You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 years of discoveries in particle physics - building the Standard Model brick by brick

in StemSocial2 years ago

In other words, for which reason(s) do you consider that humans have all rights on the universe?

It is for the simple reason that the universe exist to serve humans as a matter of fact. The sun and the planets all exist to serve human.
Humans are the only personality capable of exploring and manipulating the universe. Humans are capable of harnessing the marvels of the universe to serve its own end. Therefore human is the king of the universe.

I await your blog on the subject. I am willing to see from your perspective.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It is for the simple reason that the universe exist to serve humans as a matter of fact. The sun and the planets all exist to serve human.

There is no proof of that. That's a belief, and not a scientific statement. By the way, the sun and the planets were there well before humans. That's a fact :)

Humans are the only personality capable of exploring and manipulating the universe.

This statement cannot be proved as well. The universe is so vast and we only checked a little (negligible in fact) part of it.

PS: I hope you don't mind, but I am tagging @agmoore as we debated on the same sentence of this post earlier.

By the way, the sun and the planets were there well before humans. That's a fact :)
Yes, it is a fact but it does not disprove my statement. There are too many scientific facts that buttress my belief. You cannot scientifically disprove this belief.

The universe is so vast and we only checked a little (negligible in fact) part of it.

Checking a little or negligible part of it is called exploring and manipulating!

Perhaps you need to answer these questions: (1) Why does the universe exist? (2) What is the purpose of your research as a physicist?

 2 years ago  

I can answer the second question, but not the first one (no one can). However, this has nothing to do with the fact that a belief is not scientifically sound (and I won't thus answer that here, although this is done partly in the post).

I would like instead to insist on the point that a belief is not a fact. In addition, it is not because we cannot prove that a statement is wrong that this statement is correct. In other words, you may believe in what you want. That's clear and it is up to you. Anyone else has also the option to believe differently.

Now, let's go back to the topic. What I discuss is different. I say that considering that humans are above everything in the universe... is just being not humble. There is no reason to do so, especially as we know nothing. This is why we should be humbler as humans, and we may not be the only intelligent species in the universe.

I say that considering that humans are above everything in the universe

We are on the same page on this. Therefore I rest my case. Thank you for sparing your time to attend to me. I am grateful

 2 years ago  

It was nice and pleasant to chat/debate with you, and we can redo this anytime you want!

Cheers :)