Seasonal Depression ( A Twitter Response Post)

in StemSocial2 years ago

SAD.png

Depression vector created by pch.vector - www.freepik.com and Inkscape.org

There has been a lot of talk about seasonal depressive disorder lately especially now with the sinter fast approaching. It has been the talk of a lot of people on Twitter.

In this post, I will be digging into this topic to help people who might be dealing with this condition.

In the last post I discussed how singing can help with depression and how research showed that about 90 minutes of singing was enough to cause significat changes in both people dealing with depression and members of the general population

This is an interesting post I found online:

Five lies Depression will tell you:
- I’m a burden
- It will not get better
- I’m a failure
- Getting help is pointless
- Nobody cares.

No matter the situation, never believe these lies. I’m rooting for you 🤎

— The Psychotherapist (@dedoyinajayi) August 13, 2022

I too am rooting for you and I believe you can get through this, keep seeking help and keep finding out more about the condition.

Hello, My name is Dr. Ebingo Kigigha I am a medical doctor and illustrator. I also hope to be a psychiatrist someday and I hope to educate others as I educate myself about depression.
I am the main writer here at Medic Vibe where we raise awareness about depression and other mental health conditions.

Depression is a mental health condition whose cause is not known but is believed to be a result of changes in the seratoine pathway in the brain. The condition is characterised by a sad mood and a lack of pleasure in previously enjoyable activities. There are also symptoms of changes in weight and appetite associated with this condition.

Depression is a cause of suicidal ideation and suicide as a whole. Individuals who are depressed and express a wish to end their lives may need help from experts. Prompt action from loved ones could save the lives of those who are dealing with severe depression

If you are Nigeria and need help from a health care practitioner you can reach out from here:

hot line.png
Inkscape.org

Check your country's suicide hotlines here.

Seasonal Depression

Sleep analysis.gif

Seasonal Depression or Seasonal Affective Disorder(SAD), is a type of depression that has an appearance related to the weather. The most common type of seasonal Affective disorder affects those who have symptoms of depression during the Winter/fall while the less common type of SAD affects people between Summer and Spring.

Symptoms of this condition are similar to Major depressive disorder and include a sad mood, lack of pleasure in previously enjoyable activeites, changes in weight (either weight gain or weight loss) Changes in appetite (increased or reduced), Sleep changes, reduced energy state.

The more common SAD that affects eople during the Fall/Winter usually has symptoms of weight gain, increase in appetite and hypersomnia. While the one that affects people in the Summer/Spring has opposite symptoms.

The cause of this condition is not known, similarly to Major Affective Disorder. But genetics has been thought to be a possible cause. The genes that are lily to be involved are responsible for brain function.

Neurotransmitters serotonin and Dopamine have been listed in research as a precipitating factor. These neurotransmitters play a role in sleep regulation.

According to Medline Plus, SAD can affect around 3% of people in general and may affect up to 20% of people with Major depressive disorder and over 20% of those with Bipolar affective disorder

From the statistical data, it appears that those who suffer from Major depressive disorder and Bipolar Affective Disorder are at risk.

SAD can cause poor school performance, it has been linked to substance abuse and other mental health disorders

Tip

Even though there is no known way to prevent SAD in those affected by it, early diagnosis can prevent complications of the condition from ensuing.

Research done has shown that phototherapy is useful for of treatment for this condition and should be considered especially for those who suffer from the more common Winter/Fall type of SAD.

There is an important place for psychotherapy in the management of this condition and sometimes patients may require both psychotherapy and medications.

It is important to find time to see a mental health professional if the symptoms of this condition describe your symptoms.

Hive Stories

@liveofdalla, a mental health practitioner (my senior) give a nice take on mental health. In her post, she talked about how people have different mentality about mental health whenever the topic is brought up.

She also explained how people seem to not understand the topic until they are affected. I like that she explained things in clear terms even though it was originally written in Spanish I was able to get the full understanding of what she was trying to say.

I would like for my readers to check out her psot hear

Questions

  • What are the symptoms of seasonal depressive disorder
    In what ways do Seasonal depressive disorders differ from major depressive disorder

  • What would be your advice for a person going through this condition?

  • Do you feel those listed in the statistical data make up a realistic number?

Conclusion

Seasonal depressive disorder is a limiting disease and can progress to Major depression and therefore can lead to suicide. This condition should be handled with special care

References

Sort:  

Ohhhh friend thank you very much for the mention! what an interesting post, I was just talking recently with a friend who lives in England and in his posts he was talking about feeling very sad and I recommended some things thinking about seasonal depression, I had not seen your posts thanks for tagging me.

Soon I will also talk about depression, but I communicate it in a simpler way aimed at the general public, I see that your publications are more scientific, I will tag your posts also so that my followers will be informed with what you write.

I love your illustrations, by the way.

My pleasure!

❤❤❤❤❤

I'm very happy to meet a collegue so reading you post had me very happy. I'm glad you liked it. Also your post was amazing, I followed you so I'll see your posts more often. I really hope we can work together some day...you seem to know so much about the topic already being in the field and all. I just finished my internship. I'm doing private practice in my country.

I'm hoping to move to England soon too.

Have an amazing week!!

That's great. Depression sounds theoretical until one finds himself battling with it. Its a reality that we need to constantly raise awareness on it.
Alot of persons are battling with this thing called Depression and talking to people about how they feel is always the last on their list. Rather they prefer to isolate and withdraw from people. That's the most dangerous part of Depression.

Thanks for this awareness boss.

Yeah. 4.4% of the worlds population deal with it. Hopefully we'll get more attention for the condition as time goes on

Exactly. Thanks Chief.

You are welcome boss

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

Depression nowadays affects a frightening part of the population. Knowing how to identify the problem is an important part of the solution!
Thank you for sharing.
!1UP

You can earn passive income by delegation of tribe tokens to "The Cartel".

cartel_curator_final.gif
Click this banner to join "The Cartel" discord server to know more.

You are welcome, Thank you for stopping by to read my work.

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @lipe100dedos!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@ctp-curator, @stem-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(4/20) tipped @ebingo (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!