A Family Reunited 😍

in Hive Pets β€’ 3 years ago

After a long awaited 465 days without them, we finally have our friends back in our lives!

They were normally supposed to arrive Saturday evening, but unfortunately got stuck at the Spanish border, as the tunnel to France was blocked due to an unfortunate accident inside the tunnel.

We had to wait until the next day for the tunnel to open, and the driver arrived around 9am with our furry friends 😁
They were surprisingly chilled on arrival, apart from the few cries out of excitement, it felt like we saw each other the day before ^^
It was a very long trip for them, with one flight from Johannesburg, South Africa to Doha, Qatar.

They spent the day in a dog hotel in Doha, and took another flight from Doha to Barcelona and landed in Spain on Saturday morning.
That's what I imagine when I think of a dog hotel:

source

After landing in Barcelona, the last but not least important team member of this beautiful enterprise, picked up our babies at the airport and drove them to us, literally in front of our door step.

Hnet.com-image (2).gif

IMG_20210508_084658.jpg

The first thing Charlie did, is pick up a stick that we can throw for him, and Jacky the husky/malamute was looking for something to eat, hopefully not our chickens yet πŸ˜„.

It's really funny as much as we spent some times apart, it felt like we never did. It's often the case when you are with old friends, all become very natural and comfortable very quickly.

IMG_20210508_092958.jpg

As you can imagine, everyone was very excited to see each other again, and the kids and the furries started franticly to follow each other, it was quite chaotic for a while πŸ˜† and we had a hard time containing everyone's energy.

IMG_20210508_093001.jpg


IMG_20210508_100204.jpg

We decided to all go for a walk, so the dogs can enjoy their surroundings (and mark their territory), show them the mountains that we can see better from the road, and enjoy our first day together.
It's really weird how as much as it was stressful to have the kids and the dogs together, and we have to get them used to each other again, be super careful (Charlie gave a warning bite to my daughter's finger during that walk as she wasn't careful and bothering him) by reminding them that they are animals, and not teddy bears, but I instantly felt a sense a completeness and internal calm.

IMG_20210508_100219.jpg

IMG_20210508_134640.jpg

For an entire year, I suppressed all these feelings because they were counter productive, there was no point of thinking of my dogs, and I truly believe in the telepathic bond that you can have with your animals, so I was being extremely mindful of what I was thinking, trying not to make them do something stupid 12000km away from me.

They were apparently behaving ok, of course Jack ran away few times in the South African bush, chasing chickens, sheep, and becoming the local oddity around the rural side of Pretoria 😁, but did not make too many irrational decisions. I am really thankful that my mother in law took so well care of them back home, they looked so healthy. Jacky lost hair on the top of his ears, and had scabs, we're thinking it's those nasty flies in SA that did it. Nonetheless, Thank you mama you did an excellent job taking care of our babies!

IMG_20210509_185142.jpg

Speaking of bond, as you can see on this picture of my son, he found his own friend back, and I don't think I've ever seen him so calm before. As much as he can sometimes be rough on the edges, Charlie (the Labrador/sheep dog) has such a calming energy, such a faithful unconditional love. I am so happy that my son can find a friend, and understand a basic lesson in life: You can do whatever the fuck you set your mind to.

Do you know how many people told us it was a stupid idea to get the dogs? Especially for us, kinda broke after spending all that money moving to France, I know a lot of people (not that it matters now) have been proved wrong. It is sad, to see that so many projects their own fears to you, and don't want to see you succeed, I guess it's just a natural coping mechanism, I've done it too sometimes...

IMG_20210510_080850.jpg

When I look into jack's eyes, especially on that pic, I see the little puppy that was dropped on my laps by my wife for my birthday, 8 years ago.
I can always hear what he is trying to say, right now this is the face he does when he wants something from me, food... Of course, we shared a whole chicken (not our living ones) for dinner!

IMG_20210510_075606.jpg

I also did not realise how dedicated Charlie can be, I also forgot how he responds to the alpha with such an unshaken commitment. We don't even need to put a leash on him right now, because he has such a high level of obedience (the exact opposite of Jacky).

On this picture, I am holding his stick, and he won't move until I throw it again. Our neighbour Robert saw Charlie, and right away noticed his potential as a hunting dog. I hope he can defend our chicken from predators, our other neighbour lost 12 chickens in few days, there are few foxes in the surrounding attacking the hens.
Lucky for us, the coop we built is rock solid, so there are very little risks of attacks at night, but we still have to be vigilant during the day.

