Welcoming A Couple New Members to The Splatts Family

in Hive Petslast year

They Finally Broken Me Down..

Back in November it was time to say good-bye to our Sweet Sadie girl. She was 13 and her health was on a severe decline. She was getting more miserable by the day and I could see it in her face every time she fell down in the yard. She had a condition where the nerves in her hips and lower back were deteriorating. With the help of some meds she lasted another couple years from the time she first started having issues. Then the day came and we had to make one of the toughest decisions of my life. It was the right one but honestly it is one of the toughest things I have ever had to do.

Sadie Will Always Have a Special Place In Our Hearts
51840E00-64C6-4DFF-B1D4-4ECE0DA94C6E.jpeg

Mama-Splatts and the kids had been asking about another dog for a long time. I just didn’t think Sadie would like having a little puppy running around annoying her all day. Also the puppy would be getting all the attention and Sweet Sadie needed our attention.

It’s been for months since Sadie went to Doggy Heaven and my wife and kids finally broke me down.

WE GOT PUPPIES!!


1CC4ACB1-8E6C-4E66-9C40-A0E751867390.jpeg
Elmer
BED38BC2-E5DE-4285-ABC4-AC24B29879EB.jpeg
William
The name they gave him at the shelter.
I think Tony Fits him better

These little psychos are a mix of Chihuahua, Australian Shepherd, and Border Collie. Yes they are litter mates but look totally different. Elmer is short and stalky with a long body. He he those Chihuahua eyes but he has legs like a Corgy. William is tall with really long legs. Elmer and dang near run right underneath him. I’ve see. His do it a few times.

C1DA60B9-3A07-4FD6-AEE2-79015F543735.jpeg

William is an absolute nutcase!! He is always the one instigating wrestling matches. Out of nowhere he will come flying in at 1,000 mph and take down little Elmer. Then the Puppy brawl begins and they are running all over the place attacking each other. I just sit back, watch, and laugh my ass off!!

23C0E125-7901-4D19-8828-1A60F5E5DBE2.gif

William has no problem leaping onto the couch. Little Elmer can get it once in a while but most of the time he bounces off and lands on his back. Poor little dude’s legs just ain’t long enough.

Spazzing out and going berserk for an hour or so then it’s nap time.

B3371342-33D3-40F3-B2DA-983314EE94E4.jpeg
Ready
And
Fight!!
630413DF-999F-4817-BCE1-3755EE042AB1.gif
Nap Time
4217CFA4-BE66-4E39-A15B-7265B4D1D8FD.jpeg
Attack Mommy
8A01BC2F-D569-44EE-A7F6-B7FFA54E9A3E.gif
Nap Time
0E6EAEF2-06A3-4AB3-9DF8-331A7C91147C.jpeg
Bite Daddy’s Ears
3534AF8A-EE1F-4444-B87B-45BC65F3ACE6.jpeg
Nap Time
99801FDA-7ACD-47D7-B688-87DE9A67C9DB.jpeg

I’m not used to owning smaller dogs. I grew up with labradors and I haven’t owned any other type of dog. They have always been big 100 pound dogs. These 2 little dudes are gonna be a handful that’s for sure. They are doing great when it comes to potty training. We have had them for 3 days and have only had one accident. Frequent trips outside have been key. When they take a little dump or pee we cheer them on. Speaking of dumps… these little things are hard to find in the yard. I’m used to 2 pound turds from 100 pound dogs. Not these cat turd looking things. LOL

Today we are gonna introduce them to the Runner Ducks. This should be fun!! Curious, hyper puppies… let’s hope William doesn’t engage into his Zoomiez and go puppy attack mode on one of them.

378E2E28-9D50-42F3-8B6A-D171CACAB4C6.jpeg

I gotta get back to taming these wild beasts. Pray for my sanity and if sleeping puppies don’t put a smile on your face… you got issues

F93CCBB3-A827-4B04-AA8A-43702ECCB6B7.jpeg

0FB88263-25F1-490E-B1D0-184B77446E96.jpeg

6391404F-32F4-4BE8-BA9B-4F3725A2E4F1.jpeg

450C41CC-A807-44F7-8766-244179E56169.jpeg

DA4961E5-8B84-4E30-A006-8ED7C02A20AD.jpeg

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Join us in the Mancave!

