FOOD ALLERGIES : Average of 2.5% of the world General Population living with it!

in StemSocial โ€ข 3 years ago (edited)

Yes my friends, you read that well!!! An average of 2.5% of the world population has some kind of food allergy!

In some parts of the world...we even have up to 10% people living with it! The USA as example!

Screenshot_20210407_212043.jpg


This number is on the rise and these days...more and more children are being diagnosed with food allergies.


But what is food allergy???

Let me try explain it in simple terms:

When your body identifies proteins in food as enemies...protective measures are launched (by your body) to fight back, hence causing inflammation and other types of reactions.


What are the most common allergy symptoms???

headaches-1454330_1280.png


  1. Vomiting and/or diarrhea
  2. Rashes on the skin.
  3. Itching and tingling in the mouth or throat.
  4. Shortness of breath
  5. Anaphylaxis - The most dangerous of all, which can be life-threatening!)

What are the most common food allergies???

ice-2367072_1920.jpg


  1. Milk (inlc. Butter, ice cream, yogurt, cheese)
  2. Peanuts ( Be super careful here...they are found in many many foods...check the label well before consuming!)
  3. Shellfish (Shrimps, prawns, lobsters, crayfish, oysters etc...)
  4. Wheat (Just imagine the bakery counter!)
  5. Soy (Energy bars, infant formula, canned food etc...)

Can food allergy be cured???

thermometer-1539191_1920.jpg


There's no definite answer here, scientists are still working and studying...

Some allergies may disappear over time...while others are here to stay till your last breath!

The best cure is to avoid foods that you are allergic to, at all cost! It's a question of life, never forget!

Always read all food labels properly and if you are doubtful...better avoid it.


And why I am writing on food allergies today???

why-2028047_1280.png


Well my friends, having worked in the food industry for more than than 18 yrs now, I've met/talked/discussed with so many guests coming from different parts of the world having all kinds of allergies.

It was always challenging to prepare food to people having allergies...not gonna lie!


My advice to food producers and chefs

When you have to deal with someone who needs special attention/care due to dietary conditions, never take a chance!

You have to be committed and take utmost precautions and respect all the requirements. Never ever compromise!

It's either you do it properly, or simply let the guest know that you can't.

We can't play with people's life!

And the reason WHY I am writing on food allergies today is that...earlier I met with someone having a 'special type of food allergy'!

Like I said above...no risk taking ever! I prepared the client's food myself with all precautions!

This is the only foods that the guest could consume from the 100s of ingredients available in my restaurant!

I could feel the pain of that guest!
IMG_20210407_164239_edit_507676203887117.jpg


Made a simple salad with all of the ingredients and the guest left super happy without any bad reaction!

I'll share the salad on my foodies post later on!
Do check it out!


Do you have any type of allergy?
What do you do as precautions in your day to day life?

Please so share your views on the theme...sharing is caring!
๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a great day ahead!
@progressivechef

poster_2021-04-01-024313.png

This is my first contribution to the Stemsocial community! I hope to be within the guidelines!

Illustration photos - pixabay!

Sort: ย 

It's really frustrating to feel the anxiety of trying to accommodate a guest in the restaurant with food allergies. I always make sure that they are told there is no guarantee. If you go to a place that has a Mexican theme and say you are allergic to cilantro, we can do our best but there could be some somewhere that we didn't get. When I worked in a steak house with seafood, people would come in with seafood allergies. This was stressful during lobster season. We would have to take time out in a rush and practically build a tent around the food. We also told them the truth. We can only do our best. We have even turned some severely allergic people away that insisted that we don't kill them. Food allergies are the most common it seems in Canada and United states. Last winter in Asia I heard that there were no real issues with this at all.

Oh yes, restaurants must always have their waiver form in place...this is such a delicate thing indeed!
Why the lobster nights get the same problem everywhere!?!Hahaha!! Same at all hotels I've worked..
Then we designed a meat menu on the side...you guessed it right...then came the vegetarians...then the Jain...crazy stuffs for restaurants and hoteliers indeed!

In the end we just put a buffet out there! Lol!

But seriously, all extreme cases of allergies, I was handling myself in a remote kitchen, just to be sure as I know how busy our kitchen teams were and very difficult to make such specials.

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider supporting our funding proposal, approving our witness (@stem.witness) or delegating to the @stemsocial account (for some ROI).

Please consider using the STEMsocial app app and including @stemsocial as a beneficiary to get a stronger support.ย 
ย 

Thanks for approving the posts and the support! Really feels appreciated!
Will surely check out the links shared and do so on my next contribution!
Stay blessed!

Iโ€™ve learned to live with my food allergies (shellfish) for quite sometime now. I didnโ€™t know that itโ€™s because of the protein content of the food ๐Ÿ˜ฎ that was an โ€œohhโ€ moment for me ๐Ÿ˜… Anyway, I still eat shellfish but in small amounts, whenever Iโ€™d start to feel itchy, Iโ€™d stop eating. Though, in some few occasions, I had to take meds before the symptoms worsen.

I actually have some kind of allergy too...i can't tolerate pulses/beans etc...but same like you...sometimes I just have it but take on medicine right after.
But this is not the good thing to do!
Wish you lots of courage my friend. Take care!
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™