Sucky Weather, Molly Hating the Ice, Missing my Pepper, and Just Blah!

in Hive Pets3 years ago

IMG_3165.JPG

Have You Ever Had One Of Those Days ..

Where you just don’t feel like writing anything? Maybe you have no clue what to write about? No inspiration pouring out of the pores? No majorly exciting things going on in life? Yup.. That’s me today. Not that I feel pressured to write everyday or even every other day, but I like to put some thoughts out there with some consistency. Today I just sort of feel blah and no worthwhile post ideas are coming to mind, so I’ll just write a few thoughts on what I am feeling at the present time.

IMG_9282.JPG

The Weather..

The weather sucks. If it’s cold, I would rather it snow; The nice fluffy white kind you would find in the higher elevations. Well, we live close to the ocean and thus we rarely see the nice fluffy powdered snow. The snow we usually get is heavy and wet. Yesterday and today would be the perfect example of our winter storms; starting off as snow, turning to sleet, then mixing with rain, back to sleet, more rain, and finishing up with flurries. I thought to myself today, as the cold rain fell to my neck and rolled down my back, “This Sucks!”

IMG_9367.JPG

Molly ..

Molly thought the same exact thing this morning. I let her out to go potty and she wouldn’t move. The grass was frozen with a few centimeters of ice, brought about by freezing rain last night. Under this was a thin layer or half melted and refrozen sleet. Maneuvering the frozen turf on paws the size of my thumbs, is treacherous for the poor girl. I had to sympathize with her. Needless to say, she peed and that was it. She was having no parts of trying to deposit a #2. Nope! She’ll just end up holding the Tootsie Roll sized turd in until later, or will drop it off on a piece of carpet we have in the kitchen for her. Not a big deal. If it's still frozen when I get home later, I’ll hook up a hose to the hot water and melt an area for her.. Yes, I do those silly things for my pup.

4359874329759843758734987593.jpg

Pepper Memories ..

Pepper has been pretty heavy on my mind, as well as my wifes, lately. Between the crappy weather and constant thoughts of Pepper, I suppose I have a little depression. You think the excitement of the new Orchid developments would help lift my spirits, but unfortunately they don’t quite get the job done. He was such a huge part of our lives for the last 14 plus years, so I totally expected his death would be a challenge for us. I sit, for a few minutes in the morning, talking to him.. To his picture resting near his ashes. He didn’t answer me when he was living (either), but he was a real good listener. He always had a way to comfort me, just being his little self. Pepper carried a certain warmth around with his presence, and it took only about 5 seconds to realize that warmth had vanished, when he took his last breath.

IMG_E3093.JPG

Things Will Get Better ..

Time will pass, the ice will melt, and the air will warm once more. My mood will turn to a happier one when the leaves come back to fill the empty branches of the trees. We’ll all become busy again.. Summer activities, travel, and complaining about the heat and humidity will fill our time. It takes time to process loss and life after it. I allow myself this short time every morning, to reflect and center myself, before facing the day.

IMG_3038.JPG

Pepper is no longer here to listen to my morning rambles, look me in the eye and somehow tell me not to leave, and when I eventually do, sit and wait patiently on my return. No he isn’t. I’ll never quite get over all those years he did, and the way I looked forward to his forgiveness and warm greeting as I arrived home.

IMG_E9307.JPG

Final Thought ..

Molly has her own way to say “I Love You” and welcome home.. Maybe not quite the same as our ‘Buddy Boy’ did, but we couldn’t have survived these days without her. She has been our little blessing. She listens to me.. I know she does, even though she doesn't show it like Pepper did. I am pretty sure that when she is listening to me she is thinking,

“You mean to tell me Pepper actually listened to all this crap your spewing?”

Hahahahaha.. I would like to think he did.

IMG_9236.JPG

Hive text divider.png

IMG_E3958.JPG

“They [dogs] never talk about themselves but listen to you while you talk about yourself, and keep up an appearance of being interested in the conversation.”
― Jerome K. Jerome

“Speak to me: I will spend my lifetime trying to understand you.”
― Kamand Kojouri

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

He did, he surely did. He loved everything you did, just as you loved everything he did. This is really nice. I miss Pepper. I wonder how many hivers miss Pepper?

