New cat friend in my job: Tuli II, I have called her / Story of my day.

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Today was a regular day at my job. I arrived a little bit late because I was so lazy in the morning dragging my feet everywhere and I lost the usual bus and had to take the next.

Once I sat down at my PC I prepared myself a hot Mate, an infusion that I like a lot and is very common here in Argentina, and I had some cookies with it.

P1070912.JPG

After a while I felt like I wanted to go outside because I needed a break, and I am fortunate enough to work in a place where we have a backyard as well, and sometimes I go there and sit down to take the sun for a while or just to take deep breaths and disconnect a little about the work conversations between my coworkers.

P1070916.JPG

Couple of weeks ago I noticed a small grey cat looking at me from the window while I was working, and today when I went out to the backyard I saw her again and tried to get close to her in a way that she would understand that I was friendly. To my surprise, it was her who decided to come near me and after sniffing my hands and looking to my eyes, we both closed them, and I think that was a signal of trust, or at least that's what my boss said.

P1070915.JPG

P1070921.JPG

P1070917.JPG

My boss owns 6 cats and he says that to communicate with cats best, you need to look at them in the eyes with a "soft look" or just not too intensively, and then if you close your eyes a bit and they do it too, that means that the cat trusts you and you are allowed to come close and touch them.

This cat was so lovely, I could notice that she loves when people pet her, and in return she started to play with me by laying on her back and trying to catch my hands with her claws, which was funny but at the same time hurts a bit.

P1070922.JPG

P1070923.JPG

I noticed too that she was hungry and maybe a little bit thirsty, so I went to the kitchen and poured water on some plastic cup and I was searching for some food but the only thing that I could find to give her was an old cake that somebody took to the office and left on the cupboards very much forgotten. I gave it to her and I think that normally she wouldn't have eaten it but she was so hungry that she actually did.

P1070925.JPG

I sat down there for couple of minutes to relax and think, playing with the grey cat who I have baptized Tuli II, and after some time I came back to work.

P1070919.JPG

I hope I will see Tuli II again next when I go to the office because I want to buy some cat food and give it to her, and maybe she will feel like that's a safe space where she can go and have some meal and play with me. I love cats and dogs and all animals, and it breaks my heart to think that maybe nobody takes care of her, feed her regularly or gives her a shelter to rest and get comfortable. I hope that maybe she comes around often.

IMG_20211014_142948.jpg

I am on my way to my place now and the weather is looking like is gonna be rainy later, so I hope my new friend finds a place to take cover. I send regards to everybody who might have gotten here! Be well.

César.