You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on my new rolling cycle Linux experience

in StemSocial3 years ago

Oy. This is why my technology is so awful. This could be me

a weathered accountant that had had her old ms-dos custom company system replaced with an office suite spreadsheat.

DOS was fun, but I do not have the energy for this stuff. I do very much need to upgrade. Do you have any suggestions of where I could start learning about Linux? I barely know what it is.

Sort:  

Linux is the operating system kernel running inside most of the worlds computers, including Android smartphones. It is free and open source, which just means that the programmers have donated the actual code to the world.

What I am talking about here is an operating system and whole eco system of free software called Gnu/Linux built on top of the Linux kernel. By using it you can run a free system (free both as liberty and free beer).

Here's a video that gives an ok introduction.

THANK YOU!