Friday Night, Karaoke Night At Shibuya

in Market Friday2 years ago (edited)

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle so how about you join me as I tour around Shibuya and celebrate TGIF together? To learn more about #MarketFriday, you can check out her latest post.


It's Friday night! My friends and I have decided to meet at Shibuya after work to have karaoke. I actually miss karaoke so I invited them to join me. It's also a great preparation for the concert that we will be attending the following weekend. I'll post about the concert experience soon.

I arrived in Shibuya early so while I was waiting for my friend, Apple, I was looking for the nearest bank where I could withdraw money. In Japan, you could withdraw in the convenience store for a fee but I don't want to pay the fee. Besides I still have time so here I was, in the middle of the crowded place, looking for the bank. LOL As I was roaming around, I can't help but admire the cityscape and the busy streets of Shibuya.

After withdrawing my millions (which I don't have by the way), I waited for her in the popular waiting spot in Shibuya. Can you guess where?

Of course, the spot is where the famous Hachiko Statue is located.

I actually don't know why this place is full of people, I mean don't they meet elsewhere? But well, I see some big steel pipes or whatever is called that people can sit uncomfortably there so yeah maybe that's also the reason why this part of Shibuya gets crowded, aside from it being the place after you exit from the train station.

My friend Apple came and we hurriedly went to eat in the food hall area of Miyashita Park. I was planning to have Panda Express' orange chicken for dinner and I wasn't expecting my friend to order the same. It wasn't an exceptional dinner, actually, it was very awkward. There are transparent divisions on the tables and it was so awkward because you get to see a stranger eat in front of you courtesy of the transparent division. They should have changed the orientation of the divisions or gotten a non-transparent one.

Let's order at Panda Express

Orange Chicken FTW! With Oolong tea of course, drink can be refilled weee!

Our karaoke reservation was 8 PM so we were in a hurry to eat and met up with another friend. The karaoke place is like a hidden gem in the crowded area of Shibuya. You won't know it's a karaoke place until someone introduced it to you or you accidentally stumbled upon it.

Rainbow Karaoke is on the 8F of this building

Rainbow Karaoke has 2 branches in Tokyo, one in Shibuya and one in Asakusa. Prices differ between these 2 locations, also the store hours and what they offer.

The hallways are full of signs and nice designs. It looks so modern compared to other karaoke shops I've been so it's really refreshing.

It's actually my 2nd time to be here in Rainbow Karaoke Shibuya, the first one was the night before New Year's eve. I like it here ever since because it's not so expensive compared to other karaoke shops in Tokyo.

Our room from Dec 30Waiting for our another friend

It's interesting that they came up with different designs for the room. It's spacious too compared to other karaoke shops so you could really enjoy the place with friends like dancing or having a party.

Room with fake plantsOur room this time

Big room with instruments - perfect for big groups!

We paid for the free time option which means we could sing from the start of our time there til 5 AM in the morning. Although we're only 3 people, we have a lot to sing so we stayed there overnight and went home on the first train schedule.

It's a karaoke room so of course there are microphones, a good sound system, a big monitor and the tablet to reserve for songs. Besides that, our free time option includes unlimited drinks in the drink bar and ice cream!

SoftdrinksTea
Ice cream with 2 flavorsCoffee

Even when this is in Japan, you can reserve for foreign songs so it's really fine to sing your favorite foreign songs including Chinese, Filipino and of course English!

If you forgot the lyrics of the song, you can check it! It's really convenient.

It was cool because some of the songs will show the actual music video.

We were partying and dancing and so full of energy. But then, I got interrupted because we have a staff meeting in @hiveph. LOL I was not turning my mic on though, so they didn't know where I was but I told them I was outside. 😅 So yeah, guys, I was in a middle of the karaoke party. It was a very long meeting and for 1.5 hours, I was not able to sing! LOL To be honest, I completely forgot about the staff meeting.

