Indomitus: Prime and Wash

in Warhammer4 years ago (edited)

I have begun painting my Necron half of one Indomitus box along with the warriors and scarabs from another.

I used Army Painter Chainmail Color Primer as a base coat, but I decided to experiment after that. I did not try to get every speck of the surface covered at this stage. I just sprayed what was visible and left it at that.

20200731_190532.jpg
Skorpekh Combat Patrol (25 power)

20200731_190538.jpg
Overlord's Entourage (23 power)

Yes, those that the same images and captions from yesterday's post for those who feel a sense of deja vu.

My wash recipe is intended to cover what the spray missed, darken the recesses, and help reveal any cleanup I missed on assembly. It consists of one part metallic medium, one part black paint, and two parts black ink (all from Vallejo's Game Color line) with enough water to get a good wash consistency. Some work was required to get good coverage, and I mainly used a giant flat brush for this job.

It took me a couple hours thanks to interruptions. Hopefully the photo below shows the result well enough. It's less silvery and more graphite than the primer color now.

20200802_174546.jpg
Washed and ready for the next step

Next, I need to add a non-metallic coat to the areas I want to look armored. Many people just stick with the silvery Terminator-style look, but some paint parts of the model in different metallic colors like gold or bronze, while others use a solid color to represent an alien ceramics equivalent or a dynastic heraldry.

I wasn't sure what to think of the new warriors, but the battered appearance works for what I plan to paint next. If all goes to plan, the next post in this series will reveal my true colors! Or my army's colors, at least.

Hive Signature Bar.png

PeakD Signature Bar.png

Sort:  

They take a bit of work just to get started 😳

And that’s probably where we went wrong all those years ago. Oldest bought himself a Warhammer figure from a Games Workshop and just jumped straight into painting. Turned out alright if somewhat messy because he hadn’t done anything that small before 🤣

Getting a good paint job requires prep, primer, and many thin layers.

Since I wrote that post, I also added a thin layer of PVA glue to the bases so I can add crackle paste later for a dry desert look.