I just have to be there for him ❤️

in Hive Pets2 years ago

Not an easy one...

IMG_20211019_161312_9.jpg

For those that aren't familiar with my friend Jack, he is a husky malamute cross of nearly 9 years old, that has been with us in South Africa, and joined us in France this year, after a whole year of separation.
We had to go through some hurdles, and finally got reunited, the friends in the community were of course very supportive, so that's also why I owe to you guys some update, even if I don't really want to write about it today.

A month ago , Jacky started to have gastroenteritis-like symptoms, so I took him to the vet, we put him on treatment and he seemed to feel better for a while.

I still found that he kept losing weight, and after monitoring his stools I decided to take him to the vet again, and we did extensive blood tests and scanners.

This was last week, and after dropping Jack for an entire day; the doctor scanned every area of body and seemed to have a mass around the spleen, so we put him on anti-inflammatory and see if the mass around the spleen would reduce with time.

IMG_20211019_163430_4~2.jpg

IMG_20211019_163435_5.jpg

We brought Jacky home, and he felt a little better, his buddy Charlie came to welcome him back, and I can tell ya, he was in for a feast!

IMG_20211019_163823_6~2.jpg

I also got some food for his friend Charlie of course...

IMG_20211019_163820_3~3.jpg

In the next few days, we've seen that the anti-inflammatory worked like a charm, he felt much more comfortable with running, and doesn't seem to be in pain anymore.

We still had to week a whole week of treatment to be sure about the tumour, so in the meantime, I tried to limit his physical activity to the bare minimum, the doc explained to me that the reason why he lost so much weight, is that a potential tumour burns a lot of calories, so burning more calories on the top of it is ill advised.

As you can see, Jack was just happy to run again 😀

20211024_182121.jpg

20211024_182139.jpg

Today, I took him again to the vet, left him the entire day for another round of tests, and the doc was affirmative, the mass hasn't resorbed enough, the contour around the spleen led him to believe that it's a tumour.

IMG_20211026_160552_9~2.jpg

Now, there are two possibilities. Either the tumour is benign, and will not progress, and the other possibility seems obvious, for now we won't focus on "what's not yet", but will just proceed day by day.

The surgery is on Friday, we tried to book it as quickly as possible, and only during the surgery they will be able to fully confirm what is going on, by checking each organs, and making sure that there isn't more tumour surrounding the one spotted, removing the spleen, and sending a sample for analysis.

Now, the surgery isn't without risks, and there's a possibility that while removing the spleen, blood clots forms and spill onto other organs, which could then create complications, from what he was explaining.

❤️

A way to prevent these clots is to give aspirin to my dog before the surgery to fluidify the blood, but it's also increasing the amount of bleeding during the procedure, which could actually increase the risks. Tough choice, we decided to attempt the removal, without the use of aspirin.

IMG_20211026_163459_9~2.jpg

I took more pictures on the way back, but we both looked pretty sad, so I don't think I want to show them.

When we arrived home, the kids and my lovely half were waiting, and gave Jack a warm welcome, his friend Charlie did too. Tonight I am going to sleep next to him, and make sure we can focus on the positive, it's important to just think of the reality in which he lives, even it's a bit hard currently.

Of course he is a bit bummed out right now, he also lost tons of weight, so I really need to make sure he keep a good spirit, and for this, being strong.

Sort:  

Sorry man. This is the hard part of having animal friends

It is, it's almost like having human friends 😅

I am sorry to heat this news. You did very well to take him to the vet, so now measurements can be taken. I suppose until Friday you and the family will be worried, and after the surgery too, but I hope the tumor is benign and no other complications will come. The aspiring thing,.. I don't remember that my family's dogs and cats got it when they had surgeries (but different reasons too for the surgery) I am sure you will find the answer you make a good decision! Keep us informed 🙏

Thanks so so so so much @mipiano you're a good soul, we'll keep you informed toO.

Awe so sorry @edprivat, I really hope that the operation is successful and that nothing bad is found!
At least you've managed to get Jack treated soon, plus he's getting spoiled with a meal fit for a king🙏🏻
You're all in my prayers & thoughts Ed!

Thanks @lizelle, it means a lot, have a good evening :)

Best of luck Jack, and your family who would like to have you around a whole lot longer...

Thanks @angryman, truly appreciated, and well said!

Sorry to hear about your precious dog! Pray that he gets well soon!

I just lost my precious pet baby two weeks ago. He was nearly fifteen. Died of oral cancer.