93CFC9FF-4DAD-48B2-AEBC-C368B868548F.png

B3BEB29A3854409FBA0F3C7B534887A0.png

Sort:  

I know the feels bud! I have a little dogger and the time os drawing closer for him as well.. He still has a few years ahead of him but he is already 11. He is still active jumping up and down but it's obvious that he wont be with us anymore in 5 to 10 years... And thinking about it breaks my heart.. Especially so because he is my first little dogger I ever got... So yeah

But life is life eyy

For sure!! It was a hell of a lot tougher than my Male Lab that past away suddenly.

These 2 little turds are bonkers!!

FCD0AB19-8124-4C71-9033-5ED04BEAFD4C.gif

They seem to have ALOT of energy! But atleast you're letting them play it out which is really vital for puppies 😎

We had a beautiful day and had the back slider open. They spent a lot of time running around wrestling in the back yard while I transplanted a blueberry bush, apple tree, and apricot tree. They are nuts!! Lol

best feeling to have puppies inside the house. yours looks very active and playful😂

They definitely bring a lot of smiles and laughter. They go all crazy for an hour or two… then an hour nap. Lol

and I suppose that cycle repeats again and again hahah

OMG the dog in the second photo might be the cutest dog in the world. 😃😁😁

Those too brothers are so funny!! Tony is crazy and Elmer, like you said is just too dang cute. Lol

Crazy brothers 😍
I hope one day I can hug these crazy brothers.

Posted via D.Buzz

I just showed my litte girl these pictures and now she wants one. Haha. Looks like fun.

!PIZZA
!CTP

Stand your ground!! Don’t cave under the pressure!! 🤣😂🤣

They made me laugh and sigh, they are a beauty, I'm glad your life is full of canine love again.

The mourning is strong but in the end you can heal by remembering with love.

Nice post, very funny the photo where he bites your ears.

It was so sad watching Sadie’s health slowly decline…

These little puppies are bringing a lot of laughs and smiles in the house.

They are so cute @splatts I missed having a dog on our house and I'm thinking if you should again.

It’s definitely a decision that needs some thought. Puppies need a lot of your time, love and training. We are having all kinds of fun so far. Lol

He totally looks like a Willam. Very cool Splatts, best days ever.

Looks like a William but acts like a Tony. LOL!! I’m glad we got them both and not just one. They are constantly wrestling with each other and chasing each other around. Too frikkin funny

Good call. We just have the one for now, for about another year. My hands look like we have a puppy.

Them dang puppy teeth!! I think I have a few ear piercings now. For some reason these 2 attack your ears. Their little tongues go dang near inside, then they bite you. LOL

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dkid14(2/20) tipped @splatts (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

William already has a nice 5 o'clock shadow.
Are you sure he's a puppy?
:)

I am so sorry that you had to say goodbye to Sadie but I think that she in some way sent Elmer and William to you to help heal your broken hearts. They are gorgeous puppies!

First of all, I much regret for your loss of your dear Sadie.

In the meantime, you had good decision on welcoming these two puppies to your house. They are so cute and can make all of the members of your family happy once again. ;)

❤❤❤

Although Sadie is in Doggie Heaven, memories of her will last a lifetime. Growing up, we had a dog named Duke. He was a black Lab. He lived for 16 years and died a year after I was married and moved out of the house. To this day I think of this wonderful and loyal companion almost on a daily basis.

My Mom had her leg pinned between two lift gates on delivery trucks. Crushed her femur and she was in a cast for 6 months. Duke literally never left her side. He would follow her to the bathroom, and sleep by her side.

It looks like Elmer and William have a lot of energy, but that comes with being a puppy. Part Australian Shepherd, and Border Collie, that's a good mix for running.
Great pics and video clips, you're a pro.

It sounds like the wife and kids were putting a little pressure on the old man. Good for you, what're a few more mouths to feed? 😁 The only suggestion I have is that you get yourself a set of metal earmuffs. The tongue-down-the-ear thing, 😜 but the biting doesn't work at all.

Good post my friend, thanks for letting us in on the arrival of some new family members.

I don't know if you know @ericvancewalton, a gentleman who recently lost a beloved family member, Amstel, his dog of many years.
I know you're a busy dude, but if you get a free moment, I think you would enjoy this post of his.
https://peakd.com/story/@ericvancewalton/a-new-tattoo

Good luck with it all!

You'll need to get a new pooper scooper for these new-size terds.

Sorry that I just stumbled upon this blog. May sweet Sadie rest in peace! You'll have lots of fun with new pups. I lost my 15 years old pet two years ago and since then I've been feeding strays. Too sad to have to deal with another loss.