It's always tragic to hear about you missing Pepper. Such a terrible loss.

On another note I wonder how Nadi would react to cold and ice since when it ever gets below say, 60 degrees F here (which isn't often) she is shivering all the time. Most of the Vietnamese who have dogs get jackets for their animals during these times as well. For me, I am happy to not have winter, although I do miss things like hot apple cider, fireplaces, and big blankets.

Thank you.. I expected it to be terrible but I am surprised at how much I truly, truly miss the little guy. Especially at night and first thing in the morning. It sucks the big one.

I am sure Nadi wouldn't like it one bit! Molly shakes but she always shakes, so who knows. I am sure she is a bit used to it, but not when its bitter out. I know you loved to ski out in CO and what not, when you were here in the states.. Miss it?? Sometimes I do, but then remember the cold wind making my eyes water, the foot cramp in my boots and no quick way to address it, and the reckless skiers and snow boarders.. I'll go for the blankets, cider and fires too!!

Yup! Those days happened to me quite often! I had to look at cats videos to cheer myself up! I still missed my favourite cat who died two years ago! So, I am very aware of my remaining two cats from the same litter!

I think dogs and cats do pick on your mood and feeling. They would try to keep my company and cheer me up too.

Lovely photos of your doggie companions. I should have taken more photos of my pet; I didn’t expect he would be taken away so young.

Hope the weather gets better with warm sunshine tomorrow.

Thanks for the cheering up! Yes, I remember you telling me about your kitty. So sad how your friend died so young. You have the memories and no one can take those from you. The weather is supposed to get better soon. I hope because I am tired of the cold... brrrrrrr.....

Oh! The cold weather! It stayed too long! I shall have to ask my UFO friends whether they could help with the abnormal weather in any way!

We need rain here as the dry season has become quite hard on the land. I shall have to do a rain dance soon!!lol

Ooh they rimane me to my old shits carlotta 💔💔💔

Awww.. you had a shihtzu too??!! Sounds like Carlotta has passed on? So sorry :(

Yep, we all have those days. The poochies we have always seem to make it better, somehow. The days are getting longer, and the sun will warm us all.

I am looking forward to it. I hate the cold rain and sleet.. would rather it snow. Doing better today now that the sun was out. Did you get much snow last storm? My cousin is just North of you and she said they got 9 inches.

We will always miss our favorites, and we will always remember them ...

Yeah, I have had a couple of days where I feel like not doing nothing - Nothing even comes to my mind. All I felt like was to relax and find myself in a new whole world.

Those dudes are so cute! Molly have a new companion now.

Nope.. That is Pepper in those pictures.. I was just writing about how I was missing him.

Ohh how cute are they. So lovely companion for you. That is right they are good listener.

Yes they are such good listeners and little companions. I can't imagine my life without them.

So cute! They are like walking teddy bears haha

hahaha.. Yes.. sort of Like Ewoks! Do you know what they are? Obviously fictional. hehe. I think you know. Most of the time I just want to squeeze her, but she is little miss independent. Pepper was a cuddle bug.. miss him so much :(

Absolutely beautiful how great are dogs? Makes me want to write a post about my bella. Might do that later on tonight.

Thank you for sharing

I will have to check to see if you wrote that post. Bella, what kind of dog? Your right.. dogs are pretty cool 😎

Indeed I ended up posting a blog about Bella our golden retriever and her friendship to my daughter over the years.

It was quite nice to write about and brought back alot of memories over the years. Absolutely beautiful

Yes.. I just read it! It was a fantastic post.. just perfect.

Thank you, inspired by your post.

Life just isn't the same with a best friend.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting

We all have our blah blah days. And losing your dear friend has been such a difficult thing emotionally. It will get better, slowly. I think it helps that you can share your feelings with us here on Hive