Play2Earn Gaming on Hive Comparison

in Aureal2 years ago

▶️ Listen on Aureal


--Welcome to Social Media and the Blockchain. I am your host, Jennifer Navarrete and this episode is the nineteenth in a 30 part series. The goal of this show is to demystify the blockchain as a content creation destination, simplify the onboarding process, and encourage you to learn more about Web 3.0.

Quick reminder that this show is for educational purposed only and should not be considered financial or investment advice. Please do your own due diligence and research.

In this episode we are going to talk about Play2Earn Gaming on Hive. Did you know you can play games on the blockchain and earn rewards and in some cases NFTs?! Seems crazy, right? I thought so too until I began playing one of these games a few months ago.

So what do I mean by playing a game? What kind of game am I talking about? Well games on Hive are mostly card based.

Like games in the non-blockchain world, each game has it’s own rules, missions, and gameplay goals. At the time of this recording there are around 15 play2earn games on Hive. A link to where you can find the list of games is in the show notes: https://hiveprojects.io/categories/games

But Hive isn’t the only blockchain which has play2earn games. Not by a long shot. We’ll talk more about other blockchains outside of Hive before we wrap up this 30-part series.

Now let’s take a look at three of the play2earn games available on Hive and what traditional games they compare to.

We start with the most popular games on Hive which also has the most players and value and that is Splinterlands. If we’re looking at comparing Splinterlands to a game you would find outside of the blockchain I would have to say Splinterlands is sort of like a simplified version of Magic the Gathering BUT with the ability to earn from game play, daily quests, end of season rewards, renting or trading cards on the open market. Oh and by the way cards on Splinterlands are NFTs which have a value in and of themselves anywhere from a few cents up to several thousand dollars.

Splinterlands also has a game token called SplinterShards token which are earned through holding game assets. There is also Dark Energy Crystals which is earned through game play wins at certain levels. These both have in-game value and can also be sold on the secondary token market.

(Should you decided to begin your own Play2Earn journey, consider using this Referral Link to join Splinterlands: https://splinterlands.com?ref=epodcaster)

Another game dCrops is sort of like a card-based version of FarmVille. You plant your crops, harvest them, sell them for the Crop Coin which is an in-game token which can be used to buy in-game assets like seeds and plots of land or sold on the token market. Seasons last 15 days so planting quickly is key to success since some crops like watermelons can take up to 12 days to harvest.

If you’ve ever played Sim City then dCity has a similar vibe. Like all Play2Earn games on Hive, dCity is card based and in that way it is quite different from the highly interactive Sim City. dCrops is a city management simulator where your city creates SIM tokens which can be converted to Hive. And you’ll recall that Hive is the crypto currency for the Hive Blockchain. In dCity, players elect a mayor from fellow players. The mayor makes policy decisions on taxes, rules, and regulations that all players must abide by in their city during the duration of the mayor’s term. Let’s say you don’t particularly care for a mayor’s policies. Not to worry mayoral elections happen every 15 days.

This is only a brief description of Splinterlands, dCrops, and dCity. There are other Play2Earn games based around the music industry, beer brewing, and more. These play2earn games turn the whole idea of gaming being a waste of time with no real world value upside down.

Thank you for joining me for another episode of Social Media and the Blockchain. In the next episode, we’ll wrap up the side-by-side comparisons with a recap of what was covered in the last few episodes.

epodcaster


▶️ Aureal

Sort:  

I play Splinterlands and have done thousands of battles. That has allowed me to build up lots of cards. For now I am renting some out rather than playing. With the SPS airdrop I have a nice income, but that is payback for the time I put in. I played around with dCity, but it did not really grab me and did not even start with dCrops. It is good to have options though. I do play @risingstargame though. That has a good community and I like the music industry theme. It is supporting musicians too. I have bought some songs on there and even a vinyl disk that is actually an NFT.

!BEER

I play Splinterlands and while I do enjoy the game play, I'm actually not that good at it. At all. I still have fun though. I'm still earning, too. Airdrops, Daily Quests, and End of Season Rewards make the game even more fun and rewarding.

I've never played any of the other games either on Hive. I did buy into Exode before they closed their in-game pack sales. So, that makes me an Exode Captain. I have yet to play, but I plan to dig into game play over the Christmas break. I'm intrigued by the story and am looking forward to learning what it takes to succeed.

!LUV

There are a few more games on Hive. I have looked at some, but had to decide if they were worth my time. I expect many people are just after whatever rewards they can get. That puts pressure on the developers that I would not want on myself.


Hey @epodcaster, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.