Market Friday : Large Seafood Market Tour

in Market Friday4 years ago

12 20150104_112249A.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share my routine seafood market shopping and tour pictures. My family and I visit this market every fortnight or so to stock up our fridge of fish and seafood products. We can't go there more often than that because it located far from my home. This will be my entry for this week's #marketfriday tag initiated by @dswigle.

1 20150104_112306A.jpg

These are some of the fish sold ranging from small fish like sardine to large varieties like red snappers.

2 20150104_112339A.jpg

The sellers try to keep the fish fresh by adding ice cube. Most of the fish in this market are fresh and caught in the morning of the same day because it is a famous fishing location.

20150104_112234A.jpg

When we select fish, we look at the eyes. I took this picture to show a comparison between a fresh fish and a fish that is not fresh. The one with normal looking eye is normal while the other fish which has red eyes is not fresh.

5 20150104_112131A.jpg

After making up out minds, we will place the selected fish in a basket given. Sometimes, the seller helps to do it for us while we watch. Then, they will weigh the fish and tell us how much it costs. We can also try to negotiate the price at this point. This seller knows us well and since we are his regular customers, he gives us a discounted price.

6 20150104_112157A.jpg

They also have more fish stocked in boxes at the bottom like this. They are usually the large fish that take up a lot of space if they are placed on top.

8 20150104_112639A_snap.jpg

Here's a closer look of one of them.

9 20150104_112643A.jpg

This is another type of large fish.

10 20150104_112405A.jpg

By the way, this is a large box of ice which the sellers use. They don't just use them to keep the products fresh, but also use them when customers buy and add some ice to the box or bag they keep the bought products in.

11 20150104_112004A_snap.jpg

This is trolley with multiple large packages of ice. The ice supplier supplies them to all the sellers.

12 20150104_112249A.jpg

This is another section of the shop where most products were crustaceans.

13 20150104_112327A.jpg

These are some stingrays.

14 20150104_112355A.jpg

Here's a better view of the crustaceans.

xx 20150104_112357A.jpg

These are some fresh squids.

yy 20150104_112332A.jpg

These are large cuttlefish. The black liquid is the ink they have.

17 20150104_112700A.jpg

These are different types of crabs and some prawns on the left.

18 20150104_112850A_snap.jpg

Here are more squids and some crayfish.

19 20150104_112852A.jpg

Here's a better view of the crayfish. They look like little lobsters. I have never eaten them before.

P_20200715_195605_HDR.jpg

This is the bill. We didn't buy any crustaceans this time but we got a few types of fish that may last for around one to two weeks.

bitmoji-20190417075654.png

Thank you for dropping by and reading my long post. I hope that you have a great day ahead! ♥♥♥

Sort:  

It was a wonderful post filled with all kinds of seafood! I forgot that cuttlefish push out so much ink, although squid does too. I have a wonderful fish market down at the wharf here. I agree that it is all in the eye of the fish. You can tell right away, fresh or not. Even if the eye is a little cloudy, it stays. I only like it if it is clear and clean looking, just like it was still swimming for a living.

These crayfish are huge! And they do look like white lobsters! Oh, perish that thought! The crayfish we have here are smaller and very tasty! I think you should try one if you get the chance. It is always amazing to go to a fish market and see how many fish are caught, bought, and eaten every day. You have to wonder how we can keep feeding the world! I would love some stingray. It is not common to eat it here, so when I am on vacation, I try to find some.

I love your market and the care you took to cover as much as possible. The pictures are fabulous and I appreciate the explanation of all that is going on around me. I cannot even begin to tell you how much I appreciate the love and support you are giving to #MarketFriday! You have exceeded my expectations here! Thank you so much. A well-put-together post! There are so many challenges here on Hive and it warms my heart to see that you chose to be a part of this one. It is people such as yourself that made it into such a successful challenge! It takes a lot of effort and thoughts to put together a post for the #MarketFriday challenge. I know this first-hand and so, again, it is appreciated. Thank you again for being a part of all this! So many people always as how to do it, so if anyone reading this is wondering how to do it, here it is!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment! My mother also said the same thing about the eyes as you did, that they should look clear. I wish someday I will be able to try the smaller crayfish variety that you have had before! I might be able to find in the market here but I guess they may still not be the same type due to different geographical location.

You are right about the market! It amazes me how so many varieties of fish and seafood exist, especially when I come across varieties that I am yet to try.

Oh, stingrays are yummy! I hope that you try them one day. I am happy to be a part of the #marketfriday community and thank you for taking the time to write out such a thoughtful comment! ♥♥♥

🎁 Hi @yashny! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.