IMG_20210510_110825.jpg

IMG_20210510_110842.jpg

IMG_20210510_110903.jpg

IMG_20210510_111245.jpg

Jacky already ran away yesterday night, I had to chase him with a small flashlight, and it was pitch dark. As usual, he appeared 10 minutes later, chewing something gross. He does that a lot, it took only 5 seconds of inattention for him to "escape".
We bought a special collar few days ago, that will be delivered soon, that will help us with eventual runnaway, with a 300m radius and will help us control these types of crisis. It might sound like a drastic decision and was against it for a long time, but I hate to think of what could happen if he goes on the road and get hit by a car, so it has to happen.
I know him, and I know how much he likes to explore, I am not taking any risk 😁, he will thank me later!
I am so surprised also how calm he is when attached to the leash, for now I alternate between time completely free under my supervision, and every time we have to work or be focused on the kids, we tie him for a little while. I think he understands the reason, as he doesn't even try to untie himself like he used to do when he was younger, by biting his leash or pulling like a maniac 😊. Baby steps, especially after what happened yesterday night!

IMG_20210510_174523.jpg

THANK YOU!!!!

Now, I would like to thank all the people that helped us, supported our project, morally and sometimes financially. I cannot thank you enough, it means the world to me, and if you want anything, just name it and I will provide πŸ™ƒ
It was one of the hardest thing I've done in my life, and I know other people are now in the same situation as us, separated from their loved pets, and all I can say, is that, as much as it sounds like a big fat clichΓ©, there is a day when you will be reunited with your loved ones, do not be scared of dreaming, and stay focused on your goal and remember why you're doing it.

I don't want to tag all the people that helped, because I am gonna probably edit this post a few times, but you know who you are, you know what you did for us, and I got your back too now homies!!!

🀜 πŸ€›

Sort: Β 

Glad to see the reunion. The pictures of them running and having fun in the open fields are priceless. I am sure jacky will lern his boundaries soon, just take time.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yep, we gonna have to be patient! You are absolutely right, I've been imagining this moment forever! It was even more amazing than I excpected. I hope that you are doing well ^^ cheers!

I wonder what your chickens think when you and Jacky are eating chickens together and if you're feeding him chicken, is it safe to assume he knows which chickens are off limits?

Time will tell how pivotal of a moment this will be in your kids' lives, you did I real cool thing here, Ed. It sets the bar real high, way to lead by example.

Well they don't see us eating the chickens, but they were pretty scared of Jacky for sure.
Chicken was our staple food in South Africa, well...In most case it's brine based (30% Brine 70% "chicken"), and dirt cheap...we had a family to feed yadi yada...
I don't think he knows our chickens are off limit and I won't take no risk. There are videos about how to introduce dogs to the hens, but we gonna have to be patient with my wolf, those chickens look way too yummy, even for me sometimes I visualize them all cooked and steaming like in a cartoon. 😁

I don't set no bar homie, just doin my thing, but thanks for being supportive all along, you're a good lad!

Wow !! a super trip, it is excellent that you managed to meet again with your beautiful dogs! And that the transfer was a success.

Personally I am a lover of huskies and malamutes, so my attention went there, I understand perfectly when you say that you can read their thoughts, I think that malamutes and huskies are breeds that do not take much to talk. The idea of ​​the collar is great, but a 300m range can fall short of a malamute when it decides to go out on its own! Hahaha! It is incredible to see how pets mature over time!

I would enjoy reading about Jack and Charlie!

HEy there!

Thanks for passing by, yep malamutes tend to be real explorer, and can just run forever!

Take care buddy ^^

Hahaha! Yeah, they are, and they can!! they are incredible animals!

Be great, dude!

I'm absolutely delighted for you all. I know how important this was to you guys. I hope Jacky and Charlie are getting used to the new surroundings and are happy in their new home, which no doubt they are.

Jacky already heading off on adventures, that must have been stressful chasing after him in the pitch black!

Thanks my friend, I can finally relax for a little while, except for the running away part, that is actually super stressful!
Take care!

I can well imagine!

Hello there @edprivat , your dogs are just gorgeous so glad the family is united again. What a trip they had.
Really enjoyed the post with all the pix of the kids and doggies. Best of luck with training Jacky to stay close, I am sure you already have that figured out.
Have a wonderful day, I have to get off this machine, the sun is shinning and the chores are piling up. See ya soon.

Hey @farm-mom , you are very right, I think I will take a break off Hive for a week, just to enjoy life a bit.
I hope the day kept on being sunny, it's rainy here, but it feels good!

Yah, I am so happy for you all, I was thinking that they were due home soon and boom you have them back. Love the photos and it really is a wonderful gift you give your children, having dogs in the family. They learn so much from them. It is only natural that the dogs will show them their boundaries, such an important lesson for kids. Looking forward to seeing more adventures with you all xxxx

Thanks so much ^^ and yes, you are so right! Living with animals will teach them very valuable lessons, and give them friends for life!

FINALLY... you are 'whole' again as a family...!!! 😎 I'm going to re-read the post and look at the photos once again; they're happy ones.

Congratulations @edprivat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Awesome, thanks dude another mile stone!