The Nuptial Gift

in StemSocial2 years ago (edited)

Subject: Tutong field work by Dr. Jane Lavall. Intercepted correspondence.
Status: Priority only
To: Michael S. Lighton (Research Chair)
From: Jane Lavall (Scientist)

During a lecture at Oxford university, I was asked if I thought whether humans and tutongs could ever be friends. There is an uneasy truce between our two species following the ‘Alien War of 2123’. While every part of me wants the answer to be a resounding yes, there are differences between our two species that must be overcome. To do so, we must first understand those differences and deal with them in a rational adult manner. For this reason, I am now providing you with an account of the events that took place in the Summer of 2125 in the hopes of clarifying those events and put an end to all sordid rumours.

I was invited to stay in a tutong colony to conduct informal studies of this extraterrestrial species in hopes of developing an understanding between us and them. I have written extensively about my time in the colony, and though I have tried to be as thorough as possible, I was unable to report on a topic that has been sensitive and the cause of much misinformation: the sex roles in the reproduction behavior of the tutong species.

The mating behavior of tutongs is of interest to us because this parameter determines in large part their social organization. Yet, most of what we know about tutong sexuality barely reaches the level of anecdotal and is more based on rumors and hearsay. A field study was arranged under the sponsorship of the Cascadia space force exobiology division. I was chosen for this field study not just because of my expertise in extraterrestrial ethology, but also because I am a female. In their rigidly matriarchal society, males do not possess political power. The tutong council steadfastly refuses to deal with human males. Therefore, understanding the basis of this behavior was, and still is, of utmost importance.

During my stay in the colony, I befriended a tutong male, who seemed eager to learn about us and to show me around the colony. His name is unpronounceable by humans because we do not possess the apparatus to vocalize the sounds, so I will call him Hugo. By tutong standards, Hugo was a young male, though he had been alive nearly 218 earth years. At this age, tutong males begin to enter their reproductive cycles in which they attract females who compete for his attention.

While he was not initially keen to answer my questions on this touchy subject, he eventually warmed up to me. Although they do not have a conception of science like we do, he understood that tutong reproductive behavior was of great value to us humans.

In the cover of night, he sneaked me into his home. As you know, the tutong live in hive-like colonies made of resin produced in their ‘factories’. Inside, there are several interconnected circular chambers that are kept dimly lit, as the tutong prefer low light conditions because of their high visual sensitivity.

We descended into a small chamber buried below ground where the air was cooler. The walls of the round chamber were smooth and somewhat translucent. There was a light in the room but its source, I could not discern. As strange as the chamber was, I was not prepared for the sight that awaited me within it. About half a dozen liquid-filled sacs hung from the ceiling- varying in size but roughly the size of a basketball. Vein-like structures covered each sac, which hung suspended in the air with the support of stretched tendons.


Spermatophore_Sacs.jpg
Image by @litguru

I was awestruck by this sight. Hugo made a buzzing sound that denoted pride and pleasure. With his permission, I reached up and gently touched the sacs with the tip of my fingers. They were soft like skin and warm. Again he chirped and buzzed, somewhat louder than before.

When I asked him about it, he was evasive, but I managed to extract enough information from him to piece this particular puzzle together.

The hanging structures were spermatophore sacs filled with a mix of nutrients and tutong spermatozoa.

Unlike humans, sexual selection pressures are greater in tutong females. That is, females compete for males instead of the other way around. The reason for this, I hypothesize, is that large amounts of resources and energy are required for male tutongs to produce copious amounts spermatophore fluid necessary to fill the sacs. They gift these sacs to a chosen female who then uses them to initiate the egg fertilization process. Once they have lain the eggs, the females are no longer involved in parenting. Instead, the males take over and bring the embryos to term by feeding them the nutritious bio-elixir.

While this seems like strange behavior to us, it is not completely alien. We see similar sexual selection behavior in some terrestrial species (e.g., brush crickets). In the tutong case, reproductive rate (as determined by the limited capacity of the male to produce healthy spermatophores) AND parental investment are the key variables that differentiates the sexes, for they limit the number of times the males can reproduce and bring the embryos to term. Therefore, in the tutong species, males are the choosy ones when it comes to sexual selection, while females compete for the limited pool of desirable males. Thus, given the limits imposed by the inequalities of the reproduction/parenting process, tutong social organization reflects this fact.