Thanks so much @wittywheat ❤️

I just lost my precious pet baby two weeks ago. He was nearly fifteen. Died of oral cancer.

I am truly sorry for your loss, I don't think anything that I would say could ease the pain. 15 years is a good life 🤗

Sorry to hear this news, but it sounds like you are doing everything possible to make your beloved Jack's situation better.

One's pets become such a big part of the owner's life that most will do whatever is necessary to get healthy once again.

Thank you @thebigsweed I appreciate your words, they do become a part of the family, this one is my bestie so it's particularly tough! Cheers my friend :)

Oh I am so sorry to read this, I am sending lots of healing to Jack and so much love to you and your family. I know what it is like when you have a canine companion who is unwell and tough decisions need to be made. Just keep picturing him healthy and well, I'll be doing the same xxxx

Thanks so much my friend!

Just keep picturing him healthy and well, I'll be doing the same xxxx

I truly truly appreciate, I know that it's the most important part of healing. Cheers!

I'm praying for Jack. praying hard.

Don't you think its interesting that Charlie was sniffing his belly? almost as if he could sense something wasn't right there. Animals amaze me that way!!!

And I'm so glad that you gave him that big bowl of yummy food hehehehe it looked almost good enough for a human to eat.

almost. LOL

I loved his bright happy face in that pic - he's like FOR ME????? hahahahaha

awwww this is making me think of our dog :) He was a good boy! hehehe Animals really are a treasure!!!!

Please do update after the surgery? even if its just a comment on this post to me - I'd really like to hear that he's all better!

Don't you think its interesting that Charlie was sniffing his belly?

Hahah so there's few reasons for this, first Jack got shaved on his side for the scanner, also they might be a little bit gay for each others, and tend to lick each others parts, I think it's the promiscuity and the absence of ladies that have created some sort of Spartan bond between those 2 😁

almost. LOL

Hahah please don't do it!

Please do update after the surgery? even if its just a comment on this post to me - I'd really like to hear that he's all better!

Thanks, will do, and thank you for your prayers I can hear them already 😂

awwww this is making me think of our dog

We all have one dog soul mate for life, don't we?

is it only one dog soul mate???? hahahaha

well - for me its Parker then... for sure :) Parker, the Wonder Dog hehehe

but I think i'll have LOTS of cats there hahahahahaha

Shout out to Parker then 😁

but I think i'll have LOTS of cats there hahahahahaha

There is already a cat lady on hive I think, but I think it becomes a common thing after a certain age...

You wanted to know, the surgery went well! @dreemsteem! Thanks for your prayers!

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oh i'm so glad!!!! so is it benign???

Dunno yet, I have to wait 2 weeks for the labs results! will let ya know of course!

You know where I'm at if you need anything man, Give Jack a cuddle from us and keep positive. My last dog Jenny had her whole pelvis crushed in a car accident, a year after she had more problems, and they managed to remove her spleen Which was developing growths. With no Aspirin or problems. We made the same choice.

It was also the Same Vets office. They do their best and look after them well.

Cross every bridge one step at a time and before you know it he'll be running around like a lunatic again.

Thanks my man, what you're saying is reassuring. I know they're good, but to hear it from someone else is good news. Sorry to hear about Jenny, I would have liked her.

I am going to stay positive for him! Cheers dude!

👊 You woulda loved Jenny Dog man, she was insane. Still good innings, lived to be nearly 17 so had a good run, especially with all her health problems. I attribute alot of it to the Vets down there.

That's a long damn time!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rubido.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks my friend @rubido I appreciate!

Oh geeze man. I'm sorry to hear that. That sounds like a really tough situation, especially the choice regarding the aspirin. That's a hard one. It's always difficult when a beloved pet gets sick, or injured.

He looks like such a happy dog in the photos.

Take care

Thanks man. Yeah he is also my best friend, we went through hell to get him from SA, so now we gotta make sure he can go through this.

Thanks for your kind words, not the fun type of post, but I needed to let off the steam.

Cheers

Oh man, I am so sorry. Your post brought back memories of my own dog and the things we needed to do. Anyways, as Lizelle said, you are in our prayers and thoughts. Best of luck my friend.

Thanks man, yeah I am not used to all this, sorry to hear you went through the same hordeal.

I appreciate the prayers, take care...

It is never easy. Thanks, my friend. I really hope that you will just get good news from now on.

Me too bru