The Other side of Nam San Tower Brother

image.png

Here the word "Nam" can mean brother and my brother in-law and I decided to go for a hike around Namsan (Seoul Tower). The view is good. Maybe the best part is that you can pee from 800 feet above sea level.

Being up on the mountain puts the city in perspective. It's just a bunch of busy people going nowhere.

My son wants to be a photographer and always gets better angles than I do. He has a special eye.

Seoul tower construction started in 1969 and was finished just two years later. I thought about what kind of force could get Seoul tower built so fast. Today it takes two or three years just to build an escalator on a subway exit or a parking garage.

In 1969 there was a big communist scare in South Korea. The third Republic was formed. The dicktater was one hot potato so whatever he said was law. If he said have a phallical tower on the top of this mountain by Christmas then it was done even if it was hard.

Now years later anyone can enjoy this Seoul icon and view the entire city from above. You can even eat in a revolting restaurant that spins 360 degrees while you eat your meat.

image.png

Anyway the fact of the matter is that spring is here in Korea and we are really enjoying it. Some took a hike in the mountain and loved the fresh air so much that they had to light up a cigarette. The result was a weekend of flames and not the gay kind. They just lit straight up. The whole night was spent with helicopters going back and forth from the Han river to the mountain dumping water in buckets.

Some of that water was dumped on our house on the way. The Han river water really doesn't smell that good. I think we get our water from upriver because the water that was dumped on us was pretty smelly. Anyway after 24 hours the fire was 80% out and by the time the rain poured down it was 100% out. I guess the conclusion of that story is ten thousand buckets from the Han River is not equivalent to an hour of rain from the heavens.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Last week someone had a question about some of the Korean art I posted.

Most art is not political. This is a painting of a flute that blossoms. It is the integration of music and spring. The painting can be found at the art gallery inside Nam San Tower.

For some reason Seoul is becoming all artsy fartsy. Maybe that is a good thing for me and my family. We like this kind of stuff and one day maybe my own kids will get to enjoy the artsy fartsy lifestyle too.

image.png

image.png

Facebook is the only place I could find this delicious comedy.

Everybody else banned it.

Where has all the comedy gone?

Korean comedy was rocking just four years ago.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=556080794929591

Sort:  

Some took a hike in the mountain and loved the fresh air so much that they had to light up a cigarette.

😕

In 1969 there was a big communist scare in South Korea. The third Republic was formed. The dictator was one hot potato so whatever he said was law. If he said to have a physical tower on the top of this mountain by Christmas then it was done even if it was hard.

You crack me up. I LOVE your sense of humour. It's amazing how much things have changed heh?
I haven't been to S. Korea, but there are many things about the country that I find appealing.

The UK has been artsy fartsy for sometime, maybe Korea has caught the fever 😅

Thanks for your comment and I'm glad you caught my little sarcasm 히히 @millycf1976

Korea has changed so much since I arrived. It's pretty surprising. In a lot of ways things are easier here than in the US. And the art that travels through here is amazing.

This morning I began my day with a vanilla masala chai. I'd like to spend more time sharing coffee stories and I will soon... probably some Wednesday. Today I'm taking off early... it's kind of a good Friday.

!LOL

What do cheaters do after they die?
They lie still

Credit: reddit
@millycf1976, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly

(1/4)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

I love your sense of humor, @mineopoly. I laughed out loud several times while reading this!

We would love to see you in The Ink Well again. You have a gift for writing creative nonfiction.

Thank you @jayna,

I'm really happy to give laughs.

I miss you guys too. I'm getting back into the rhythm and will check out this week's challenge.

!LUV

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.