Hive Ghana Health Project - Funding A Glaucoma Story

in StemSocial11 months ago (edited)

Hello guys,

How are we all doing, it is been a while, I hope the weekend has been great so far and that things promise to be exciting at your end. Over here I am having a blast, I guess mostly because Today is my birthday and I am excited about the blessings that have come my way.

So today I basically wanted to share with you an excerpt from our recent Hive Sponsored Outreach program that was conducted in the village of Manso Nkwanta somewhere in the Ashanti Region of Ghana. As the leader of the medical team for the Ghana hive project, I served members of this community for their ocular health needs, that was yesterday and in this event, a lot of good things happened.

IMG_9056.JPG

First and foremost the patients that made it yesterday for the program after the announcement at the local public announcement system got the opportunity to not only be looked at free of charge but had fully sponsored drugs that varied from steroids, antibiotics, antihistamines, anti-inflammatories, etc, fully sponsored reading glasses as well as books and pens.

Not only did patients get to enjoy this but the staff of the health facility where we worked also benefitted and I couldn't be much grateful for such a wonderful birthday gift in such packaging for me from Hive.


The Glaucoma Story


Now I am sharing this story not because I want to portray how terrible the financial needs of people in deprived communities can be but to show how amazing impacting a single life could mean the world to them and how those small things you may not think mean so much could literally be saving someone's life or sight.

IMG_9082.JPG

This is to motivate all of us in the science community to take hive's health impact and apply it to ourselves and the lives of our loved ones and neighbors. When you read, do share it because someone may learn a thing or two that would impact their health, and as I always say you may have just ended up saving someone's life or sight through such acts.

So during the free health exercise, I saw an aged woman in her late 40s who had been diagnosed with Glaucoma from a facility she visited some time back and had been trying so hard to keep up with the medication but couldn't. And so when I saw her retina and cupping I realized that it was almost 1.0 for both eyes which meant that optic nerve atrophy had progressed and that the thinning due to the glaucoma damage is massive.

IMG_9085.JPG

From the look of things I could easily guess that her peripheral vision is very much affected, thankfully a good part of the central vision has been spared for now, thus if only she can continue with her medication but here is the case she hasn't been able to pay for glaucoma drugs for the past 6 months. For those of you who have been reading my health articles, you may be a bit more familiar with Glaucoma for now.

And so after her care, Hive gifted her enough drugs to last for the next 3 months with promises of seeing to her needs as time goes and the gratitude and tears the woman shared for this supposedly not much gesture shook me and the medical team. I am hoping that through this she gets to now continue her medication and that the death of nerve cells would reduce so she could have a functioning sight for as long as possible. I would personally see to it that she receives antiglaucoma drugs every month for free.


Conclusion


Hive is truly causing waves in all aspects of life, from the borehole project providing potable water, through the Hive exercise books project to the now Health Impact program. It is truly an amazing time to be Hiver and I proud to be a member of the blockchain contributing to and touching lives.

IMG_9140.JPG

My journey on the blockchain has been nothing short of amazing, fun, exciting, learning, and sharing and I am always grateful for the stem social community for the voice I found in my career as an Optometrist here on the blockchain for helping me share my knowledge with others. Thank you Prof, @lemouth, thank you @gentleshaid and a big thank you to @Mcsamm who has been my mentor on the blockchain for the past 5 years. It is a pleasure.

All images are taken by @nattybongo and hive medical team

Sort:  

On your special day, l wish you many more milestones and blessings the day brings. Thanks for helping to support the improvement projects organised by hive in Ghana.

Thank you Sam, I’m grateful and I truly appreciate all that you have done for me over the years, May the Good Lord Bless you

Happy birthday, the story of the woman who had benefited from the free glasses is really touching. Hive is indeed changing lives, thanks for your effort to give her monthly support

Thank you Sir it is such a pleasure☺️, I believe there are endless possibilities when it comes to Hive

Happy birthday @nattybongo, live long and prosper, this is a good thing you are doing for locals in the community, and I hope you get the more required support.

Thank you @futurekr, I believe the possibilities with Hive is endless and the smallest of impacts would go a long way to benefit the blockchain too.

 11 months ago (edited) 

Happy Birthday!

This is really quite amazing stuff. It's hard for me to talk about Hive to the typical outsider, because most people are put off by the word 'crypto'. But the more projects and initiatives like these here, also Cuba and many other regions around the world... it's so altruistic. This kinda contribution is what social media should be about.

Love it! (I wish I could have a STEMSocial Brain logo on one of those T-shirts haha...too hard to deliver to where I live though, unfortunately XD)

Yeah I get you when you say some people get out off by hearing just the word crypto, we had some of these challenges during our last mini meetup on KNUST campus where we talked to people about hive, mostly because some got scammed during the early days of bitcoin.

However, we shouldn’t relent, I know that it was through some of these activists that I found my way to the blockchain 5 years ago, let’s keep telling the Hive Story.

With regards to the logo I think is doable, maybe in the days ahead I can speak with leaders of our community and see about adding them up? What’s your thought on that?

 11 months ago  

What’s your thought on that?

It would definitely be cool, if other people want it - like I said it's not the easiest to get things to me in China. Usually requires me to end up taking a day off work and paying hefty fees on top of what's already paid...

Also, my girlfriend is a professional brand designer so I'm gonna talk to her about updating the design a little bit before jumping to any conclusions!

Oh ok, I have friends that would making the distribution quite easier, @mcsamm made it possible with our current T-shirts we could get the brand together and then stemsocial members globally would be given the blueprint to make the T-shirt printout in their respective countries, thus after the update on the designs though.

And i think as science community we should probably look at having some form of conference about science and the blockchain too, we could start with virtual and perhaps in the future physical much like the meetups already happening on the blockchain. I would be cool to travel for a science conference based on the blockchain.

I wouldn't mind presenting my research findings for stemsocial conferences haha. So do let me know how it goes or we can continue this on discord?

 11 months ago  

T-shirt printout in their respective countries

Cool idea! I'll Dm on discord when I have some updates on design for us to discuss further, and we can talk about both your points here

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

Thank you for the appreciation

Congratulations @nattybongo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 61000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Quite an inspiring story. I love kindness and everything that is associated with it. The world is too unbalanced for the common man not to be kind to each other.

Thanks for the great work you are doing and may God bless you and your team.

Amen!, Thank you, looking forward to greater things to come