As you can see, I was rather excited about my findings, and I’m afraid at this point, I let my scientific curiosity get the best of me. As I was questioning him about the spermatophores, I saw Hugo reach up with one of his pincers and make a small incision on one of the sacs. A marble-sized drop of the gelatinous amber substance spilled into a concave cavity in his claw.

“Eat, friend,” he said.

I scanned the substance and was surprised to find out that it was mostly made of nutrients. Save for the DNA in the spermatozoa, there was nothing “alien” or out of the ordinary.

I rubbed the substance between my fingers, noticing its warm and sticky texture.

“Eat, friend,” Hugo repeated.

I realized then (and confirmed later) that the liquid served another function: community building. It is common for males to share their spermatophores with those they accept into their own hives. So not wanting to offend my generous host, and curious about the liquid, I placed a small drop of it on my tongue. The gelatinous substance quickly melted in my mouth. Sweet and salty, a tingling sensation spread over my tongue. I did not feel any other side effects save for a brief moment of elation, which I have attributed to the novelty of the situation.

Unfortunately, a couple of days after my clandestine meeting with Hugo, I was accosted by an orchestra of females who had somehow found out about our meeting and what had transpired. They were intent on harming me with their sharp mandibles. Thankfully, a group of males surrounded me and prevented them from carrying out the wicked deed.

I admit this was an unprofessional transgression on my part, and I have willingly accepted my censure. For it was this exchange, I am sure, the reason why I was asked to leave by the tutong council and future research projects were scrapped.

I did get a chance to say goodbye to Hugo, who seemed sad to see me go. I had developed a good rapport with him, and I miss him dearly. With his help, we have learned more about the behavioral and social patterns of tutong sexuality and social organization. Though the practice of sharing spermatophores may seem strange to us, it is not that different a mechanism from those found in earth’s species. Thus, understanding those species in the absence of direct contact with the tutongs would be highly beneficial in bringing about an end to hostilities and long lasting peace between our two species.

This letter is not intended to excuse any of my behavior. I take full responsibility. I do fervently believe that my skills and knowledge as a researcher are valuable in these unstable times. I beg of you to reconsider my suspension so that I may continue this line of research. I ask you not as a subordinate to a superior, not even as a friend, dear as you truly are, Michael, but as a fellow human who just wants a brighter future for all of us on this planet.


Thank you for reading my story. I loosely based this story on the behavior of the Mormon cricket, which apparently is not a cricket but a katydid. Males create a spermatophore that they give to the female as a nuptial gift. The spermatophore can be up to 27% of the male’s body weight, according to Wikipedia. The female uses it to eat and fertilize the eggs. Given that it’s difficult to produce a large enough spermatophore, then males are choosy about whom they give this nuptial gift to. They seem to prefer large females because of their “fecundity.” So females have to compete for males, not the other way around. This behaviour has been used as support for the theory that differential competition for mates arise from inequalities in parental investment and/or reproductive rates (in Alcock’s Animal Behavior: An Evolutionary Approach 5th ed.).

In regards to extra terrestrial life, I was inspired by a recent interview I heard with Arik Kershenbaum who wrote the Zoologist Guide to the Galaxy. He argues that if aliens exist, they might look familiar to us because the same selection pressures that determine our bio-mechanics could be at work in different planets regardless of our distance from them. If they are out there, then it makes sense that the same laws of physics are at work in our world as well as theirs.

Happy Valentines! 💝

Sort:  

How creative. Weaving something into a fictional story that has its origins in scientific work. I like the way you approached this.

I have started to find Arik Kershenbaum on yt and listen to a dialogue but have not gotten far, so far (will finish it another time).

The interesting question about whether aliens are more like us than different from us humans is an open question that is great to speculate about since you can't prove anything. The physical laws are tempting, I would like to ask, nevertheless, whether they are really the same everywhere in the universe. Also a question which cannot be answered. You should, if you feel like it, definitely read Rupert Sheldrake on this and listen to his lectures on this very subject. He challenges some of the basics that are recognized as certain and fascinates me for that reason alone.