Usually we have Friday night games in HivePH discord but I was not the host that night so I thought I was free to go out. (Special thanks to @jude.villarta for hosting the game that night!)

Our Free Time option didn't have alcoholic drinks so we added the unlimited alcohol. It's not the premium which has a lot of options though.

Unlimited alcohol menu. We got the standard, not the premium.

Cheers!

Shirley Temple, my cocktail after a lot of alcohol

In the middle of the night, there were police officers outside one of the rooms. We didn't know what was going on but for sure, there's trouble there.

Aside from food, they have mouth watering desserts and some alcoholic drinks that are not included in the unlimited alcoholic drinks addon.

Singing til 5 AM would drain our energy but we're still not tired even after we left. 😂 In fact, we were starving a little bit. We didn't bother to order food in the karaoke place.

We paid around 15k yen (around 107 USD) for us three. It was worth it of course! We got to enjoy our time in Rainbow Karaoke. It's definitely something to go to with friends if you want to have parties or just simply want to sing!

No more cry, just come back next time to sing

Early morning in Shibuya was still buzzling with people who didn't go home the night before, like us. It's time to sleep, party people!

Early morning in Shibuya crossing

Good morning Shibuya!

See you next karaoke session!


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  
Loading...

Oh Sounds like witty had a Great Friday. NGL, getting the Good vibes from the place and yea sounds like "Introvert" when you said why so many people.. haha!

Well, it cost a fee here to withdraw from store and Good you searched for bank ~ why pay fee in this expensive era! Good move.

Wen next karaoke session witty... I'll wait for it! Have fun and wonderful weekend ahead.

!LUV !PIZZA

It was really a fun night @idksamad78699! We should have done karaoke 😂
I'm actually a low-key introvert. 😂 I'm only talkative virtually. hahaha
Some convenience stores offer 0 fees for certain banks but you need to know if your bank is included. I didn't bother to know though.

Next karaoke session should be soon! Can't wait to sing and party!

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
wittyzell tipped idksamad78699 (x1)
@wittyzell(2/15) tipped @th4488 (x1)
idksamad78699 tipped wittyzell (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Your friend apple must be sweet...haha
Lol I thought you spent millions for Friday expenditure.

It must be a memorable Friday for you.
Thanks for sharing Friday experience witty.
!LUV
!pizza

My friend Apple was really a sweet fellow and adventurous too! 😂
Spending millions on one night would be a luxury for me. I'm not rich. 😂
Thanks for dropping by @th4488! It was really a fun Friday!
!PIZZA

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @wittyzell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 4000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022

Wow until five am? Don't you think that it is a bit much 🤣 Anyway if you had fun it is worth! Everything you paid and done. These photos are great btw. You can be a great street photographer.

It's not too much 😆 I want to sing more actually 😂 I gotta pay my money's worth. Okay maybe it is too much but everyone is doing the same, so we're not different from them

I really like to capture streets and people in it. I think it has become my hobby. I don’t think I can be a great street photographer though, just a notmal one 😅 My phone’s the one doing its job

What a cool day out and meeting the friend for karaoke is just the best thing. I only have seen those establishments from documentaries. So great to see in your post. 😎
The captures of the surroundings before are beautiful. It shows the area very well.
Thanks for sharing with us @wittyzell 😊👋🏻
Have a great weekend!

I thought you learned about it from watching anime 😂 But yes, documentaries eh. Haven’t watched something like that featuring this kind but I know there is.

Thanks! I really like to capture the surroundings always.

Hahaha yep, that could have been, as anime will feature it too.
You are welcome, it’s great to see.
Have a wonderful day further 👋🏻😊

UwU, parang tag 2k mahigit lang kayo no. UwU, sulit na sulit. I also want to experience singing in a karaoke in a sound proof place with friends pero pwd ding alone. Sa anime ko lang nakikia to, huehue. Why you didnt invite us too. Sana nag open mic ka tas pinarinig nyo samin pagwawala nyo ಥಥ ang saya non for sureeee ಥಥ.

