Adoption Rocks! #chihuahuaheaven

in Hive Pets3 years ago

9F8B61F9-C3CD-43FD-BCC7-E75E05E67B35.jpeg

Well 2020 and lockdown really rocked our world and changed all our plans of immigrating from South Africa to New Zealand. NZ boarders are still closed to non- residents and the chance of getting a visa anytime soon is a pipe dream.

But out of the gloom came a need to have other little lives in our home to dote on and love. After a 2 month search for any small breed dogs, a local small breed adoption network spotted not 1 but 2 chihuahuas up for adoption!!!!

I was only looking for 1 small dog but when I told my husband that if we wanted 1 we would have to take BOTH! He said, ‘So take both!’ I couldn’t believe it. 5 days later home came my new babies.

D1047C74-EF8C-49A9-9D4B-FD169B278E26.jpeg

Minki and Max had been surrendered to the Animal Anti Cruelty League in Bellville, Cape Town and had had a rough start to life in a difficult part of Cape Town. Now they live in a cottage near the beach and bask in the sunshine on our deck.

A12C8A24-23CC-4995-9E0A-F8F1F15522C6.jpeg

They have brought a whole new dimension to home life and I couldn’t imagine life without them.

3946C385-210D-4405-B7C1-EABAEBE3A848.jpeg

Have you adopted a pet? I’d love to hear your story ;)

Sort:  

cute dog )
nice walk.

I have had pets before, but I have never adopted from a shelter or rescue.

Those two little ones you have are adorable though.

Oh thank you!

Hi, all my dogs are rescues.
It is so important to give them a loving and caring home. They will reward you with unconditional love and a ton of fun.

My Bulldog Joy (https://peakd.com/hive-196708/@bulldog-joy/introducing-joy-brutus-romeo-to-hive-pets) is the latest one and my Bulldog Molly and my Rottweiler Bucki (https://peakd.com/hive-196708/@bulldog-joy/breaking-news-exclusive-bulldog-talks-about-mom-first-time) sadly went to dog heaven already. Molly was supposed to be a bait dog, can you imagine?

Have fun and enjoy every moment with your bunch of love 🐶 😍.

Adopt don't shop and support your local animal shelter or animal welfare organization!

Oh I love that! I won’t ever pay for an animal again. Some people are just too impatient to look for their fur baby at a shelter.

My first dog was a pedigreed miniature Yorky (he’s gone to heaven)
My second dog was a rescuers Pekingese (she went to heaven a year ago)
She had a puppy with the yorky!!! (Porky mix breed puppy) she was regimes last year as we were loving overseas and she wouldn’t have travelled well.
So now we adopted these two chihuahuas. They will keep us busy for many years to come!

Gosh, you gotta post some pics of them too. They were probably cute as hell lol.

Everyone should consider adopting.

There is this weird thing with people thinking shelter/ rescue dogs are less behaved or less valuable.
I might create a post regarding that issue, trying to clarify common myths.

It is cruel what human kind is doing to animals period.

We created every dog out there, so we all should take responsibility for the neglected ones as they are worth the same and just as social, well behaved and loving as the ones from breeders. And there are so many in desperate need of help.

I have found some animal welfare organizations here already. Like @kbv.animalwelf . I think Hive can be a good way to support a good cause.

I would love to see more of your pups and your life in Cape town with them.

Being in lockdown since a year I am welcoming every moment from abroad as it is like a little vacation for me 😄.

Ok I will make a plan to find some of my old pics of them. The were real cuties and a motley crew when they were all together.

I have so many lists of ideas for posts that I’m trying to only post once a day on different communities to figure this whole blog thing out. But there will definitely more to come real soon! Stay well!

Lol. Same here 😄 . See you!