I found a kitten on a tree! And now her name is Arwen [ENG-ESP]

in Hive Petslast year (edited)

Hello everyone! This is my first post in this community, but I hope to come here from time to time.

Today I wanted to tell the story of how I met Arwen, a kitty who came into my life totally unexpectedly.

From 2014 until December 2021 I was living with my cat Nefertari and my dog Cronos, but Cronos passed away last Christmas.

¡Hola a todos! Es mi primer post en esta comunidad, pero espero venir por aquí de vez en cuando.

Hoy quería contar la historia de cómo conocí a Arwen, una gatita que vino a mi vida de manera totalmente inesperada.

Desde 2014 hasta diciembre de 2021 estuve viviendo con mi gata Nefertari y mi perro Cronos, pero Cronos falleció la navidad pasada.

I started the year volunteering at an animal shelter near my home, because I was left with a big void after losing Cronos and he had given me so much, that the least I could do was to help other animals like him to make their lives more bearable.

In the meantime, there I met my current dog, Atenea, who after having her as a foster at home, I finally took the necessary steps to adopt her. But I will tell you her story, which is enough for another post 😄.

Comencé el año haciéndome voluntaria en un refugio de animales cerca de casa, porque me quedó un gran vacío tras perder a Cronos y, él me había dado tanto, que lo mínimo que podía hacer era ayudar a otros animalitos como él a hacerles más llevadera su vida.

Entretanto, allí conocí a la que ahora es mi perrita, Atenea, que tras tenerla de acogida en casa al final hice los trámites para adoptarla. Pero ya os contaré su historia, que da para otro post 😄.

I also wanted to adopt a kitten, if possible male and young kitten, because my cat Nefertari is already 11 years old and she is very grumpy, she did not get along well with Cronos and she was not happy that I had adopted Athena. So I thought: What if I adopt a cat, will she finally have a friend? Maybe being a male she won't have any rivalry with him?

And so, at the end my cat Odin came into my life, he was given to me when he was one month old and the poor thing also came in very bad conditions... I still have to tell his story too haha.

También quería adoptar un gatito, a ser posible macho y cachorro, porque mi gata Nefertari ya tiene 11 años y es muy gruñona, no se llevaba bien con Cronos ni tampoco le hacía mucha gracia que hubiese adoptado a Atenea. Así que pensé: ¿Y si adopto a un gato, tendrá ella por fin un amigo? Quizás siendo macho no tenga ninguna rivalidad con él...

Y así, al final llegó a mi vida mi gato Odín, me lo entregaron con un mes de edad y el pobre también venía en muy malas condiciones... También queda pendiente contar su historia jaja.

IMG_20221115_193007.jpg
Odín and Athena

But if it seems to you that I had filled myself with animals in a few months by adopting 2, what was to happen was indeed totally unexpected and without looking for it. 🤣

On August 15, which was a horrible heat in my city, I went out that morning for a walk with Atenea and while I was recording and sending an audio by whatsapp, I started to hear a sound coming from a tree. I approached to see what it was that sounded, as it seemed to me a very strange song for a bird.

And to my surprise, I looked up and saw a small furry animal, meowing and scared.

Pero si te parece que me había llenado de animales en pocos meses adoptando a 2, lo que iba a ocurrir sí que fue totalmente inesperado y sin buscarlo. 🤣

El día 15 de agosto, que hacía un calor horrible en mi ciudad, salí esa mañana a pasear con Atenea y mientras estaba grabando y enviando un audio por whatsapp, empecé a escuchar un sonido que provenía de un árbol. Me acerqué a ver qué era eso que sonaba, ya que me parecía un canto muy extraño para ser un pájaro.

Y cuál fue mi sorpresa, que alcé la vista y vi a una pequeña animalita peluda, maullando y asustada.

Athena also realized what was happening, and she stood on two legs, trying to jump to reach the kitten. I thought she would be scared at the sight of my dog, but she was not. I walked over to her and put my hands out trying to reach her, with little hope of succeeding.

Because around where I live, there are a lot of stray cats and whenever I approach them they run away, so I thought the same thing would happen this time, but I was wrong.

Atenea también se dio cuenta de lo que ocurría, y ella se puso a dos patas de pie, intentando saltar para alcanzar a la gatita. Pensé que se asustaría al ver a mi perra, pero no fue así. Me acerqué a ella y coloqué mis manos tratando de alcanzarla, con poca esperanza de conseguirlo.

Porque por donde vivo, hay muchos gatos callejeros y siempre que me acerco a ellos se alejan corriendo, por lo que creí que en esta ocasión iba a suceder lo mismo, pero me equivoqué.