I would venture that differences in culture and physical appearance already found in humans led to such disturbing events that I would probably hold it like the Vulcans: The readiness to meet strangers shows in the same on one's own ground. Where people butt heads because of their differences existing in their own species, an encounter of a third kind is rather inadvisable.

I think your story is great and eloquently and coherently told. It is very tempting to get into the character of the scientist and break the rules. She risked something and even if she is punished for it, it was worth it, I think :)

I was hoping to see your take on aliens. Do you think they exist?

The interesting question about whether aliens are more like us than different from us humans is an open question that is great to speculate about since you can't prove anything.

This is true. We can only speculate, theorize, and hypothesize about what they might look like until we find the evidence, if it exists. I think that this is an important topic because we live in a vast and complex universe so the chances of there being life beyond Earth is a real possibility.

The physical laws are tempting, I would like to ask, nevertheless, whether they are really the same everywhere in the universe.

A good question. We know that the laws of physics break down inside black holes. There are also other mysteries like dark matter and dark energy, along with a few other things that we do not yet understand about how our universe works. But I believe the scientific consensus is that the fundamental laws are the same. In absence of an adequate alternate theory, then we have to be boring and assume that yes, the fundamental laws of the universe are the same everywhere.

I'm familiar with Sheldrake's thoughts on morphic resonance. His ideas have been around for quite a while, but they haven't been accepted by the scientific community. We may chastise scientists for not wanting to investigate these theories, but I don't understand why Sheldrake et al didn't conduct proper experiments necessary to test his ideas. How do you think his ideas would fit with this topic of extra terrestrial life?

The readiness to meet strangers shows in the same on one's own ground. Where people butt heads because of their differences existing in their own species, an encounter of a third kind is rather inadvisable.

You're right. It could be very dangerous to meet another advanced species. Maybe like us, they're still very aggressive. That is why we need to be prepared for such a meeting. It could happen at any moment. It could even be happening already. For all you know, I could be an alien. Maybe I've been tasked by my species to engage humans online, find the smart ones and analyze their thoughts patterns, so we can better understand humans strengths and weaknesses. In due time, we'll come for you, and we don't come in peace, we come to get wild 🐙

Heh! 😆

Thanks so much for reading @erh.germany!

Loading...

No, I disagree. We won’t be able to recognize them @litguru They will be the light in the sky, the warm of your breath, the sound on the wind. In this respect, they’re here with us already, perhaps they are the unrecognizable monsters in our history. I once wrote a story about Hilter being an alien, but it wasn’t well received (actually I got death threats) (by email for months).
💕❤️🤗

It could be that we won't recognize them. Maybe it will depend on the level of their evolution. They could be millions of years ahead of us. Just look at humans, we're now entering an electronic phase in which we are becoming clusters of electrons in computer networks. As an example, I don't really know if you, or anyone on Hive, is real. You seem real to me, but all I've ever seen of you are the photons that travel from my screen to my eyeballs then turn into words and images in my brain. Of course, I assume that there's a clever lady made of flesh and bones somewhere in this world; she has a fantastic consciousness and produces bursts of creative joy, but I have never seen her. Your form is nebulous. Timeless. Omnipresent in the matrix.

In the future, we may transfer ourselves completely into electrons, atoms, or any other medium, then we'll be unrecognizable. To get to that point, however, a species may need to pass through the physical stages, which are bound by the laws of physics similar to ours (unless you're talking about universes with different laws).

I once wrote a story about Hilter being an alien, but it wasn’t well received (actually I got death threats) (by email for months).

Wow! That's terrible that you got death threats. I bet that if you've written about Stalin, no one would have said anything.

Thank you for reading and your thoughtful insight! 😊

Here’s a picture of me so you know I’m real

img_4895.jpg

O my! I'm happy to see you at last. Is this even safe for work? Look at all that mathematical, historical, judicial, spiritual, and geo-physical delight.

Well, given that you showed me your picture, I now have to show you mine.

LilDevil.jpg

Pleased to meet you. 🤗

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support.