Fruits and Veggies Shopping with Social Distancing

in Market Friday4 years ago

P_20200821_102947_HDR.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I would like to share my shopping experience and some of the things my family and I got from AEON Big recently. This is my entry to one of the most interesting weekly tag, initiated by @dswigle which is the #marketfriday tag.

P_20200821_102713_HDR.jpg

We just wanted to get some vegetables and fruits because the following day was Ganesh Chathurti which is an auspicious festival for Hindus. We wanted to celebrate it with some offerings to Lord Ganesha. From the left, the first vegetable here is the drumstick vegetable which we usually add in lentil curries, then there is bottle gourd and I think the last one is a round gourd.

P_20200821_102722_HDR 3.jpg

These are more greens like long beans and different types of cucumber such as the regular cucumber and the Japanese cucumber as well.

P_20200821_102756_HDR.jpg

Over here, this is the frozen section. There are some cherry tomatoes and regular tomatoes. There were also some lettuce. Then, my favourite bell peppers in yellow and red. We got the lettuce because my pet fish loves to eat it.

P_20200821_102810_HDR.jpg

These are pumpkins which taste great if they are cooked with some spices and chilli powder. We make it every time there is a festival.

P_20200821_102859_HDR.jpg

Now, we are moving on to the fruits section.

P_20200821_102850_HDR.jpg

Here are some dragon fruits! I love this fruit especially the ones with pink flesh because they taste sweet. Though I admit that these don't look as fresh as the ones I get from the local farmers.

P_20200821_102925_HDR.jpg

These are some pineapples and my father got one.

P_20200821_102947_HDR.jpg

I will be honest. I took this picture because I thought that it will make a colourful thumbnail :D

P_20200821_102959_HDR.jpg

Here are some red apples. There were also some packages with combination apples where red and green apples were packed together.

P_20200821_103013_HDR.jpg

These are some green apples and oranges.

P_20200821_103027_HDR.jpg

These are some oranges and lemons. As you can see, the price of lemon is RM 1.25 per piece so obviously we did not get them because I have seen the price go down to even RM 0.90 each. Such discounts happen every now and then.

P_20200821_103240_HDR.jpg

These are some dried chillies and garlic. That is my mom's hand selecting some dried chillies.

P_20200821_103255_HDR.jpg

She wanted me to take a picture of her selecting some groceries with mask on so I took more pictures.

P_20200821_103248_HDR.jpg

There were more garlic this time compared to others. At the edge are some yellow onions which I think I have only used about twice in my entire life!

P_20200821_103407_HDR.jpg

Here are some tauhu and taugeh, and that is my mom queued up to weigh the chillies. I have already weighed all the other items earlier as the chilli was never in the plan.

P_20200821_103349_HDR.jpg

This is how the management has taped lines to make social distancing easier. Customers were required to stand at the red lines. The same applies at the entrance where they check the temperature of each customer before entering.

P_20200821_103610_HDR.jpg

This is another picture of my mom still in the queue, waiting for her turn.

P_20200821_103903_HDR.jpg

By the way, this is the spices section that I found. It was not bad for a supermarket. Most of the regularly used spices were available.

P_20200821_103911_HDR.jpg

These are some snacks in general terms. They comprise of nuts, beans, crisps and dried fruits.

P_20200821_103918_HDR.jpg

This is the poultry section. Back then when the Covid 19 cases were high, only one person per family was allowed into this section. I am glad it is no longer the same as the number of cases have decreased. That is my parents selecting chicken to be cooked on another day.

P_20200821_110053_HDR.jpg

So we were done with our shopping and these are the items. We usually use cloth bags for everything except for the chicken to avoid the cloth bags from stinking later on.

dc265261bfab1d5cae9c0fd167f8bba317e1d20bf2337aada98485662f38bea9.0.png

I hope that everyone stay safe and maintain a safe distance from the people around you if you need go out. Thank you for dropping by.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

thank you!!

You're welcome @yashny👍🙂

beautiful market review

What beautiful colours of fruit and vegetables! Thanks for sharing!

I'm glad you like them too :) Thank you for dropping by.

That was awesome! I use cloth bags too except for meat. I have them wrap the poultry of meat in plastic in case it leaks. The store looks like they are really adhering to the COVID rules, which, in my opinion, is good. It cannot hurt anyone and goes a long way in protecting those that are vulnerable.

The vegetables looked pretty nice, although I always think my farmers market looks just a little bit fresher than the grocery store. I love long beans! I never see them sold here, but, I have not looked in the Asian store for them, They have a fine selection of everything there. I hope you got everything you needed for your celebration and that it was a wonderful weekend.

Your mom was so sweet with her mask on and you taking a picture. Keep it, you will look back on this time and wonder how we did it. I want to thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! It really surprised me, but, also delights me to know how much effort people put into it. It shows off how much we are alike and how different life can be. In the end, it makes it an experience that I look forward to. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! It Is heartwarming to see how many posts into the challenge, including you. Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a unique flavor to the mix. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! It was lovely! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Thank you so much for such a sweet and wonderful comment. I apologize for such a late reply. That is a great idea regarding meat. I learned it the hard way after some leaking and washing of the cloth bag, now I always use a plastic bag for it.

I agree that the farmers market is better. As you mentioned it is fresher too and definitely preferable compared to a supermarket. Hehe, my mom wanted me to capture it to keep as a memory :D

It is my pleasure to participate in this fun challenge. I almost always look forward to it. Thank you for initiating it and for dropping by with a ton of encouraging comments.

🎁 Hi @yashny! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.