Hahahaha! Di pwede, secret lang kasi un. That's the best thing about private room karaoke. It stays there only on those 4 walls. Pag labas, balik to normal self - ung mahinhin self 😂 Same lang din nung sa anime hahaha

Hahahaha sayang, kahit mag wala ka jan oks na oks lang no, or humagulhol ng pagkalakas lakas haha.

Yesss! Pwedeng pwede 😂

Hoping all withdrawing s million hehe.

Hmmm, I am not fond of karaoke here for the sound could entirely be heard by people but yeah I was someone else when the event was in the private and no only those people on the room could hear the golden buzzer voice of mine haha. Yiee I loved that, staying until morning, well I am wasted for sure before I sang in the microphone haha.

When you’re in a private place, you really can’t help but be wild free so yeah, even without the help of alcohol, for sure you will let out your singing voice! 😂

These pictures are mesmerizing. The cityscape of Shibuya looks amazing. There's just so many details for your eyes to pinpoint and find. Looks like you guys had a lot of fun! It's always nice to celebrate TGIF :) Gatherings with good friends can be nourishing to the soul!

The pandemic has affected our social interaction so it's really nice to do this with friends. It was a fun TGIF indeed!
Shibuya has so many things going on. When I went home in sunrise, there was a guy sleeping on the street 😂

Yeah the pandemic was a difficult time. While we had technology and could safely interact with social-distancing at open-air places like parks and such, the overall atmosphere of anxiety and worry felt like a huge weight carried by all -- coupled with all the crazy economic stuff that was going on and is still continuing. Sounds like that guy on the street had a wicked good night haha hope he got home safe!

Agreee! It was too much to handle but luckily it seems like that phase is almost over..? Or at least it’s a transition to a new era. We could meet up with people already.
The guy, I sure hope so!

Sounds like you found the perfect place to have some fun and a good crew to enjoy it with you! 😊

Yes indeed you are right @thekittygirl! These people are so fun to be with 😄

Ang ganda ng Japan! One day makikita ko rin si Hachi in person. $107 is okay na for 3 peeps. Ahh~ a fun day indeed!

Ganito sana tayo if andito kayo.... charot

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That place is astonishing! parang kahit mag lasing ka safe kapadin na makakauwi eh.

That's what I like about Japan 😂
When I went home actually there's a guy lying down, sleeping on the street near Hachiko statue 😂 It was already sunrise so kitang kta lang naman sya ng lahat na dumaan dun 😅

Haha ang epic non sheesh! kakaiba talaga sa Japan, sana makavisit dyan soon. Anyways, keep safe lagi dyan

Thank you! Sana nga one day makabisita ka

The interior looks really nice, and I super like the No Rain No Rainbow on the wall.
And woooh, Karaoke night until 5 AM? You sure had a blast. But that kind of activity is too much for me, although I can survive if I'll stay as an audience impact. hehehe

Hahahaha! I am pretty sure you will let out your inner self 😂
Different person when you're holding the mic and when you are out of the room. Some people are like that. 😅

You really had so much fun which is amazing.

I can relate to being an introvert in real life but a complete extrovert online hahaha

Hahahaha! IKR!

waaaah shibuya! been there pero di namin natry ung mga cafes..at ung karaoke... lakad lakad lang kami jan hehe

It’s also good naman to just walk around in Shibuya. I do that too whenever I feel like going to see people and the crowd.

yeah pero mahal sa japan noh? hehe are you based there?

yeah, i live here naman so it's fine. medjo mahal nga sya but if you don't convert it, oks lang naman. it's not so expensive if you think of it in a different way.

ahh i see... maybe di ko maiwasan iconvert haha.. i hope you are fine there may bagyo daw kasi

At first I keep on converting too but when I realized I shouldn't because I'm earning here and living here so there's no point in converting. Unless I'm a tourist, I should not worry about it.

I'm fine naman here. Work from home naman.

kanindot d ay kay work from home.. near ra ka sa shibuya?