Finding the Right Home

in Hive Pets2 years ago


In a new loving home

Emigrating! It is such a difficult thing to work your mind around what to do with your pets, which are, in reality, your children?

Well, I suppose that not all pet owners look at their pets as ‘children’, but simply as dogs, cats, and whatever. I am one who has always seen my animals as precious members of our family and I could simply never abandon them. That said, perhaps I shout from a safe perch.

The Animal Rescue Centre has a bad time with all the pets that have been brought in for re-homing or simply abandoned and left to fend for themselves.

I was recently given a wonderful Beagle\Basset cross breed to look after. I was so happy to see how clever she was in learning our ways, (our, being our dogs).


Beagle/Basset cross breed

She learned to fit in with perfection except for one small glitch. Our eldest of three dogs, two female and one male, saw herself as the Alpha and couldn’t quite grasp how a pint-size, short-legged, long-eared offending interloper could outbark her by far. When that amazing hunting dog howl came out of that little pint-size dog’s mouth our three were most put out. They promptly tried three times to remove her from this earth. I had to take her to the vet for stitching and from the vet and several others I was warned that next time would be ‘it’. So, now it was my turn to rehouse that precious little doggy.

With my canine family

I put an advert in our local Whatsapp group and amazingly I had several to choose from and she is now in the most beautiful of homes. She has other little dogs as friends where she is the biggest and gets to sleep on the bed. I suppose, so much like our human world, one could say that it’s all about breeding.

Sort:  

Congratulations @eflin-essie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!