More doggo love in the snow!

in Hive Pets3 years ago (edited)

There are two things which made this winter lockdown the most doable, and my dog and snow from last week were exactly those two. Why not unite the two things and make a cool photoshoot out of it? Okay maybe it was the boredom, but maybe also because the dog is just so enthusiastic about chasing snow.

More difficult than I initially thought, but who cares...after 1000 shots there is always something cool to find!

Screenshot_20210218170723_Photo Editor.jpg

So the funny thng about the dog is that he is a crossbreed between a Bernese Mountaindog and a Appenzeller Mountaindog. Appenzellers tend to be more farm dogs and used to guard propery a lot. I can notice this by the extreme amount of barking this dog does at every mailman who is the victim to walk by. Sorry dudes ;)

Bernese mountaindogs are more known because of how they function in families. They are very social animals towards people they know, but to strangers they can be a bit hesitant. Not a problem I find. A dog doesn't have to go jumping on everybody.

But you can really see these characteristics back in how the dog acts. And ofcourse...these animals originally come from Switzerland, so I guess he must love snow. This stuff confirms that ;)

Screenshot_20210218170514_Photo Editor.jpg


The one thing the dog loves to do is chase snowballs all day. A super easy feature is you want to make the dog tired very fast, but there are also some cons on it. The dog doesnt really understand that the temperature of snowballs isn't the same as his tummy should be, and that can give some issues.

I heard from a lot of people that they ended up at the vet because the dog ate so much snow and his stomach was giving issues because of this. Luckily we were spared from this and we just got to enjoy.

Screenshot_20210218170919_Photo Editor.jpg


Also the tremendous amount of snow he digested over the days with these balls should not be underestimated on how much extra rounds of peeing this delivers. Multiple times a day he had to go outside for additional pees which he normally doesn't. Not to forget there I would say!

But apart from the physical stuff I really thought the dog just loved to play int he snow, and more than once he just sneaked out to chill in the snow. The chasing of the balls was also really good for his agility training as I find these dogs don't always understand how big and heavy they are in a room. Agility training helps them to understand their body a lot better.

Screenshot_20210218170703_Photo Editor.jpg

I know, I know...Sometimes the dog seems more like a study object, but I can assure you he is not. He is the best friend in the house and we really enjoyed going outside with him and just fooling around.

That these pictures show up afterwards from all this fun is just bonus. I hope you enjoy them as much as that I did.

Sort:  

These are great pics of your adorable dog having a blast in the snow! 😁 I hear you on them having to out to pee more. My kids didn't understand why our lab was having to pee more until I pointed out that he'd been gobbling up snowballs they were throwing for him. 😄

Definately the fault of the snowballs for sure! Lets get some pictures of that lab online!

Doggo is having the time of its life. I'd eat snow too, if I saw it. 😄😄

you would dive in there naked dude!!

(nehhh you wouldnt most likely, I did so once years back and that is SO ridiculously cold)

Haha. I wouldn't. Not used to that kind of cold. The lowest temperature I've experienced is 12°Celcius.

And we are already happy seeing those temperatures back and considering that Spring:)

he is such a cute dog. must be nice to play with him. Anyway, that is a thick snow. is it the end of winter already?

So weird indeed. Last week there was snow and this week we are walking around in Tshirts...I guess winter is done?

lol I might still be freezing by seeing the last snow.

HHahah damn it was so cold dude!

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 41000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting