wonder 🤣

!ALIVE

@evernoticethat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

They've been known to flit a time or two... lol Thanks. :)

Those are nice collections though.. You can help her knit those wools. Haha

Oh I bought some for me too hehe

!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@jane1289! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @tengolotodo. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tengolotodo(1/10) tipped @jane1289 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Its great to see a proper independent shop like this these days ! Very woolsome !
!ALIVE

@tengolotodo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yeah I am a huge fan of local so to speak!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@tengolotodo.leo/re-leothreads-fqzsvdwo
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( tengolotodo.leo ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Haha... Matilda and her fun time. This was fun to read and thank goodness it wasn't Wednesday... 😂😂

hehe Matilda will be out and about tomorrow too!

That's nice. My alarm is on for it.

Magic wool

Seems comfy🙂

These are lots of wool! I fluffing love the baby colors they are carry. i can even feel the softness of those wools! There was a time in school where I do knit caps and bags and stockings but today I can't remember how I even do those magical knitting. Maybe someday, I would be able todo it again but this time with purpose.