Sin título.jpg

Against all odds, that little puppy jumped into my hands and started purring, rubbing her face with my arm, visibly very happy that I had rescued her.
I walked with her in one hand, and with Athena held by her leash in the other hand. I crossed the park, roads and a 15 minute walking until I arrived home, in which I was thinking that at any moment the kitty would scratch me and run away; but she stayed very calm and relaxed on my arm looking curiously all over the street and enjoying the walk.

Contra todo pronóstico, esa cachorrita saltó hacia mis manos y empezó a ronronear, frotando su cara con mi brazo, visiblemente muy contenta de que la hubiera rescatado.
Caminé con ella en una mano, y con Atenea sujeta por su correa en la otra mano. Crucé el parque, carreteras y un trayecto de 15 minutos hasta llegar a casa en los que estuve pensando que en cualquier momento la gatita me arañaría y se iría corriendo; pero ella se quedó muy tranquila y relajada sobre mi brazo mirando con curiosidad toda la calle y disfrutando del paseo.

When I got home, I put her on wet food, dry feed, and water. I also put her in a room isolated from the rest of the animals in case she had any disease or parasites that she would not pass them on to the others.

She came very hungry, but above all very thirsty because it was about 48 degrees in the street, those days there was a sweltering heat wave. She drank 3 bowls of water in a row, and never stopped purring.

Al llegar a casa, le puse comida húmeda, pienso seco, y agua. Además de que la instalé en una habitación aislada del resto de animales por si tenía alguna enfermedad o parásitos que no se los contagiase a los demás.

Venía muy hambrienta, pero sobre todo muy sedienta porque hacían como 48 grados en la calle, esos días había una ola de calor sofocante. Se bebió 3 platitos de agua seguidos, y en ningún momento dejó de ronronear.

IMG_20220815_105133.jpg

I already had one dog and two cats, and my older cat was not happy either when I adopted Odin. She had a lot of stress because the puppy Odín, who was 5 months old, wanted to play with her, but she didn't want anyone to bother her, so another puppy was bound to create more stress....

Besides, the fact that this little furry puppy was so happy to let me hold her, made me think that maybe she had an owner and had escaped from someone. So the first thing I did was to take pictures of her and start spreading the word on social networks in case someone recognized her, or if not, ask if anyone wanted to keep her. I also made an appointment at the vet to take her, so they could do a check-up and the tests they normally do to cats that come from the street.

Ya tenía a una perra y a dos gatos, y mi gata mayor no estaba feliz tampoco cuando adopté a Odín. Ella tenía mucho estrés porque Odín era cachorro, tenía 5 meses y quería jugar con ella, pero ella no quería que nadie le molestase, así que otra cachorra más seguro que le iba a generar más estrés...

Además, que esta peludita se hubiera dejado agarrar tan alegremente, me hizo pensar que quizás tenía dueño y se le había escapado a alguien. Así que lo primero que hice fue hacerle fotos y empezar a difundirla por redes sociales por si alguien la reconocía, o en caso contrario preguntar si alguien quería quedársela. También pedí cita en el veterinario para llevarla y así que le hicieran un chequeo y los tests que normalmente les hacen a los gatos que vienen de la calle.

Screenshot_2022-08-15-12-47-20-582_com.facebook.katana.jpg

At the vet they examined her and told me she was healthy, but she had ear mites. They gave me some drops to put in her ears and also some wipes to clean her ears inside. I took the opportunity to buy a dry shampoo to bathe her, as she smelled a bit bad and her fur was dirty.

Days went by and no owner appeared, and I was starting to get fond of her. She was still isolated in a room from the rest of the animals until her ears were cured, as the mites could be spread from one animal to another, but the others were always behind the door of the room sniffing and curious to meet her. The vet also told that she was at most 2 months old.

En el veterinario la exploraron y me dijeron que estaba sana, pero tenía ácaros en los oídos. Me dieron unas gotas para echarle en los oídos y también unas toallitas para limpiarle las orejas por dentro. Aproveché a comprar un champú en seco para bañarla, ya que olía un poco mal y su pelaje estaba sucio. Además me dijeron que como mucho tenía 2 meses de edad.

Pasaron los días y no apareció ningún dueño de ella, y yo ya estaba empezando a tomarle cariño. Ella seguía aislada en una habitación del resto de animales hasta que se le curasen los oídos ya que se podían contagiar los ácaros de un animal a otro, pero los demás estaban siempre tras la puerta de la habitación olisqueando y con mucha curiosidad por conocerla.

I began to open the door little by little, to allow them to see each other from a distance and to get acquainted. At first, Arwen (I had already named her) was frightened when Athena came up to sniff her, and she snorted at her. But she soon saw that the dog was harmless and let her guard down.

Odin, who was a puppy too (and still is) was eager to play with her, in fact he was very heavy and wouldn't leave her alone, I imagine he thought, "Finally I have a little sister my size and age to play with!"

