The Working Class Of Pets

in Hive Pets3 years ago

DSCN9796.jpeg

Ahoy fellow pet lovers and photographers. I bring to you a different type of pet today. The old school kind, if you will. A team of Inuit Sled Dogs from still frosty Igloolik, Nunavut. I am pretty sure that it is my neighbour on this first sled, with his friend on the sled behind. I am basing this solely on the color of his toque (beanie) and the whip he's holding which we saw him practicing with. Looked like he was stretching it out a bit. Kind of amazing that the whips can even work when it's still -12 Celcius here.

DSCN9823.jpeg

If this is my neighbour and my assumptions about our prior conversation are correct, then he is off on a 160 km warm up run slash fishing trip. He is training his dogs to run in the upcoming Nunavut Quest competition, a daunting 500-kilometre journey by Dog Sled from Arctic Bay to Igloolik, Nunavut. I am looking forward to when the dog teams start arriving so I can photograph the end to their long journey.

DSCN9797.jpeg

Last year the Nunavut Quest was canceled due to COVID-19 restrictions. This is mildly amusing considering that contestants can end up over 10 hours apart each day. But the restrictions are more about the close proximity contestants and audience alike will be sharing at the beginning and end of the race. Ahh well, this year, it's back on!

DSCN9827.jpeg

If you wish to learn a bit more about Nunavut Quest check out this link from the Qikiqtani Inuit Association

DSCN9838.jpeg

hive_divider.png

Find my artwork for sale exclusively on NFTShowroom.com
Find my photographs of Nunavut scenery and Wildlife on Lensy.io
Follow me on twitter here: Hive Related Account / Photography and Art Account
I am also on Instagram: But only Photography and Art
More art on DeviantArt at: Ice-O-Lated
Hive Divider provided by @thepeakstudio

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png

Sort:  

wow it's amazing, how the dogs can run so much with other weight to transport! You're very lucky to see that ;)