Empecé a abrir poco a poco la puerta, para permitir que se vieran entre ellos a cierta distancia y que se fueran familiarizando. Al principio, Arwen (ya le había puesto nombre) se asustaba cuando Atenea se le acercaba a olerle, y le bufaba. Pero pronto vio que la perra era inofensiva y bajó la guardia.

Odín, que era un cachorrito también (y lo sigue siendo) estaba ansioso por jugar con ella, de hecho era muy pesado y no la dejaba en paz, imagino que pensó: ¡Por fin tengo una hermanita de mi tamaño y mi edad para jugar!"

VID_20220817_232940-ANIMATION.gif

VID_20220821_130957-ANIMATION.gif

Arwen is the most loving cat I have ever had. She immediately showed affection to the other animals as well, and they seemed to love her very much too.... So, I kept her!

Arwen es la gata más cariñosa que he tenido. Enseguida le mostró cariño también a los demás animales, y ellos parecía que también le querían mucho a ella... Así que, ¡me la quedé!

IMG_20220823_122645.jpg

IMG_20220902_150901.jpg

IMG_20220915_204141.jpg

IMG_20221003_214127.jpg

IMG_20221018_223049.jpg

IMG_20221020_171932.jpg

IMG_20221106_184440.jpg

She always wants to be in the room wherever I am, and loves to be on top of me or supervising what I'm doing. She's here while I'm working, while I'm playing video games or writing a post.

Ella siempre quiere estar en la habitación donde yo esté, y adora estar encima de mí o supervisando lo que estoy haciendo. Está aquí mientras trabajo, mientras juego videojuegos o escribo un post.

IMG_20220816_224905.jpgIMG_20221105_225537.jpgIMG_20221006_162257.jpg

She loves to fall asleep with me or her siblings, and she licks my hand to show her affection. She is now part of the family and comes to see me when I get home just like her siblings do (except Nefertari, she is more on her own xD).

Le encanta quedarse dormida conmigo o con sus hermanitos, y me lame la mano para mostrar su afecto. Ella ahora es parte de la familia y viene a verme cuando llego a casa igual que hacen sus hermanos (excepto Nefertari, que ella va más a su aire xD)

IMG_20221003_185035.jpg

IMG_20221006_162246.jpg

IMG_20221010_133726.jpg

IMG_20221104_184411.jpg

Thank you for reading Arwen's story. They say that animals come into our lives for a reason and in this case, it was this kitty who chose me, and I don't regret keeping her. She has been a beautiful gift.

Gracias por leer la historia de Arwen. Dicen que los animales vienen por algún motivo a nuestras vidas y en este caso, fue esta gatita quien me escogió a mí, y no me arrepiento de habérmela quedado. Ha sido un hermoso regalo.

VID_20220915_220104_AdobeExpress (1).gif


All photos have been taken by me, with my Xiaomi Poco x3 phone.

Todas las fotos han sido tomadas por mí, con mi móvil Xiaomi Poco x3.


My social networks/Mis redes sociales:
Writer Instagram | Travel Instagram | Twitter | Facebook| Linktree

Sort:  

Hello there! I hope you’re doing well.

Welcome to this community.
I love pets. Especially dogs; they’re the best. But I’ve never had a cat, although I find them cute.

I hope you spend more time and make lovely memories with Arwen.

I love both dogs and cats, and all animals in general. My dog loves the cats very much, she has a strong maternal instinct , she licks them to clean them and takes great care of them.❤️ Thanks for commenting.

la gatita de la suerte

Síí cayó del cielo de forma literal jaja

Tu amor por los animales es muy especial ❤️

Síí y esta gatita apareció de repente en un árbol y se vino conmigo 🤣. No me la quería quedar porque ya tenía a Odín que era un cachorro muy pesado, pero al final... Se les toma cariño xd

What a heartfelt story! my favorite picture is when the cat sleeping with the dogs. It's just so cute!

Thank you! Another day I'll tell the story of my other cats and my dog since they all have a hard past, they all came from the street or from being mistreated and it took me quite a while to get rid of the fears that my dog Athena had. But now they all are family and they love each other very much. Odin loves my dog Atenea as if she was his mom🤣, since he was a puppy he has been with her and she has taken care of him a lot haha.He awakened a maternal instinct on her.

Tus mascotas son tan adorables, es cierto eso de que Arwen te eligió a ti, y no hizo mal en hacerlo. Me alegra saber que Arwen fue bien recibido y que sus hermanitos lo quieren, está es una historia que definitivamente me hará llorar :')

Saludos para ti y tus lindas mascotas.

Muchas gracias por comentar! Sí, se quieren mucho entre ellos, por eso me dio lástima regalar a Arwen, al final los demás animales también le tenían cariño y se hubieran quedado tristes si ella se iba. ❤️